16/2 Chico AMPS 468; +4 391; +6 252; +7 207

Morning, hope all goes well at the vets.

We had the poo tested, no parasites were found. We received 4 days of Aptus Attapectin and 2 days of Entrol. We should continue giving probiotics. Do you think we should witch to normal probiotics dosing or still the intensive one? should we add lactobacilus for a few days?

I added the blood works from the 7th of January in his spreadsheet. Today no blood work was done.
 
Hi
How long have you done the emergency stop dose?
should we add lactobacilus for a few days?
Was this the other human probiotic?
We had the poo tested, no parasites were found.
That's good.
Did the vet check Chico out, or did you just take the sample?

Thanks for post the lab results.
It was quite a limited panel. The ALT is just out of range and the alkaline phosphates only just out of range (with the references ranges I have) both of those are liver enzymes, as your vet already mentioned. Did he think it was related to the GI problem?
2 days of Entrol
I don't know what that is??
 
Hi
How long have you done the emergency stop dose?

For about 4 days, we don't give him probiotic for about 6 hours in the night though, we can step up with that as well

Was this the other human probiotic?
Yes. Generally i can see that the probiotic help him but there is something else that bothers him

That's good.
Did the vet check Chico out, or did you just take the sample?
The vet checked him as well, i am upset that i didn't tell him to do a blood test. When i realized he wasn't intending to do any it was too late.

Thanks for post the lab results.
It was quite a limited panel. The ALT is just out of range and the alkaline phosphates only just out of range (with the references ranges I have) both of those are liver enzymes, as your vet already mentioned. Did he think it was related to the GI problem?
He believes there is some bacteria overgrowth which causes him this discomfort, hence the medicine to "restart" the microflora in the correct representation

I don't know what that is??
apparently it is enterol and the main component is boulardi as well. So i guess there is no need to give this and the boulardi in parallel. Maybe we give the Aptus Attapectin and Enterol for 2 days per his prescription. I would add some lactobacilus (human probiotics) just to complement it. after enterol depending on his results we will decide what to do further. What do you think? I read in the emergency treating diarrhea with boulardi it sais that it should be better in 3-4 days which wasn't consistently Chico's case o_O
 
It appears the enterol is Sboulardii.

How much has the vet said to give him? And how much probiotic in that doe?
It's probably not necessary to do both.
 
It appears the enterol is Sboulardii.

How much has the vet said to give him? And how much probiotic in that doe?
It's probably not necessary to do both.
Apparently 1x10^9, the one that we were giving has 5-10x 10^9.

The vet said to give him twice a day, 1/2 each

It is weird to decrease the dose when i know he doesn't have a bad reaction to the dose we already give him
 
Apparently i just misread his writing, that is some coincidence :rolleyes::rolleyes: It is Entizol not Enterol. It is an antibiotic for 5 days
Im so confused now, if it was me, i would not take antibiotic unless i had a bacteria i had to get rid of... giving Chico antibiotic for 5 days just to "restart" his microbiom seems too aggressive. But how am i supposed to take decisions against the vet's opinion? it sucks, i would feel more comfortable to take these decisions regarding my own health, if i take a wrong decision at least i did it to myself...

We'll just have to debate it with my husband and we will see what to do...
 
I have never used it but it does look like it is used to treat GI upset, reading about it's use to treat GI upset it can be effective in treating diarrhea that has a bacterial infection at its origin, (as well as other GI infections)
Lists the side effects in cat, apparently it can make them drool quite a bit, they don't like the taste, it's bitter so you don't want to crush the tablet. There can be some issues with higher doses and long term use(like with IBD), the second link goes into this
https://www.petmd.com/pet-medication/metronidazole
https://www.vin.com/apputil/content...57099&id=7054646&ind=128&objTypeID=17&print=1
https://vcahospitals.com/know-your-pet/metronidazole

I would continue with the Sboulardii while he is on the AB and the other probiotic you have.
 
Did you hold the dose this evening?
Unless he does something crazy tonight and goes low green, it's time to take the dose up. If you look at his nadirs they have been trending up, time for more juice.
 
Did you hold the dose this evening?
Unless he does something crazy tonight and goes low green, it's time to take the dose up. If you look at his nadirs they have been trending up, time for more juice.
We know its time to move it up, we just wanted to start in the morning to have the rollercoster during the day rather than the night. We have divided the care during the night to my husband and early morning its mine, so it was his call.
 
I see yellow at +2.
Looks like Chico may want some attention from his Daddy Bean.
Hope he was OK with all the meds this evening.
Daddy bean is already nervous LOL he already counts grams of food left to feed))

the antibiotic was the tricky one but Chico managed it very well and of course got a treat for it :)
 
Back
Top