17Feb2020/Maxi/AMPS(321)/+3(281): Question re. Tomorrow's Instructions for Catsitter (and more Qs)

bambinaki

Member Since 2010
Last thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps394-3-331-continued-new-frustration.225745/

Hello-

I have 3 questions.

(1) Tomorrow I have to have an emergency dental procedure at the time of Maxi's morning insulin dose, which is 9:30. At that time, my roommate will test Maxi and give him his shot. His dose was recently increased, so we're in unfamiliar territory and not sure what his glucose number will be. Just in case his glucose is suddenly a lot lower than it has been, at what number should I tell my roommate *not* to give the shot?

(2) Maxi had tests at the vet's today, and the results are attached and some info. is added to his spreadsheet. The tests were done before his morning feeding and shot. Could you please take a look and let me know how you think he's doing (re. diabetes and kidney disease)?
Not all the info. from the attached results are on the spreadsheet.
Blood: I could not find anything about SDMA.
Fructosamine was 361 (range on printout: 191-349) -- HIGH
Glucose -- HIGH
MCHC -- HIGH
EOS -- HIGH
Urine: I could not find anything about USG. The urine test was last week, Feb. 12.

(3) Maxi's brother Rudi also went to the vet today for a check-up. Last summer, Rudi became very sick with diarrhea and he refused to eat. It persisted and the regular vet sent him to the specialist clinic, where he was diagnosed with and treated for pancreatitis. Thank goodness he recovered and has been fine since then. However, for the last month or so, he has been spitting up. He behaves like he's going to vomit, and then he just spits. No food or hair comes up. Only a bit of bubbly saliva comes up. Otherwise he seems fine: good appetite, good bowel movements and urination and behavior. The vet prescribed Cerenia. (1/2 of a 16mg tablet once daily as needed for vomiting, one hour prior to feeding; there are 8 days of tablets in the box) During Rudi's exam, the vet found that his tummy might be a little tender. She also found that he needs a dental, which is scheduled for one week from today. She said something in his blood test suggests inflammation, which could be from his teeth or it could be from his tummy. I dumbly didn't get a copy of Rudi's results. So, my question is, if he's not actually vomiting, and since he's eating well, do you think I should give him the Cerenia? Should I give it to him if he does that spitting thing again?

*Many thanks*
 

Attachments

  • Maxi Feb 17 Results 1.JPG
    Maxi Feb 17 Results 1.JPG
    33.4 KB · Views: 50
  • Maxi Feb 17 Results 2.JPG
    Maxi Feb 17 Results 2.JPG
    42.2 KB · Views: 47
  • Maxi Feb 17 Results 3.JPG
    Maxi Feb 17 Results 3.JPG
    31 KB · Views: 50
There is a Labs tab associated with the spreadsheet. It is really helpful if you can transcribe the lab results there. I am finding some of the attachments fuzzy to read. You will have to double check that the default reference values are the same or correct them. I find the spreadsheet a great tool to compare how Labs numbers are trending. I would also phone and ask the vet clinic about SDMA. It is supposed to be included with Idexx Labs now.

Will your roommate get any tests after AMPS? Can the roommate post here is you see a number below 150? At what + time will you be back and will you be in any shape to test?
 
There is a Labs tab associated with the spreadsheet. It is really helpful if you can transcribe the lab results there. I am finding some of the attachments fuzzy to read. You will have to double check that the default reference values are the same or correct them. I find the spreadsheet a great tool to compare how Labs numbers are trending. I would also phone and ask the vet clinic about SDMA. It is supposed to be included with Idexx Labs now.

Will your roommate get any tests after AMPS? Can the roommate post here is you see a number below 150? At what + time will you be back and will you be in any shape to test?

Lab results have been posted on the spreadsheet. Not everything on the printouts is on the spreadsheet.
Maybe changing the browser used to view them will clear up the attachments. For some people, they come out fuzzy; for others, they come out clear.
I'll ask about SDMA.
I expect to be home tomorrow a couple hours after Maxi's morning shot, and I will be fine to test him.

Below what number should I tell my roommate not to shoot?

Thank you!
 
If you have extra values, just add another row on the Labs spreadsheet. All data is good data.

No ketones in Maxi’s history? If you aren’t testing for ketones, you should be, and if you are, could you put the ketone test results in the Remarks part of the spreadsheet. Presence or not of ketones impacts whether to shoot or how much. A reduced dose is also an option.
 
Maxi has not had ketones before as far as I know. His ketones result is both on the spreadsheet (in Labs) and on the attached (above) printouts (Maxi Feb 17 Results 3). When I'm logged into Google I'll add them in Remarks (if you still think that's necessary).

Thank you
 
Last edited:
It's unlikely that Maxi's glucose will be low at tomorrow's AMPS, but if someone could advise me on the number below which he should not get his shot, so I can tell the person who will be caring for him tomorrow morning, I'd appreciate it.

Thank you
 
We tell people using TR that when they get their first under 150 to not feed, and post here for help. One option for pet sitter, if they see an under 150, is to not feed, wait 15-20 minutes, and see if he’s rising above 150, then shoot. Once a person has the data to do so, you can shoot as low as 50. You aren’t there yet. Above 50, there is not a no shoot number. The number you tell the petsitter is your comfort level. All I can give you are guidelines for your decision.
 
We tell people using TR that when they get their first under 150 to not feed, and post here for help. One option for pet sitter, if they see an under 150, is to not feed, wait 15-20 minutes, and see if he’s rising above 150, then shoot. Once a person has the data to do so, you can shoot as low as 50. You aren’t there yet. Above 50, there is not a no shoot number. The number you tell the petsitter is your comfort level. All I can give you are guidelines for your decision.

Thank you, Wendy!
 
Back
Top