15/2/15 Lucy AMPS 250 +4 173 +8 106 +10 97 PMBG 101 +1 92

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think Lucy might be heading for one of her long surfs again. When I used to delay giving insulin past +12 due to anxiety about dosing at lower glucose levels and waiting for the glucose levels to rise before dosing, Lucy used to surf in blue numbers anywhere up to 20 hours after a dose. Now I have a dilemma because I am nowhere ready yet despite my great progress yesterday to give Lucy insulin when she has green numbers as I am gradually reducing the glucose levels I will dose at. Yesterday I gave Lucy her insulin when her glucose was 160 and we got to 3.4/61. I doubt that Lucy's glucose will be high enough for me to comfortably give her insulin by +12. The issue is complicated in that I have to leave the house very early in the morning so her PM dose will be in full effect when I am going out so I don't feel comfortable to do that. What to do? Give a reduced dose if glucose is not at a level I feel comfortable at the moment to dose or wait till the glucose rises a bit and then dose? A family member will be here at home tomorrow but they can't home test.
 
How many hours from now until you leave the house? and how long is that past shot time. And how long will you be gone? I'm just wondering if it's time to delay the PM dose enough so that it becomes a regular AM dose again. Like you, I'd hate to hinder the progress she's made lately.
 
Thank you Wendy. If I dose on time it would be right at nadir when I go out and I don't feel ready to do that yet. In one way if Lucy continues to surf at good numbers I could let her do so and then when the numbers rise I could give her insulin then. The depot would deplete a bit but we would get back on track again. Then again we could have a sudden rise in numbers and I would dose as normal then. It would be a matter of delaying the PM dose a bit so it might then as you said become the AM dose.
 
Last edited:
Of course as I am learning when people dose at lower numbers often the glucose levels stay about the same. But for me I can only do that if I gradually work towards it or do it when I will be home to closely monitor Lucy and I won't be able to do that after the next dose.
 
Do you have an autofeeder? Since you haven't got much data with her this low, I think the delay may be best. If you have a feeder, you can always load it with food for mid cycle, just to make sure she's safe. If not, you probably have to freeze some cat food with water, to make catsickles to put out and thaw later if she needs it.
 
Yes I have decided to delay the PM dose unless the numbers are high enough for me to be comfortable with dosing. I don't have much data with Lucy having such low numbers at almost dose time. I have two automatic feeders and when I am out I also leave frozen food in bowls sitting on plates of ice to stay cool and leave the icam on too. :) My family member will be here though so Lucy will get fed several times.
 
Last edited:
According to my calculations that green at +10 must have been taken before 7pm your time, which means her shot is due earlier than 9pm. In which case she'll be well past nadir by the time you're leaving in the morning. Maybe you can keep the roll going with tonight's dose? sounds like you'll have to delay tomorrow's anyway if you're leaving early.
 
Thank you Serryn. We are still cruising along at about 5/90 past PMPS. I have to leave before the birds get up and I have a long drive and so the other reason is if I gave Lucy insulin now I would not sleep and as you know I suffer with a chronic health issue which causes severe fatigue. So I am weighing everything up and I am delaying tonight's dose and then decide what to do when the glucose levels rise a bit. I don't have the energy or the bravery for the BOS award tonight. :)
 
Yes I would have had to delay either tonight's PM dose or tomorrow morning's AM dose.
 
Ah yes, the sleep thing! If you haven't shot it's a PMBG not a PMPS (blood glucose, rather than pre-shot) - I got all excited for a minute there when I read your subject line ;)

ETA - so excited I forgot who I was logged in as!
 
Ah yes, the sleep thing! If you haven't shot it's a PMBG not a PMPS (blood glucose, rather than pre-shot) - I got all excited for a minute there when I read your subject line ;)

ETA - so excited I forgot who I was logged in as!
I am laughing thinking of you so excited that I gave Lucy her insulin while she is in green numbers at PMPS :D. Thank you for letting me know about the PMBG too. I had hoped that Lucy's glucose might go up by now so I could give her the PM dose but she was lower at almost +14 than she was at +10 though not by much. So with Lucy in green numbers I have decided to go to bed. I am the only person who can test Lucy's glucose and give her insulin so I have to look after myself too. Like they say when the plane is going down put your own oxygen mask on first if you are going to help others :). Thank you Serryn. You are a great person and I appreciate your support and kindness too. One day I will get that BOS award you will see :cool:. :):bighug:
 
I nearly fell off my chair Voula! I wish I had seen the look on my face I think I'd still be laughing now!!! Hope you're having a good sleep :)
 
I nearly fell off my chair Voula! I wish I had seen the look on my face I think I'd still be laughing now!!! Hope you're having a good sleep :)
Sleep is but an interruption to blood glucose testing. :) I am up after a short sleep as I drank too much water before bed :). So I took the opportunity to do a blood glucose test as you do :D:cool:. It was 8.9/160. Our lovely vet emailed last night to say she was really happy that we are having success and advised a very small dose for the PM dose which became the AM dose at +17 so that Lucy would have some insulin until the next dose so that is what I did. I hope you are having a good sleep too and dreaming of Purrdy's run of green numbers from the increased dose. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top