16 Dec Methos 209@ AMPS; 179@ +2; 82@+5; 118@+6.25; 152@+7.5; 142@+9; 298pmps

SmallestSparrow

Very Active Member
When last seen:https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...amps-236-2-195-5-7-275-9.296605/#post-3228492

oh please come in! It doesn’t matter what you’re selling, please do come in! Would you like some coffee? I just don’t actually see people anymore…how about some cookies?
upload_2024-12-16_6-33-43.jpeg


So much for fish tacos this morning …but I’m happy he’s coming down. Just not too fast! Flaps, Methos, flaps! I was going to try to avoid intervention but already I gave him a larger than normal snack and used the 5% rather than the usual 0% :banghead::oops:. Can’t help it. I’m a coward. He even had an extra pill pocket with breakfast. Which reminds me I need to eat.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-12-16_6-33-43.jpeg
    upload_2024-12-16_6-33-43.jpeg
    31 KB · Views: 60
I’m equally afraid +5 (if I can wait that long) will be 100 or 500. Is this the dip before the bounce? This was supposed to be a bounce day

edit: who am I kidding. I’m testing him @+4, the only question is if also testing +3
 
Hi Colleen, I hope Methos continues to stay in good and safe numbers for you! :cool::cool::cool: And I know how hard it is to wait for the next test.... I think 5 % is not exaggerated... I still remember pill pockets marinated in karo.... :) And you are not a coward. You do a perfect job to keep him safe. Hope it is not going to be too stressful today! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You do a perfect job to keep him safe.
Nope. 83. Ffs. I should have tested him at +3 and +4. Back to control freak mode. I’m clearly never leaving the house again. Not only no fish tacos today but probably not even cereal over the sink. :banghead::banghead::banghead: Now he will probably be 600 tomorrow. So much for letting go of the stick. I was going to try to just feed at +5.5. God only know what he’d have been then.
 
Nope. 83. Ffs. I should have tested him at +3 and +4. Back to control freak mode. I’m clearly never leaving the house again. Not only no fish tacos today but probably not even cereal over the sink. :banghead::banghead::banghead: Now he will probably be 600 tomorrow. So much for letting go of the stick. I was going to try to just feed at +5.5. God only know what he’d have been then.

Oh no....! That was a huge drop! I looked through his ss and I would not have expected that. What is your reduction point?

I am so sorry this happened while you tried to get a new test routine. :( But you catched it the right time!

Happy, Methos at least enjoyed his snack.....

In Germany we would tell people now to drink a "Schnaps", but I don't know if this is appropriate. Please do something nice for yourself Colleen! Many, many hugs!!! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Oh no....! That was a huge drop! I looked through his ss and I would not have expected that. What is your reduction point?

I am so sorry this happened while you tried to get a new test routine. :( But you catched it the right time!

Happy, Methos at least enjoyed his snack.....

In Germany we would tell people now to drink a "Schnaps", but I don't know if this is appropriate. Please do something nice for yourself Colleen! Many, many hugs!!! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
I know right? I thought at worst maybe 110 or 120 and more like 150. Frick
 
That is what I would have thought too. But 83 on the Alphatrak is still safe, right? Sorry, I always forget, how the Alphatrak reads.
Yes. It means he’s somewhere between 68:eek: and 98. But he’s slow to eat and sometimes it takes a lot to turn him around or keep him up…not helped by the fact he prefers zero carb food:banghead: although thank God he LOVES his MC food

So 45 calories of his not so favorite 5% carb plus 1 3/4 tsp of a 15% food and I can breathe again but I fear he will be 100 in an hour
 
His reduction point is squishy. I want one when he hits double digits. I think officially my vet uses 80 or 90 but she’s held him before when he’s been 80s and I think once in the 70s. I’m not excited about a decrease bc I have a lot of trouble measuring quarter units at 0230 for several reasons. Of course she doesn’t like quarter units so if she decreases him it may be to 2.5.

I knew he’d be going below 100 if I don’t intervene. :banghead::banghead::banghead:

after a few more tests I will text her. Once again on her day off
 
She’s held him bc she really thinks he’s not going to be controlled with 2.5. Idk what he needs. Before an hour ago I was going to text her tomorrow (when she’s at work) to ask WTF is going on and could she ask the internist if we should go up, down, or hold the course
 
I'm going to bring up the topic of TR. You are home and test enough to consider Tight Regulation. Yes, you will need to get comfortable with lower numbers. However, it would be good to see Methos spend more time below renal threshold. If you're going to stick with SLGS, I'd encourage you to not hold the doses for more than a week. Holding a dose that isn't bringing your kitty into closer to normal numbers can be a set up for glucose toxicity which will only create more bouncing and make it harder to get the numbers where you want them.
 
