18 MAR: Teasel (AT): AM 279 | +8 63 | +9 121 | +10 67 | +11 68 | PM 81

Status
Not open for further replies.
Morning Kris! YAY for Yellow; much better than stinky pink! Wondering if you feed Teasel anything around +9? ECID but some people find giving a small snack around +9 helps lower the PS numbers.
 
Morning Kris! YAY for Yellow; much better than stinky pink! Wondering if you feed Teasel anything around +9? ECID but some people find giving a small snack around +9 helps lower the PS numbers.
No, I don't. For one thing I have three kitties who eat different food (Teasel, weight loss goals for his brother and hypoallergenic food for his sister) on a schedule in separate rooms - no pet feeders, etc. Wouldn't be practical. They all get breakfast, lunch, dinner and Teasel gets a +3 bedtime snack.
 
It is always such a nice feeling to wake up to a color that isn't pink! Nice sunny start Teasel. Work the juice today!
 
Well, he didn't give me any green yesterday so he thought I'd like a lime green this afternoon!! I left early this AM and only got home shortly before +8. No time for a +2 this AM and I thought that the AMPS of 15.5 and the fat 2.5 u would keep him in safer numbers. No chance! I fed him some HC and will test again in a bit.
 
Last edited:
Good catch Kris. He still looks so much better on Lantus. Going to be a nag here but a before bed test every night is important. It fills in the blanks.
 
Good catch Kris. He still looks so much better on Lantus. Going to be a nag here but a before bed test every night is important. It fills in the blanks.
You're not a nag, Karen I appreciate the feedback. My before bed would be a +3 and I've generally done a +2 to see if an active cycle is coming. I can certainly shift it to +3 just before he gets his bedtime snack.

I agree that he's doing a lot better. I'm debating whether I should stick with a fat 2.5 u tonight (numbers permitting) or drop back to a regular 2.5 u per the TR protocol. He's very sensitive to dose changes and can nose dive very easily - as you can see.
 
It depends on what you're goals are and he's now considered a long term diabetic. That means the protocol changes a bit. Long term diabetics should be held at the same dose for either 3 times under 68 (on AT) or once under ?? on AT (would be under 40 on a human meter) . (please consider a human meter, it's the way the published protocol was written) Some even adopt this technique for those who don't hold reductions well. For me, I'd probably bring him back to a straight 2.5 because of the few missing night time/ before bedtime tests and the drop to 63 on AT is too low for my personal comfort. Keep in mind, I'm conservative and you hold the syringe.
 
It depends on what you're goals are and he's now considered a long term diabetic. That means the protocol changes a bit. Long term diabetics should be held at the same dose for either 3 times under 68 (on AT) or once under ?? on AT (would be under 40 on a human meter) . (please consider a human meter, it's the way the published protocol was written) Some even adopt this technique for those who don't hold reductions well. For me, I'd probably bring him back to a straight 2.5 because of the few missing night time/ before bedtime tests and the drop to 63 on AT is too low for my personal comfort. Keep in mind, I'm conservative and you hold the syringe.
Thanks, Karen. My gut was telling me to go back to a regular 2.5 u. I don't like the huge drops to lime green. My first goal in going back to Lantus was to improve his numbers. That has happened. My next goal is to see if I can get him closer to some form of regulation. He's both bouncy and unpredictable so that's a big challenge but I'm up for it. My personal opinion is that I need to keep a little extra margin of safety in his numbers because of his surprise dives. It's not ideal but it's safer - and his safety is my top priority.
 
ECID but some people find giving a small snack around +9 helps lower the PS numbers.
That "trick" usually only works when kitties are getting to itty bitty doses and their pancreas's are starting to sputter to life. Otherwise, feeding the end of the cycle can have the opposite reaction and slow down the duration of the insulin and a rush to higher numbers for preshot. Similarly, higher carbs in the back half of the cycle when they play tricks like Teasel did today :eek::D can cut the duration. You might want to play around with what you feed at the back half of the cycle for low numbers. Sometimes a higher LC (8-9%) or MC can do the trick just as well. Ideally you'd like to bump him up about 20-30 points, so he still spends time in green and getting used to it. And thus training him that green is OK and no bouncing! K' Teasel?
 
Kris, so happy for your yellow PS this AM. I'm happy for you that Teasel is doing so well on the lantus. You are doing such an amazing job and are such a wonderful mamabean! I know this ride is rough and you really are doing such a great job. I always watch for your posts and appreciate also learning from your experience. :) I have a couple questions for those who commented on your condo today. Hope you don't mind me asking on your condo...
he's now considered a long term diabetic.
Karen, when is a kitty considered a long term diabetic?
Otherwise, feeding the end of the cycle can have the opposite reaction and slow down the duration of the insulin and a rush to higher numbers for preshot.
Wendy, I feed Ozzy a small snack around +9 - +10 before his AM and PM shots because he was having upset/acidic/food anticipation vomits every day until someone suggested this trick and it has nipped that in the bud. Should we maybe consider stopping this late in the cycle snack?
 
That "trick" usually only works when kitties are getting to itty bitty doses and their pancreas's are starting to sputter to life. Otherwise, feeding the end of the cycle can have the opposite reaction and slow down the duration of the insulin and a rush to higher numbers for preshot. Similarly, higher carbs in the back half of the cycle when they play tricks like Teasel did today :eek::D can cut the duration. You might want to play around with what you feed at the back half of the cycle for low numbers. Sometimes a higher LC (8-9%) or MC can do the trick just as well. Ideally you'd like to bump him up about 20-30 points, so he still spends time in green and getting used to it. And thus training him that green is OK and no bouncing! K' Teasel?
Thanks, Wendy. I realized after the fact that I should have gone with lower carb food but I admit to an emotional reaction (YIKES!!!) when I see lime green. He normally doesn't get any food after his lunch which is around +5 or +5.5 unless I happen to be out a bit longer mid day.
 
Kris, so happy for your yellow PS this AM. I'm happy for you that Teasel is doing so well on the lantus. You are doing such an amazing job and are such a wonderful mamabean! I know this ride is rough and you really are doing such a great job. I always watch for your posts and appreciate also learning from your experience. :) I have a couple questions for those who commented on your condo today. Hope you don't mind me asking on your condo...

Karen, when is a kitty considered a long term diabetic?

Wendy, I feed Ozzy a small snack around +9 - +10 before his AM and PM shots because he was having upset/acidic/food anticipation vomits every day until someone suggested this trick and it has nipped that in the bud. Should we maybe consider stopping this late in the cycle snack?
Ask away, Jo. :)
 
I realized after the fact that I should have gone with lower carb food but I admit to an emotional reaction :)eek:!!)
I've done this many times. When you see that lower number, it's an automatic reaction. I've had to try to remind myself not to overact and just get the LC if it's a later in the cycle lower number. If the low number happens within the first 3 hours of the shot though, I go straight for the HC since he still has a long way to go in the cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top