15th July - Karre AMPS 4.8/86 - Eyes on Kathy in Health

Status
Not open for further replies.
Greetings, LL!

Karre's 14th July Condo

Thanks for the great support yesterday! As unlucky timing would have it, we got up this morning, slightly bleary-eyes, and test/shot/fed *before* checking dosing feedback in yesterday's condo. (Ducking from wet noodles.) So, it'll be one last day of 0.5u. I wonder if my inner BCS subconsciously manipulated this...

Right, so, here's the BG sequence:

14th July
AMPS 4.7/85 --- Shot 0.5u
(+2) 4.4/79
(+3) 4.7/85
(+6) 5.3/95
(+10) 5.4/97
(+11) 5.3/95
PMPS 5.4/97
(+1) 4.9/88
(+2) 4.7/85
(+3) 4.6/83
15th July
AMPS 4.8/86
(+2) 4.3/77
(+3) 4.4/79

Other than the dose redux we should have had today, Karre seems to be setting up for another glitch-free day :-)

OT: There's a newbie, Kathy, on Health with her kitty Cleo. She just went through her very first Lantus-Cycle, and her vet told her to shoot 3u... Cleo dipped into the 50s. We talked her through it and are currently waiting for the (+5). She could use some eyes, please, so she can have some feedback as to the upcoming AM-cycle and the dose, if any, of Lantus that she should be giving. Her vet is pretty up on FD-treatment (except, I guess, for newbie dosing...) and even recommended FDMB to Kathy, so she's got some things going for her vettybean-wise. Vet seems not thrilled with "human metres used for testing cats", for some reason... :-) So, some vet-education still needed. Anyway, some eyes over there please, k? Thanks!

Newbie Kathy with cat Cleo's First Lantus Cycle, Dosing Help Needed for AM-cycle

Happy cycling today!
Jane
 
Hi Jane, just styopping in to say morning and what nice numbers again for Karre. Congrats on taking the reducie later today. I was just getting caught up on Cleo in Health. Good Vet except dosing. I myself am just a new convert! Have a nice morning.
 
Ann & Maggie11 said:
Hi Jane, just styopping in to say morning and what nice numbers again for Karre. Congrats on taking the reducie later today. I was just getting caught up on Cleo in Health. Good Vet except dosing. I myself am just a new convert! Have a nice morning.

Hi Ann :-) Thanks for visiting! Yes, poor Kathy got quite a road-test there on her first cycle! That 3u was unfortunate... But other than that I agree, that vet sounds promising. Hopefully willing to learn!

You're a new convert - what do you mean? Sorry, no coffee yet, brain still a bit lazy! Buzzed from the Cleo-Thread too!
Jane
 
You're a new convert - what do you mean? Sorry, no coffee yet, brain still a bit lazy! Buzzed from the Cleo-Thread too!

:-D Hi Jane, I guess we're both bleary eyed and in need of ~O) ! I explained in pm as I didn't want to hijack your condo. It was the conversion of me from AT to human meter. It takes some adjusting, but I didn't like the new AT meter and I was getting broke from the cost. The new meter is very expensive buying from the Vet, but ADW offers a good deal on it.
 
Ann & Maggie11 said:
You're a new convert - what do you mean? Sorry, no coffee yet, brain still a bit lazy! Buzzed from the Cleo-Thread too!

:-D Hi Jane, I guess we're both bleary eyed and in need of ~O) ! I explained in pm as I didn't want to hijack your condo. It was the conversion of me from AT to human meter. It takes some adjusting, but I didn't like the new AT meter and I was getting broke from the cost. The new meter is very expensive buying from the Vet, but ADW offers a good deal on it.

