16 July Tucker AMPS: 15.0 (270)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello to you and Tucker. How are you feeling Patty?
I'm doing a lot better with the bruising etc fading. I'm not allowed to drive still because of effects of concussion, it's so frustrating. Just taking it a bit at a time. It's given me lots of time to hang out with Tucky so there's a plus! He's become much more lovey dovey since diagnosis, also a plus for his needy family. Thanks for checking on me/us. :)
 
Did you manage to get any test in last night? I was hoping you would see blue again.

Nice to hear you are getting your Tucker cuddles. :)
 
I'm doing a lot better with the bruising etc fading. I'm not allowed to drive still because of effects of concussion, it's so frustrating. Just taking it a bit at a time. It's given me lots of time to hang out with Tucky so there's a plus! He's become much more lovey dovey since diagnosis, also a plus for his needy family. Thanks for checking on me/us. :)
You just take care of yourself, I know it's frustrating but these things take time and you are far too valuable to waste. I'm so glad you and Tucker are enjoying the respite.
 
Did you manage to get any test in last night? I was hoping you would see blue again.

Nice to hear you are getting your Tucker cuddles. :)
I did get a test in last night, it was in the yellow but I forgot to post it on the ss (it was very late).
 
Come on Tucker. Show us some more blues please.
Glad you are feeling better Patty. Head injuries can take quite a while to heal fully. Frustrating when you can't "see" any injury.
 
Come on Tucker. Show us some more blues please.
Glad you are feeling better Patty. Head injuries can take quite a while to heal fully. Frustrating when you can't "see" any injury.
I know! Just when I think we are hitting blues he pops back up to yellows. The good thing is, he is happy. Seriously, you would not know there was anything wrong with him unless you did a BG test, he is just a lovely boy. As for me, you are so right. Everyone was so shocked and amazed by my black and blue legs........but that was nothing. The fuzzy brain is lingering and I'm not used to forgetting things and searching for words. Extremely frustrating but then again, it could have been a lot worse so I'll shut up now....
 
I know! Just when I think we are hitting blues he pops back up to yellows. The good thing is, he is happy. Seriously, you would not know there was anything wrong with him unless you did a BG test, he is just a lovely boy. As for me, you are so right. Everyone was so shocked and amazed by my black and blue legs........but that was nothing. The fuzzy brain is lingering and I'm not used to forgetting things and searching for words. Extremely frustrating but then again, it could have been a lot worse so I'll shut up now....
So glad Tucker is like his old self. Have his wetting inside issues resolved?
Are you able to read or watch TV?
I know Giselle said she has found it hard to concentrate when reading after her concussion and she still has no memory of the accident.
 
So glad Tucker is like his old self. Have his wetting inside issues resolved?
Are you able to read or watch TV?
I know Giselle said she has found it hard to concentrate when reading after her concussion and she still has no memory of the accident.
He hasn't had an issue with inside but depending on his BG numbers I don't always trust him. If he is in the blue=he gets to sleep on his daddy's head all night. If he is in the yellow before bed I try to get him to use the litter box before bed. If he is floating too high, he has a bed in the laundry room where we keep his litter tray. Consider it an incentive to go to blue, Tucky! (His daddy's head is so comfy...)

I can tolerate bits of work on the computer now and I can watch TV. I prefer to not use an overhead light still and need sunglasses when I go outside. Reading isn't a great thing just yet. It's bizarre actually, when I watch a movie I have to rewind because I get lost and if I do try to read I have to re-read the same paragraphs because the info doesn't absorb like it normally would. I'm 'vague' at times and I've lost all memory of the accident at this point. I hope Giselle makes a full recovery!
 
I did a quick set of charts to evaluate Tucker. There is nothing standard about the charts.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/140tLgMsf1eDE7msOVOQep1jSdjSBIZZmUDHMhBd-C0A/edit?usp=sharing

Dosage: It's obvious that the dosage has been increasing.
AMPS and PMPS: They don't show much of a trend. In some regulated cats these sometimes average down.
AMPS + 6 nadir: I had this line in the chart originally. But there are too many blank values, which show up as zero, so that line was worthless.

