154 AMPS lowest so far for kit. full dosing

I see that Kit did just fine on the 1U last night. Yeah!

And she bounced this morning up to the reds, after that low yesterday. Surprise, surprise, surprise. NOT.
How is Kit doing otherwise? Appetite and 5 P's (peeing, pooping, purring, preening, playing).

Shopping trip a success. All set for a while.
 
I see that Kit did just fine on the 1U last night. Yeah!

thanks for checking in on us! :kiss:

Appetite and 5 P's (peeing, pooping, purring, preening, playing).

she seems good on all fronts. she's enjoying the spring air coming thru the house and sitting in the windows chatting with the birds. this morning she was initiating play with us and her favorite toys. also she came looking for early morning cuddles!

Shopping trip a success. All set for a while.
yay!

will you be able to get out into your garden today?

^jw
 
Oh Yes! Will be out in the garden today, taking it easy but getting out. It's up to 56 degrees here.
Cold is better, allergies will kick up with all the pollen.
But I need some more fresh air, and to pick some flowers to lay on Wink's grave.
 
thanks for checking in on us! :kiss:



she seems good on all fronts. she's enjoying the spring air coming thru the house and sitting in the windows chatting with the birds. this morning she was initiating play with us and her favorite toys. also she came looking for early morning cuddles!


yay!

will you be able to get out into your garden today?

^jw
I love your documentation on your spreadsheat. Are you a medical professional?
 
Spreadsheets are for lots of things besides the BG doses and the units of insulin given.
Many people don't realize there is a tab for lab work. You do have to add columns to that lab tab, for the reference ranges for the lab your vet used, and than columns for each of the dates for your lab work and the results.

That "Remarks" column on the far right side is so, so useful and many people don't even know it's there.
I often ask people to put notes such as food fed and when that food was given, in our + hour format. If your cat has vomited, or the appetite seems off, or pooping is not normal, or a vet visit, or medications that are being given. All sorts of things can go on the SS. That type of information give us a better picture of what is happening.

It helps those of us looking at spreadsheets, giving more information to go on, when we are looking at the trends in the BG levels. Helps to give more pieces to the puzzle.

So I asked, and Jo & Jw have been fantastic about putting the food on the SS in the Remarks column.:bookworm:
 
I love your documentation on your spreadsheat. Are you a medical professional?

thanks. and no medical professionals here. just a couple of kit loving spreadsheet nerds :bookworm: with the support and encouragement of deb.

when we are looking at the trends in the BG levels. Helps to give more pieces to the puzzle.
and we are so thankful that you're good at puzzles! :bighug:
 
feeding the curve today so we can (hopefully) be good to shoot PM
wondering if she might have hit 90 earlier and we missed it :(

AMPS 360
+6 102
+7 130
 
Nice to see her getting those low blues.

If you missed it, you missed it.
If you want to try a dose reduction, you could.
But I think you are going to want to push through and stay the course of the 1.75U dose, until you see some numbers <90, in the greens.
 
Totally off topic. But I thought you'd like to see some of these. These are only a few areas of my gardens, with the chionodoxa that I and the ants have been spreading around for a decade plus.

Chionodoxa 200408 7.JPG Chionodoxa 200408 6.JPG Chionodoxa 200408 4.JPG
 

Attachments

  • Chionodoxa 200408 7.JPG
    Chionodoxa 200408 7.JPG
    243 KB · Views: 379
  • Chionodoxa 200408 6.JPG
    Chionodoxa 200408 6.JPG
    219.8 KB · Views: 383
  • Chionodoxa 200408 4.JPG
    Chionodoxa 200408 4.JPG
    227.5 KB · Views: 396
Totally off topic. But I thought you'd like to see some of these. These are only a few areas of my gardens, with the chionodoxa that I and the ants have been spreading around for a decade plus.

View attachment 52567 View attachment 52568 View attachment 52569

Beautiful Deb!! Chionodoxa definitely earns its keep. That's a very pretty belgian block walkway too! Keep the photos coming! Maybe I'll jump in with some at some point. I do have some tulips budded. Maybe this year since I have more time I will keep after the red lily beetles which have been decimating everything in the lily family for the last few years. Do you have this issue where you are? My problem with the early spring minor bulbs is that they're gone before you know it and then I forget the names and have to learn them all over again the next year.
 
Good job on feeding the curve. Kit is certainly high enough for her 1.75U dose tonight.

Yes, we have had the Red Lily Leaf Beetle here in MA for decades, since the mid 1990's at least.

I hand pick them, from my 4 stargazer lilies that were here when I moved in. But you have to be fast, and cup your hand underneath or they simply fall to the ground. I squish the larvae on the leaves. Not worth trying to grow tiger lilies here, since the beetle larvae absolutely decimate them.
 
"Feeding the curve", is feeding earlier in the cycle and not feeding much food past mid-cycle (+6) to keep the numbers a bit higher at nadir and prevent those really big drops which lead to really big bounces. The idea is to get a more broad, gentle U shape to the curve, more like a smile than a sharp V shape.

Try to picture the numbers for the cycle on a graph. My mind can see that curve shape when I look at the numbers on the SS.

Feeding the Curve (dives)


When a cat drops hard and fast, it helps to try and flatten the curve so they don't drop down too fast and then swing back up high in the second half of the cycle, > +6, because they took such a steep dive. Go take a look at Kit's SS and you will see that Kit is being fed on a front loaded schedule. This is to flatten the curve.