Ahaaa. I seeee. Geez, need coffee right now :-)
 
Update on Kathy in Health - Needs AM-Dosing Help

Kathy is getting ready for some sleepus now. Here's Cleo's BG-Sequence:
1.75hours before PMPS: BG 161
0.75 hours before PMPS: Fed.
PMPS - Not tested. --- 3u Lantus shot.
(+2.25) 84
(+3.25) 69
(+3.75) Fed tiny bit karo and 2 tsp ice cream.
(+4) 58 --- This was 12:15am Local Time.
ca. (+4.25) Fed 1/4 tsp honey and 1.5ml maple syrup.
(+4.5) 106
(+4.75) gave about 1 tbsp. ice cream
(+5) 177
(+5.5) gave 1/3 can of Purina DM
(+6) 249

Kathy is wary of shooting this coming AM-cycle. Tried to give info to help make her less worried, but she's leaving towards getting further/other vet's opinions. I'm concerned about that 3u-dose (recommended by vet...) and really think she could use some input. She uses the ReliOn Confirm meter. Vet wants her to use AlphaTrack2... Hmm... This AM-cycle is only Kathy's second-ever cycle on Lantus, so she's not quite ready with having her SS and so on, but she's really trying and did very well through this first cycle, I think. Eyes there, please, when you guys are up and about :-)

Jane
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Karre is looking great.
Thanks for all of the time you spent with Kathy last night.

We think so too! New dose tomorrow - exciting stuff! :-)

Kathy was great last night. Tough first run! That's FDMB at it's best - pulling together, helping, staying up, supporting. She's very welcome :-) I just love it when that happens with no hitches. Good stuff!!
 
Re: 15th July - Kathy's AM Dose, Surfing BG 219 at AMPS

So - I suggested feed and stall til she gets a bit of a rise. I'd still go with the 1u since it's Sunday and chances are she can watch the cycle.
Thoughts?
Jane
ETA: Kathy shot 1.0u. Total BOS, that one :-) We're there with her. Hoping for a good cycle for her. Trying to encourage setting up SS, too, since it's Sunday and all, meaning more time than during the work week.
 
Hi Jane,
WOw Karre is doing so good, just curiuos, if he is getting such great numbers
on .50 unit without going too low, why would you want reduce...
I dont think I see the logic in this?
 
dmartini4 said:
Hi Jane,
WOw Karre is doing so good, just curiuos, if he is getting such great numbers
on .50 unit without going too low, why would you want reduce...
I dont think I see the logic in this?

That's a good question, Denise. (I actually *just* posted in Shakes's condo, too!) Yes, Karre is doing beautifully. Still, we have a few reasons to think about reducing his dose:
- We know that Karre was doing fabulously OTJ for three and a half years. What brought him back was a (temporary) disease, a bout of pancreatitis. So rather than his pancreas failing "overall", as it were, we suspect that it just felt a bit weak, and we want to see if we can't coax it into working properly again.
- Karre's curves tend towards an "inverted" shape - that is, a nadir that is higher than the rest of the curve - when he is receiving too much insulin. Have a look at the three days before Karre went OTJ, on the link in our signature (Karre's BG Curves in Graphs). And in the past few days, he's shown us curves that have a higher (+6) (i.e. mid-cycle, though Karre's nadir is generally earlier - he's a bit of a weird Lantus-Kitty) than the rest of the curve. There is the *suggestion* of inversion, here and there. Which culd suggest that he's ready for a reduction.
- Also, given that Karre doesn't seem to have a complicating factor like *chronic* pancreatitis, we feel that because he has been in green/low blue numbers for quite a few days, his pancreas may have strengthened enough to need a bit less insulin.

Overall, it's our hope that we'll be able to wean him off insulin once more. There are some factors, shown by his progress, that suggest a reduction. But it's not an exact science, and how ever much we wish there were unbreakable rules, sometimes, one has to go off-book a bit :-)

Thanks for visiting, it's always lovely to see you in Karre's condo!
Jane
 
Re: 15th July - Karre AMPS 4.8/86 Numbers Update

15th July
AMPS 4.8/86 --- Shot 0.5u
(+2) 4.3/77
(+3) 4.4/79
(+6) 5.2/94
(+10) 5.3/95
(+11) 5.1/92
PMPS 5.3/95 --- Shot 0.5u

Still flat and greeeeeen. Earned his dose redux to 0.25u tomorrow morning, yay! :-)
Jane
 
That actually makes a lot of sense!
Good luck with the reduction
I hope it shows even better numbers than you are getting!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top