16.1. Simba PMPS 94 +1 54 +1.25min 27 +1.45min 47 +2.25 74 +2.75 92 +4 92 +5 83

Definitely do the lc during the day. If he drops under 50 you can get him up with hc and syrup and be generous with the carbs so you won’t be testing every hour. You need to learn how he will respond should he drop under 50 at some point. We have gotten him used to normal numbers without bouncing so let’s see him earn his reduction.
Sounds like a plan :cat: I also want to be awake and see if he shows any signs of dipping under 50. Sometimes I freak out because he twitches in his sleep, sometimes he imitates drinking water or running while asleep too :p
 
Usually when they are getting low they get very hungry and go looking for food. That’s one thing to watch for. Unfortunately it doesn’t happen every time. :cat::banghead:
 
Then there are cats that are food oriented that don’t help us. My two girls I have now are always hungry too. Was Simba always a foodie?
 
Then there are cats that are food oriented that don’t help us. My two girls I have now are always hungry too. Was Simba always a foodie?
Oh yes, definitely! He is not a fussy eater either. He will walk around the table when we’re having food at home and beg for something from everyone. Front paws and his nose on the side of the table :D and we can’t leave any food out for my mums cat without supervision because Simba will go for it.
 
Usually when they are getting low they get very hungry and go looking for food. That’s one thing to watch for. Unfortunately it doesn’t happen every time. :cat::banghead:

True. I've had Bandit pester me for food even before the drop below 50 comes. Almost like she can sense that her BG is going down at a good pace. But it's not foolproof.
 
Max wasn’t like that. These two are. I have to stand by them while they eat. One inhales her found and I have to keep telling her no as she tries to eat her sister’s food. Her sister just eats quickly.
 
Last edited:
Max wasn’t like it. These two are. I have to stand by them while they eat. One inhales her found and I have to keep telling her no as she tries to eat her sister’s food. Her sister just eats quickly.
Yup, we have someone on guard duty in the kitchen while the boys eat. Same dynamics over here!
 
5CE08205-C24F-4A5E-9E7E-753F58FF054A.jpeg

I’m having dinner now. How can you resist this?! :kiss:
 

Attachments

  • 5CE08205-C24F-4A5E-9E7E-753F58FF054A.jpeg
    5CE08205-C24F-4A5E-9E7E-753F58FF054A.jpeg
    74.1 KB · Views: 341
Just dropping by to say hi and to say how wonderfully well Simba is doing! I had the same confusion with MC and LC, but in the end, Elise is right: it doesn't matter what you label the food given to the cat as long is it's what he/she needs. Ruby is not very carb sensitive when she's dropping, so I always fed her 15-20% carb food (what I thought was MC) whenever she dropped rapidly below 59 and 28-30% carb when she dropped below 50.
 
Just dropping by to say hi and to say how wonderfully well Simba is doing! I had the same confusion with MC and LC, but in the end, Elise is right: it doesn't matter what you label the food given to the cat as long is it's what he/she needs. Ruby is not very carb sensitive when she's dropping, so I always fed her 15-20% carb food (what I thought was MC) whenever she dropped rapidly below 59 and 28-30% carb when she dropped below 50.
Hi! Ah, that’s nice you have a similar experience with the carb %. I’m keeping the 33% for BG going under 50 in that case. Simba’s done well on this carb mix, let’s see what he’ll say about tomorrow with LC only! :)
 
I could be wrong. You dint need to ope; the can in advance . Once he drops you will feed the 15 grams and test again in 20 minutes.
 
Yes. Test in 20.
There’s an issue with the HC. He’s not a fan of the flavor/consistency! I mixed 5grams of a very fishy 1.2% in and he’s happily eating it now. I’ll need to find some more tempting HC foods. Shame there’s not a list for those :D
 
But he ate it with fish? The carbs are in the gravy so you can squeeze out the gravy and mix with the food he likes.
 
Back
Top