18/2 Tonka AMPS 65 - reduced shot?? - +11.25 65 +12 58

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmalasiuk

Member Since 2014
This one is really lower than I want to inject him at with a full dose when I can't be home, especially since he's lower or at same level than he was at +5 last night (68). He's been on 1.5 units for three days now. I think for my peace of mind I should only give him 1 unit and leave hout some med carb food. for later i the day. Is that a decent plan?
 
Sorry this was missed earlier. But you need to do what you're comfortable with. A lowered dose, food out. If you're comfortable with that....yup. Always better to be safe.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Good plan for the day Jordi. Safety first! If you are ever worried about him eating and you see a similar situation, a skip is also a possible option. Be good Tonka - safe surfing please. :D
 
And now (+11.25), after having a 0.5 reduction and extra carbed food today, little geek is at the exact same level that he was before his morning shot: 3.6 (65). I think I'll keep him at 1 unit for the next couple days and see what happens. I imagine that there's still the insulin in his depot that might be affecting him so I might have to bring him back up another -.25 later, but he's clearly not needing much today compared to a few weeks ago. Maybe the infection is cleared up?
 
I'd get a test right before you shoot and see if he's still surfing, if you will be there to monitor, then you can certainly try the 1u. You're correct thst it might be depot causing this and you might have to go back up but that's ok.
 
Compared to a couple of weeks ago, Tonka is seeing a lot more green. It could be that his pancreas is healing quickly.

Are you still testing on the Bravo meter? I remember you said it reads about 18 (or so) points higher than the One Touch. Is Tonka eating better today?
 
I was planning on getting a test just before injecting him (in about 20 minutes, now). As long as he's not dropping farther, I take it he should be good to give 1 unit to? (I'll be up late tonight again, so he will be monitored).
We're still using the Bravo. The point spread is greater at the higher end than when he's lower, so it's probably more a matter of percentage than absolute numbers. I'm just going on the assumption that he could, in theory, be as much as 10% lower than what it's reading, which is another reason why I've been a bit conservative with how soon I jump on feeding him extra.
 
Oh, and he's eating fine. Just not gorging anymore. Back to grazing and he didn't feel like grazing more than a couple mouthfuls the other morning. But food was all gone by the time I got home tonight. I doubt it's Teeger, since he's getting full pretty fast on the wet food and doesn't bother with it after he's eaten his fill.

Test at +12 is 3.2 (58). He probably ate the rest of the food (including the med carb) a few hours ago, if his patterns are the same when I'm not here as they are when I'm gone.

Should I give him the 1 unit?
 
If you are home to monitor and have plenty of food and strips, I'd shoot. It may or may not be a late night.
 
I just fed him, so too late for that. But I'll be around to monitor, and test strips are one thing we always have lots of in this house.
Thanks for the advising - lets see where he goes from here, eh?
 
Also have plenty of gravy food. My local petfood store owner must think I'm crazy because first I was just looking for low carb, and as of the last couple weeks I've been stocking up on the high carbs since he keeps deciding to drop
 
I'd get a +1 and a +2 test this cycle to see what mischief Tonka is up to.

I hear you on the gravy foods. I try not to buy the HC at the same store I buy the raw food. :p
 
Thanks for checking. He was up a bit at +1 (4.3 or 77 mg), and I'll test him again in another 15 minutes or so for +2. I'm already getting dirty looks from him. He is master of the dirty looks :rolleyes:
 
He ate about the amount of Low Carb that he usually starts with on the days that he's in grazing mode, and then went upstairs to nap. If he isn't rising much at the next shot I planned on hauling him back down to his food. When placed in front of his food he'll usually consent to eat a bit more.
 
3.4 (61) at +2.25
Had to put a drop of gravy on his pate to get him to start eating, but now that he's there he's eating a bit more
 
I think you are going to see an active cycle tonight. I'd stay on top of the testing, Jordi. The drop of gravy will help.
 
Yup. Little dork is looking very pleased with himself at the moment. Good thing I'm becoming nocturnal
 
3.6 (65) at +3. Flattest "curve" I've seen for him in a long while. Now if only it were about 1 or 2 mmol higher...
 
He's turning his nose up at the low carb right now. He probably won't eat it now until he feels like he's crashing, or he hits about +6... whichever comes first. I might have to offer him another tsp of gravy. Maybe a few of the DM kibble instead, since he isn't too low yet? It'll take a while to hit, but should last a long time once it does, and he does like his kibble when he gets a chance to munch on a few.
 
Just put about 10-12 DM kibble down for him and he was over in a shot. Apparently he's in carb withdrawl :rolleyes: Oh well, guess I'll see how much the dry vs wet food actually affects him
 
Ah, missed your post. But I thought that the gravy was more likely to spike him quickly, so wouldn't that be better reserved for if he gets more critically low?
 
I'm just not a kibble fan for diabetics so I figure if you don't have to use it, why do it? There's absolutely nothing good about it but it can be useful if they are dropping or low and your kitty is a kibble addict. If they will eat something else, great. If it's all he will eat, then so be it.

I'm off to bed. Hope he has a good surf, Jordi.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top