If a cat doesn't dive and has fairly flat cycles, they can be free fed and don't need a plan to manage the curve. But if they dive, you might want to think about dividing the number of calories/day into the two cycles and then feed mini meals on a schedule.

Most people will feed their cats the largest portion at PS, and mini-meals later. Such as at +1, +2, and +3 to control the dive. It doesn't flatten the cycle over night but patience and it does help. You will also have to see what helps your cat best. Maybe it's PS, +2, +3....and if you work, you may need to use an auto feeder.

Kit is a "champion diver", so J and J are trying to slow those steep dives and the subsequent steep rises by feeding food at different times. It's why there are such extensive notes on the SS in the remarks column. To see what impact the food is having on the cycle.

Sometimes, the drop is a bit more than desired, and Kit needs a bit more food to bring the BG levels up like on 3/27 and 3/28 AM cycles.
 
"Feeding the curve", is feeding earlier in the cycle and not feeding much food past mid-cycle (+6) to keep the numbers a bit higher at nadir and prevent those really big drops which lead to really big bounces. The idea is to get a more broad, gentle U shape to the curve, more like a smile than a sharp V shape.

Try to picture the numbers for the cycle on a graph. My mind can see that curve shape when I look at the numbers on the SS.

Feeding the Curve (dives)


When a cat drops hard and fast, it helps to try and flatten the curve so they don't drop down too fast and then swing back up high in the second half of the cycle, > +6, because they took such a steep dive. Go take a look at Kit's SS and you will see that Kit is being fed on a front loaded schedule. This is to flatten the curve.

If a cat doesn't dive and has fairly flat cycles, they can be free fed and don't need a plan to manage the curve. But if they dive, you might want to think about dividing the number of calories/day into the two cycles and then feed mini meals on a schedule.

Most people will feed their cats the largest portion at PS, and mini-meals later. Such as at +1, +2, and +3 to control the dive. It doesn't flatten the cycle over night but patience and it does help. You will also have to see what helps your cat best. Maybe it's PS, +2, +3....and if you work, you may need to use an auto feeder.

Kit is a "champion diver", so J and J are trying to slow those steep dives and the subsequent steep rises by feeding food at different times. It's why there are such extensive notes on the SS in the remarks column. To see what impact the food is having on the cycle.

Sometimes, the drop is a bit more than desired, and Kit needs a bit more food to bring the BG levels up like on 3/27 and 3/28 AM cycles.

Well I guess that's what happened today to him....He was 260 at PMPS and already up to 411...There is no way I would be able to do a auto feeder with two cats it wont ever work, I would never know who is eating the food, Emma or Brady. I am going to go get another meter to see if they compare. I know the BG goes up at feeding, but once we get back to work its going to have to be the feeding schedule we have for them now, there is no way around it, I wish there was. I hope this schedule will work or I guess I will never be able to help our Brady out with this disease, its so hard. We are trying so hard. I wish this was easier not so much for me and my wife, but for our Brady
 
With the Prozinc MPM (Modified Prozinc Method) dosing protocol, you can shoot a number >150 no problem.

You have been learning to "feed the curve" and can monitor. No sweat, you got this.

And hopefully you "got" power back soon.
 
With the Prozinc MPM (Modified Prozinc Method) dosing protocol, you can shoot a number >150 no problem.

You have been learning to "feed the curve" and can monitor. No sweat, you got this.

And hopefully you "got" power back soon.

Hi Deb! We haven't seen you around today, so thanks for popping in! We had high winds and rain today, so saying adios to a lot of the beautiful flowering tree blooms. We did get our power back. Kit spent this rainy gloomy day under blankets. I continued with my jigsaw- no gardening or walking today! Joji
 
Very windy and rainy here too. Lots of power outages, in the surrounding area. About 86,000 people in Massachusetts without power.

I've been trying to reorganize my kitchen cabinets and food storage today, and see what I need more of and what needs to be used up soonest. Labeling boxes and containers of foodstuffs with a black Sharpie marker, so I can see the expiration dates better. Aging eyes are tough on seeing that really tiny print on food packages.

No flowering trees here yet. Forsythia is flowering, Virburnum farreri too, but that is it so far. Still several weeks to a month away before the shrubs like cherry and viburnum and deutzia and enkiantus and clethra leaf out and flower. Oak leaf hydrangeas don't even start to leaf out here, until the middle to end of May.

Trees such as oak and hickory aren't flowering yet either. End of April, beginning of May and then they will leaf out after that.
 
Down in the village along the Hudson where I live, Magnolias, cherries and crabapples have been beautiful this year. A 10 minute drive away, straight up at an elevation of 1100 feet it's a whole different climate, so I typically get to experience 2 springs every year- one at home and one at work. With this evil virus, I'm so far missing my second spring. I'm really antsy to be planting sweet peas and weaving willow.

We've been ordering food delivered at home for weeks now because we haven't trusted the grocery store protocols or the shoppers. I think everyone has gotten better so may go back to shopping soon. In the meantime we've also had a lot of juggling of food items!

I hear you with reading tiny print! You should see me when I'm dosing the syringe and even to see the BG blood drop forming, I have readers on and on top of them I wear a jeweler's magnifier!
 
Back
Top