? 160 @ +10 do i still shoot full dose at PM shot if she is still in the blue?

Steph & Suki

Member Since 2019
Link to last thread regarding possible bounce http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...am-i-riding-out-a-bounce.214107/#post-2371569

So this is the lowest she has been for the longest. With the low AMPS this morning i normally shoot and come home to her being sky high by PMPS. However today she is still in the blue!

I would like to hold the 2.5 dose if possible as things seem to be happening at the moment however if she is still in the blue would i just give a half dose? Or a 2u dose?

I am not the best at deciding when to do random doses if that makes sense?
 
I know its great to see her having stayed low for a whole day!

I can test in an hour for sure and post on here and yes i am home all night.

Should i feed her early? I normally feed after PM shot.
 
Should i feed her early? I normally feed after PM shot.

The general rule is not to feed 2 hours before shot time so that the PS number you get isn't food influenced. 160 is a safe and nice number so far :)

I'm not 100% confident giving dosing advice and I'm sure someone with more experience will come along, but I'm willing to bet, you'll be advised to keep your dose unless Suki goes below 90 as per SLGS.
 
Thank you i just need to try and hold my nerve. Am terrified of sending her hypo when she has a lower pre shot number!

Thank you for your advice :)
 
You've done it before! Looks like you shot a blue number back in February and Suki did well :) It takes time but the more data you gather and the more you shoot, the less nerve wracking it'll get! Plus we want to see Suki in blues and greens so if you're able to monitor tonight, have lots of strips, high carb foods and honey, getting a blue PS number would be a good learning opportunity tonight.
 
Yes i neednt have worried. No i didnt give her any food although i just caught her coming out of the bedroom where there was a bit of wet food still down from this morning (i have 10 cats in total lol) so she may have nibbled but not sure. I suspect she will be at 14/15 at PMPS. Am hoping she stays in the yellow as i dont think we have had a day this low for this long before. Wish i had been off work to curve today :) would have loved to see if she hit a green
 
Urgh i hope not. I never know if the 2.5u is too much as she bounces each time she gets a low but the 2.25u only gets her yellow midcycles with mainly pinks. There is no way i can get an in between dose either. Should i just keep riding these bounces out until she earns a reduction with a number under 90?
 
She may not necessarily be going too low.

Some Kitties will bounce if
  1. they drop into numbers that they are not used to, so if her body is not use to blues, that could be enough to trigger a bounce.
  2. they drop fast
  3. spend longer than normal in a lower range
  4. or any combination of the above
I'm glad you've been getting these extra tests in, you can see how they can gelp build a picture, if Suki is high yellow at PMPS but you hadn't got the +10 and +11 you can see how that can skew your impression of how she is doing.
For now I would hold with the 2.5u, unless she drops below 90 and earns her reduction as per SLGS.
 
Ah i see thats very informative i didnt realise it could be due to other factors. Today has been different for her so its good to know that might be the reason for a new bounce.

Thank you so much for your comments and advice its been really helpful :)
 
Back
Top