? 157 PMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Callie & Patches

Member Since 2016
I just tested Callie's blood before feeding her. I know 157 is too low to shoot. I hate not giving her any insulin. Would it be safe to give her 1/2 a dose? Or should I wait till tomorrow and start over? I don't want to risk her going hypo, especially at night. I could set my alarm to wake me at + 4 or 5.
 
Have you fed her? I'm sorry I don't know Vetsulin, but I read this in the Vetsulin Primer

Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines. Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin. Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value. Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise. In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine. Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher. Keep in mind that these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's reactions to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then your experience should be your guide.
 
Typically, you wait 30 minutes after feeding to give Caninsulin/Vetsulin. Re-testing when low to see if the glucose is rising is prudent, too. If you've fed, it may be safe to give a partial dose based on how low she typically goes with the dose you're giving. I'm thinking 3 units could be safe.

The other thing I'm seeing on the spreadsheet - I'm wondering if you're having a lack of duration with the Caninsulin/Vetsulin. If you test some times around +9 to +11 you may see when the insulin is wearing off.
 
I have been wondering about it not lasting as long as it should. I guess I should run a new curve tomorrow. Callie is just getting over a UTI that drove up her numbers and the vet kept telling me to raise her dose, I expected her numbers to come down when she recovered from the UTI.

I will test again and if her numbers are up, I will give 2 1/2u. I don't want her going at 1 in the morning.

She was up to 277. 2 1/2 units on board.
http://events.constantcontact.com/register/event?llr=wo8vj8cab&oeidk=a07ecxv2tryb3c086e1
 
  • Like
Reactions: BJM
Have you fed her? I'm sorry I don't know Vetsulin, but I read this in the Vetsulin Primer

Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines. Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin. Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value. Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise. In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine. Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher. Keep in mind that these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's reactions to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then your experience should be your guide.
Thank you Sharon, for putting that up. I have read it and printed it off. I just forgot.
 
Callie's BG was 161 at 1 AM (plus 6) and 243 at plus 11- also AMPS. We're doing the sugar dance as Callie's numbers go into new lows. We are doing a curve today. I was surprised at how low her numbers are since they were 400-600 just a couple of weeks ago.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top