Simon's human
Member Since 2021
Simon, 18, is a Balinese neutered male who we rescued at the age of about 3. He had a routine blood test May 1 that showed a glucose level of 279. Vet ordered Fructosamine test which was 436. A BG test Jan. 8 was normal, 128. Vet thinks this is caused by years-long low dose use of Prednisolone for IBD which had been increased slightly in January. Cut back to every 4 days and I researched carb levels in food and switched him from his dry and wet food to very low carb wet (Kiwi Kitchens beef and chicken are -1 and -1.1. Others range from 1.4 - 6.8). Vet had given dry Blue Buffalo W+U, but it is over 25 carbs so have given Simon only an occasional very small handful. Disappointed that on 6/3 BG was 449, fructosamine 609. Simon was thin before this and has lost some weight and is wobbly. Will start insulin. Learned vet ordered Vetsulin and we will talk with him Wednesday 6/9. I mentioned TR to him Friday and he didn't seem to advocate that tho he knows tests at the vet's can drive up numbers. Said we would test again in 2 weeks. After reading posts here, I was hoping for Lantus insulin and TR. I'm very scared and confused about all of this. We're also dealing with a nearly 17-year-old dog who has side effects from her stroke last year, has had 3 seizures, weakening back legs because of age and now is developing dementia. Simon appeared to be doing fine before the May blood test - he had had 1 day of being lethargic a week before, with a lower than normal temp and had vomited once, but we had not noticed more frequent drinking or urinating. That really increased after the May blood test. I'll try to make a list of everything we should talk to the vet about Wednesday but wanted to check in here first for advice - and reassurance. Thanks!
Nancy
Nancy
The 
so am happy to help with any calculations. Weruva, Wellness, and perhaps a few others post As Fed / Dry Matter Basis information online; most pet food companies do not 