That is what I would have thought too. But 83 on the Alphatrak is still safe, right? Sorry, I always forget, how the Alphatrak reads.
I’m mostly really mad at myself. I almost waited another 30 minutes bc I’d like to be comfortable with a delay of his lunch to +5.5, but I just couldn’t wait any longer. I was telling myself “you’re going to feel really stupid and be sorry you didn’t wait when he’s one eighty…frick. Frick. Frick”
 
I'm going to bring up the topic of TR. You are home and test enough to consider Tight Regulation. Yes, you will need to get comfortable with lower numbers. However, it would be good to see Methos spend more time below renal threshold. If you're going to stick with SLGS, I'd encourage you to not hold the doses for more than a week. Holding a dose that isn't bringing your kitty into closer to normal numbers can be a set up for glucose toxicity which will only create more bouncing and make it harder to get the numbers where you want them.
Idk if I want to be more comfy below 100 but will think about it thanks. He was holding at 3 bc his vetoryl was increased twice in that time and there was a potential his insulin need would decrease although I don’t know if this is that. The consultant when proposing the increase felt it would be more likely to lower his BG, and felt the 75s and 80s he had if I didn’t watch him like a hawk meant he needed more vetoryl rather than more insulin. But I was going to ask my vet to ask him what he thought about the numbers anyway before this.
I’ll certainly think about it. We can’t keep doing this bouncing. I’d finally decided to try to stop micromanaging his food and start decreasing his testing to 4x/day. This hasn’t helped my resolve
 
Oh my....good to see he went up. And good he is doing this during the day. Maybe it is already discussed up and down.... I am sure someone mentioned calipers to help with dosing small units?
 
Oh my....good to see he went up. And good he is doing this during the day. Maybe it is already discussed up and down.... I am sure someone mentioned calipers to help with dosing small units?
I’ve considered ordering some. It’s just in the artificial and not as bright as daylight it’s more difficult to see what I’m doing let alone line up between the lines. Esp if I’m hurrying and the other cat is screaming his head off etc etc. Then I start to second guess my guess. It’s a mess but it is what it is.

It is good this is in the daytime. I hope he stays up bc he’s not hungry
 
I’ve considered ordering some. It’s just in the artificial and not as bright as daylight it’s more difficult to see what I’m doing let alone line up between the lines. Esp if I’m hurrying and the other cat is screaming his head off etc etc. Then I start to second guess my guess. It’s a mess but it is what it is.

It is good this is in the daytime. I hope he stays up bc he’s not hungry

The good thing about calipers seems to be, that with a certain technique you don't need your eyes anymore. It is just mechanical. I can send you some info if you like. But I know it just in theory, I didn't try yet. I am still using these paper rulers but I think about changing.

I am sure, if he is not hungry, he wouldn't mind a pill pocket if it is necessary. I feel this is always the last resort.
 
The good thing about calipers seems to be, that with a certain technique you don't need your eyes anymore. It is just mechanical. I can send you some info if you like. But I know it just in theory, I didn't try yet. I am still using these paper rulers but I think about changing.

I am sure, if he is not hungry, he wouldn't mind a pill pocket if it is necessary. I feel this is always the last resort.
I just found a wound on his belly :banghead: idk if he caught it on something. More likely he and Tammuz had a spat but I’ve been with them almost all morning. I hope it doesn’t get infected. I will need to go back to keeping tammuz in his room anytime I’m not in the room with them
 
Debated whether his +9 snack should be his usual 0% or a 6.5% or mix. Considering his vet says to stick w/3U unless his numbers “are super scary. And I do mean low” ( I’m thinking she felt 83 isn’t)…I’m going with the 6.5%. Now dreading a huge bounce AND a low pmps simultaneously. :nailbiting:
I really should nap but must go pick up cerenia, more MC food, and supplies for his new belly slash
 
Clearly Methos was concerned about Pookey @Tim & Pookey strolling with Queen Ivy @Staci & Ivy a d wanted to go chaperone :banghead:
Ivy and Pookey obviously wanted company from Methos today. I’m sorry it came at a cost to your sanity.

I see you are opening the door to any forlorn door knocker. They will probably be able to sell you just about anything about now.

I’m sorry he’s got a belly wound. I hope it’s not too bad, Colleen. What will you put on it to help it heal?

His numbers are actually quite nice. Just the double digits get very scary. You did great work offering all of the meat byproducts today;)
Wishing you both a calm night ahead :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
W
Where’s your reduction point? There’s always tonight ;)
We reduce when his Dr says. She feels sorry for us sometimes and will give a one night reduction for a particularly low pmps but she really doesn’t think less than 3 is going to be enough. So we stay the course :nailbiting:. His pmps will be high anyway and tonight we bounce. She said she’d readdress his dose with the specialist, and subtly told me to pull up my big girl pants. Which I deserve. I think her words were we hold “unless his numbers are super scary, and I do mean low.” :nailbiting: I just worry the bouncing isn’t good for him. He always looks like crap during it. But she’s right, we’ve tried to reduce after a 70 or 80 something and he goes really high.
And she has never once been wrong about what his next PS would look like. Like within ten. She’s kind of spooky

edit: she’s the one I explained that 75 was practically 60 with meter variation who texted back no with a smiley face
 
Ivy and Pookey obviously wanted company from Methos today. I’m sorry it came at a cost to your sanity.

I see you are opening the door to any forlorn door knocker. They will probably be able to sell you just about anything about now.

