16/06 Boomer PMBG 45, OTJ TRIAL DAY 1!!!!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58

Funny last night with the .1u insulin I wasn't even sure he had got any! Apparently he did :lol:
Hope his levels didn't go low enough last night that he bounces today.
 
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58, +3.5 50

50 at +3.5
Marje.....yesterday you mentioned that normally with cats about to go into remission you see numbers that are lower 3 hours after eating....Boomer is start to trend that way.....
 
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58, +3.5 50

:-D :-D I think 50 and 58 are pretty flat but this is a great AMBG and you'd probably worry if he went lower than 50 without insulin although many of our OTJ kitties will throw 40s and even 30s!

We're discussing what the next step is for Boomer so hold tight and one of us will post later today and what we think the next step should be.
 
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58, +3.5 50

Wonderful thanks Marje. And I know everyone will remember that Boomer doesn't play by the rules and hasn't read the protocol! :razz: :razz:
 
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58, +3.5 50 +4.5 65

what do you think about doing an official OTJ trial? Boomer's pretty much been in charge of things all along anyway! Congratulations on all the success so far, judy!!!
woot.gif


Here are the directions:

Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).

If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. It is not unusual for cats to get lots of blue during their trial, especially at first. Don't panic and don't shoot unless we tell you to.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck!
 
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58, +3.5 50 +4.5 65

Congratulations on the OTJ Trial!!!!!

Hehe....we had already discussed earlier today and decided he should start a trial but I wanted Julie to tell you since she's helped you a lot. ;-) ;-)
 
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58, +3.5 50 +4.5 65

:mrgreen: Wendy too, but i was at my computer faster than wendy! :lol:

in any case, we're always thrilled to start a trial! Probably not as thrilled as you are, judy, but still very happy. It's always a good thing when a kitty becomes diet-controlled and gets fewer pokies!
 
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58, +3.5 50 +4.5 65

OH MY you just can't imagine how thrilled I am! (actually, you probably can lol).
YES YES lets start the trial!
 
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58, +3.5 50 +4.5 65

Had to print out the instructions.....too excited to retain much!

Question already.....currently he is fed every four hours using timed bowls. Is 6 meals around 3/4 can ff each ok or should I aim for more?
 
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58, +3.5 50 +4.5 65

you want to feed him as much as it takes to help him maintain a normal, healthy weight (i think slightly skinny is probably good), and to avoid gaining weight. if he's still underweight, then he needs to gain slowly to a healthy weight.

just spread it out around the 24 hr clock so it's easy on his pancreas. 6 meals is probably fine. i would be happy with 6 meals a day! :lol:
 
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58, +3.5 50 +4.5 65

I think he's a good weight now and seems to be maintaining the weight so I guess we've hit on the right amount.

He has dropped down to 50 twice today so far (my husband is at home and testing) do I need to be concerned at all about him dropping too low?
 
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58, +3.5 50 +4.5 65

do you mean "is it a concern for typical cats?" or "is it a concern for Boomer?" :roll: :lol:

I would guess with it being 16.5 hrs since a dose of 0.1u after 3 skipped shots, he *should* be in no danger of a hypo. But Boomer . . . he just keeps writing his own rules, so i suppose i would still test and make sure he's staying flat. I've tested non-diabetic cats in the 40's, so he's probably fine. Forties are normal for a cat not getting insulin.

i would definitely keep him over 45 for at least one more cycle, just for safety.
 
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58, +3.5 50 +4.5 65

Thanks so much Julie!
I will ask my husband to continue testing today as per usual to make sure Boomer doesn't drop any further.
And starting tomorrow 2 tests per day.....unless he's blue then he'll be tested again after 3 hours.

I'm so excited I'm pretty much bouncing (again no pun intended) at work. I'm retiring at the end of next week....people are seeing my smiley face and of course presuming it's due to the retirement but today it's due to Boomer!

And I've only been on this message board for about 3 weeks I think? So so glad I was referred here by the facebook group!! :razz: :razz:
 
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58, +3.5 50 +4.5 65

it hasn't been long - but the window of opportunity is best if a cat gets tightly regulated in the first month after diagnosis. sooner is definitely better.

so your new volunteer job, post-retirement, could be to monitor the facebook group, tell people they have to get on it right away after diagnosis, and send people here! :-D There aren't enough hours in the day to give advice here and anywhere else as well!
 
