17/09 Bui Bui AMPS 499 +1 455 +2 414 +3 371 +5 322 +7 283 +9 265 +11 221 PMPS 265

Why is the vet asking you to reduce? Please do not reduce the dose. His nadirs are not even below 100 which is the normal range.

You have only just broken through glucose toxicity and he is just starting to see better numbers. Reducing his dose will again take him back to higher numbers and glucose toxicity. The only time a dose reset works is if (a) a cat has been started on too high a dose to begin with (b) increases have been made in multiple of units (rather than 0.25-0.5U) so a good dose has been bypassed and (c) there are not enough tests to see how low a cat is going on a dose. In that case, too much insulin can look like too little insulin.

None of these scenarios apply to Bui Bui. He is bouncing from the long stretch of blues he saw and his body is not used to. Bounces can take up to 6 cycles/3 days to clear.
 
Last edited:
Why is the vet asking you to reduce? Please do not reduce the dose. His nadirs are not even below 100 which is the normal range.

You have only just broken through glucose toxicity and he is just starting to see better numbers. Reducing his dose will again take him back to higher numbers and glucose toxicity. The only time a dose reset works is if (a) a cat has been started on too high a dose to begin with (b) increases have been made in multiple of units (rather than 0.25-0.5U) so a good dose has been bypassed and (c) there are not enough tests to see how low a cat is going on a dose. In that case, too much insulin can look like too little insulin.

None of these scenarios apply to Bui Bui. He is bouncing from the long stretch of blues he saw and his body is not used to. Bounces can take up to 6 cycles/3 days to clear.
Hi bhooma, i think the reason why was because he mentioned the good numbers are in the 2U days and the HI numbers means his liver trying to work extra hard to compensate on the influx of sugar.

We are sticking to 2.25U as of now :)
 
Back
Top