Overall, we are looking for the nadir line to trend down. But like I said, it would not chart well because of the missing values.
 
I did a quick set of charts to evaluate Tucker. There is nothing standard about the charts.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/140tLgMsf1eDE7msOVOQep1jSdjSBIZZmUDHMhBd-C0A/edit?usp=sharing

Dosage: It's obvious that the dosage has been increasing.
AMPS and PMPS: They don't show much of a trend. In some regulated cats these sometimes average down.
AMPS + 6 nadir: I had this line in the chart originally. But there are too many blank values, which show up as zero, so that line was worthless.

Overall, we are looking for the nadir line to trend down. But like I said, it would not chart well because of the missing values.
Hi Jeff, I didn't know you were doing this or I would have been more careful about getting the +6 test. Tucker's ears are starting to look a mess. I know they say it doesn't hurt but he really winces and yelps sometimes when I test him. I feel horrible.
 
There are a lot of threads about "ear testing" in the health forum. Some people use neosporin. I always do a quick massage before and after. I ensure all the blood is off. We use one of the testers that you prime, then it clicks and does a quick jab. There are different ways to do it.

Don't worry about perfect numbers. I was just looking for some trends. And the only one we really got was the increasing dosage. If you want me to graph it longterm, then it has to be in the same column. ...or you could type it into another sheet and push stuff into the same column. Like a +7 value could be merged into the +6 column. The graphs are easy (for me) to make.
 
It is unfortunate, but it does not look like 5.0 is going to do it. If we keep getting into higher doses, it is possible he could have some Acro or some Insulin resistance. I think Bron already said there is no test for that in Australia...even though Australia is about the same size as the U.S. And well, frankly the most awesome beaches are there too.

So continue to increase his dose. With luck we will get some more dips into the blues.
 
There are a lot of threads about "ear testing" in the health forum. Some people use neosporin. I always do a quick massage before and after. I ensure all the blood is off. We use one of the testers that you prime, then it clicks and does a quick jab. There are different ways to do it.

Don't worry about perfect numbers. I was just looking for some trends. And the only one we really got was the increasing dosage. If you want me to graph it longterm, then it has to be in the same column. ...or you could type it into another sheet and push stuff into the same column. Like a +7 value could be merged into the +6 column. The graphs are easy (for me) to make.
Ok, good to know. That's kind of you Jeff. Thank you.
 
You may want to browse the Main Health forum for ear testing tips.
And the charts are no problem. I hope they will be helpful in the future.
 
It is unfortunate, but it does not look like 5.0 is going to do it. If we keep getting into higher doses, it is possible he could have some Acro or some Insulin resistance. I think Bron already said there is no test for that in Australia...even though Australia is about the same size as the U.S. And well, frankly the most awesome beaches are there too.

So continue to increase his dose. With luck we will get some more dips into the blues.
She's right. I did run this by our vet and she said that she could do it if we lived in Melbourne........but even though that is our next closest big city to Adelaide we are talking about an 18 hour car ride. (Australia is big....just not a lot of people in between the state capital cities.) I've talked the higher numbers over with our vet and she says that she is not going to be worried unless he needs 8 units twice a day and/or he stops eating and is feeling sick and not his happy self. I don't know what to think.
 
Don't worry about it for now Patty. You are still recovering. And you guys are doing a great job with Tucker. You also have a good vet, who has given you some good advice. Tucker has been a good patient and he is eating. All that is great progress.

My step-sister lives in Melbourne. As my step-dad put it a long time ago, "she met Lawrence of Australia" in the 1980s. But as fate would have it, we have drifted apart - there are 15 children in the step-siblings of our remarried parents.
 
I agree with your vet. That is a 10% increase and is a valid amount. I hope Tucker responds.
 
Thanks Jeff. It's a relief knowing there are eyes on us. I'm too at this to make decisions regarding my boy's life...it's scary.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top