I’m sorry he’s got a belly wound. I hope it’s not too bad, Colleen. What will you put on it to help it heal?

His numbers are actually quite nice. Just the double digits get very scary. You did great work offering all of the meat byproducts today;)
Wishing you both a calm night ahead :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Even before diabetes I always spoke to folks: watchtower distributors, LDS missionaries, political folks…I listen, ask questions and offer bottled water and/or a bathroom. I remember having to sell campfire girl candy. And I learn stuff. For some of the religious groups I know spreading the Word is integral to their faith—and it costs me nothing to listen. People are always nice who knock at the door. Besides, Angels unaware and all that. :) my soul needs all the good karma I can find

it’s the worst he’s had. Of course my vet will be gone for most of the next two weeks so I’m anxious. She told me clean with peroxide or a different cleaner —I forget but I bought both and used the peroxide on it. I can’t put an ointment or he will lick it. Any ideas?

edit/ and while I was at the vet I went to the pet store and bought more by products since he seems to do this daily now. I keep saying I will research better options but I lack the energy. And it is good knowing he will eat it happily
 
Even before diabetes I always spoke to folks: watchtower distributors, LDS missionaries, political folks…I listen, ask questions and offer bottled water and/or a bathroom. I remember having to sell campfire girl candy. And I learn stuff. For some of the religious groups I know spreading the Word is integral to their faith—and it costs me nothing to listen. People are always nice who knock at the door. Besides, Angels unaware and all that. :) my soul needs all the good karma I can find

it’s the worst he’s had. Of course my vet will be gone for most of the next two weeks so I’m anxious. She told me clean with peroxide or a different cleaner —I forget but I bought both and used the peroxide on it. I can’t put an ointment or he will lick it. Any ideas?

edit/ and while I was at the vet I went to the pet store and bought more by products since he seems to do this daily now. I keep saying I will research better options but I lack the energy. And it is good knowing he will eat it happily
You’re very nice, Colleen. You will definitely have good karma taking the time to talk to all those people.
I’m way too paranoid about letting people come in my home uninvited.
It’s a crazy world.
So kudos to you :smuggrin:

As for the sore, would coconut oil be ok for healing? And if he licked it that would r hurt him?
Ivy Licks it off my fingers when I use it :rolleyes:
 
It’s a crazy world.
I know Aikido ;)
As for the sore, would coconut oil be ok for healing?
Idk—does it help things heal? I’ll ask my vet tomorrow if it’s ok w/ his elevated enzymes but i think they’ve pretty much decided it’s not pancreatitis but tumor doing that. At least now he can have comfort sachet (oooh those have coconut oil and liver and he adores them) but I’m not supposed to overdo them
 
Those numbers in the 70s and 80s can be so scary in the beginning. For what it’s worth, I was terrified when Emmett would go that “low” in the beginning but once I saw how he adjusted to that range and how much of a goofball he became, it stopped seeming so scary. Now that he’s on an OTJ trial, he regularly hangs out there.

Good luck to you and Methos :)
 
Those numbers in the 70s and 80s can be so scary in the beginning. For what it’s worth, I was terrified when Emmett would go that “low” in the beginning but once I saw how he adjusted to that range and how much of a goofball he became, it stopped seeming so scary. Now that he’s on an OTJ trial, he regularly hangs out there.

Good luck to you and Methos :)
Thank you. Methos and I are very happy for Emmett—and we’re ok that OTJ can never be in Methos’ stars
Sorry to hear Methos has a wound on his belly. I hope whatever you put on it heals .
I don't know if I ever told you Methos is so adorable .
:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
@SmallestSparrow
thank you. He has always been my handsome man—and always will be
 
I can’t put an ointment or he will lick it. Any ideas?
Diluted hibitane. My vet suggest 1 in 10-15 of water, dab onto sores, leave for 5 minutes, then dab again, then 5 more minutes and rinse off with plain water. So you just have to monitor for 10 minutes. Twice a day if tolerated - :p. Anyway, we had another Cushings kitty here whose IM vet had also suggested hibitane rinse. My use was for a cat with sores, also did the same thing when working at the shelter with kitty sores.

Nice cycle today, even if scary for you and his liver. More like this and both of you will become more chill about these numbers.
 
Have you ever seen the show “House”? My patients at the Pentagon referred to me as Dr House but I prefer to believe it was my diagnostic brilliance and not my misanthropy that caused it.
But it could have been the second thing. Definitely.
Never watched It. But I’m sure it was your diagnostic brilliance that was revered :):)
 
Diluted hibitane. My vet suggest 1 in 10-15 of water, dab onto sores, leave for 5 minutes, then dab again, then 5 more minutes and rinse off with plain water. So you just have to monitor for 10 minutes. Twice a day if tolerated - :p. Anyway, we had another Cushings kitty here whose IM vet had also suggested hibitane rinse. My use was for a cat with sores, also did the same thing when working at the shelter with kitty sores.

Nice cycle today, even if scary for you and his liver. More like this and both of you will become more chill about these numbers.
I’ll look for some today, thanks
 
Back
Top