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58, OTJ TRIAL DAY 1!!!!!!!

Wanted to stop by and say good luck on your OTJ trial! Go, Boomer, go!!
 
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58, OTJ TRIAL DAY 1!!!!!!!

Julie....I've already posted something on the facebook page about what has happened! :lol:
Actually....he was diagnosed back in February....one month before we were due to leave for vacation. We had no luck getting him regulated; wouldn't respond at all to the insulin. And he's very shy and wouldn't let the cat sitter test or inject him. So we started over in April when we got back and still had no luck.....

So all is not lost if remission doesn't happen within a short time of diagnosis! Really happy I was referred here and yes I would absolutely refer someone else here!
 
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58, OTJ TRIAL DAY 1!!!!!!!

Down to 43 now obviously has a bit of a depot he's using up. Gave him a bit of food and will retest to make sure he doesn't go any lower.
 
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58, OTJ TRIAL DAY 1!!!!!!!

Wow - Boomer is really making a statement today! :shock: :mrgreen: It'll be interesting to see what numbers he likes to hang out in when he's not on insulin.

Congrats on the trial! Love it that you didn't take the conventional route to get there. dancing_cat dancing_cat

Julie wrote:
Wendy too, but i was at my computer faster than wendy! :lol:
Julie - I was on the computer at 4:45 AM, but you weren't up yet (lucky you!).
 
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58, OTJ TRIAL DAY 1!!!!!!!

Congratulations on Day 1 of your OTJ trial, Judy! I've been watching Boomer's progress here, and I'm so excited to see the start of a trial. Jersey didn't want to follow the rule book right before she went into remission, either, although I don't think she was as dramatic about it as Boomer. :lol: You've done a great job with it all, though.

Julie wrote

It'll be interesting to see what numbers he likes to hang out in when he's not on insulin.

Marje wrote

....and you'd probably worry if he went lower than 50 without insulin although many of our OTJ kitties will throw 40s and even 30s!

I just wanted to chime in on what some of the others said - I have a 30s & 40s OTJ kitty. We've been OTJ for about 2 months now, and Jersey has decided that she wants to hang out in the 30s and 40s. (For those who remember us, I believe this is just another attempt at plotting my demise. ;-) ) Even after all this time, it's scary to see those numbers after it was drilled into my head that "under 50 = take action." She's doing great, though. I just say all this to try to help reassure you if Boomer decides that's where he wants to settle when all of this insulin has worked out of his system.

Again - congrats!
Shelly
 
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58, OTJ TRIAL DAY 1!!!!!!!

WHOOOOO HOOOOOOO! dancing_cat We're all dancing here, especially my civie Boomer who thinks your cat's got just about the coolest name in the universe.

So happy for you Judy. And Boomer.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 16/06 Boomer AMBG 58, OTJ TRIAL DAY 1!!!!!!!

Happy Day 1!!!!!!​

Trix doesn't follow the rules, either...she's in good company here!! She suddenly went OTJ 8 weeks ago when she developed pancreatitis...she hasn't had insulin since (I wasn't shooting because she wasn't eating, and then once she started eating, I didn't need to shoot.). She's one of those kitties who drops 3 hours after eating, so even though her "PS" numbers are usually a bit out of range, when I test her again after eating, she's just about always green. The pancreas is a funny little organ!
 
Thanks everyone for all of your best wishes and congrats! Boomer has provided us with a fair bit of stress over the last few weeks but I kept assuring my husband that (hopefully) it was short term pain for long term gain. But I couldn't have done it without everyone's help, knowledge and support!
He's staying pretty low today....maybe a bit of a depot even though he received only .1u after not having received insulin for 48 hours. Boomer has been setting his own rules all along so why should today be any different!
We've been continuing to test today because of the low numbers just to be sure he doesn't go too low. Will be testing/feeding again in about half an hour.
 
Woo-hoo! I'm so excited and happy to see you and Boomer starting a trial! Fingers and paws crossed and lots of green vines headed your way! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top