? 15/12 Polly AMPS 116, +2 212, +4 182, +6 132,PMPS 87

Polly Pitcham

Member Since 2022
Hello! I gave Polly her morning shot, even though she had BG 116,cause i understood it was the right thing to do. (?) ( I 'm a bit worried about how low she will get.) Am i going too fast or too high dosage? Her depot is still filling? -we started Lantus a week ago-.
TodayI can test her BG until +7 and then I'll be back home before the evening shot. Is she in danger for hypo after +7? Should i lower the dosage if she gets too low? (I can't follow TR approach, since i have to be away from home and can not monitor her closely.) I really need some advice. I'm confused. Thank you.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/14-12-polly-amps-303-3-220-pmps-239.271852/
 
So it sounds like you want to follow SLGS. The depot has been built and this dose is working for her. You will hold this dose unless her bg drops under 90 for another week. If she drops under 90 is when you would take reduction. With SLGS you hold the dose for a week and do a curve on day 7. If you continue to test as much as you are you will not need a curve as we can see the nadir. She had a very nice cycle today. You don’t need to worry about her having a hypo when you leave. Normal bg is 50-100. I will link SLGS guidelines for you.
 
So it sounds like you want to follow SLGS. The depot has been built and this dose is working for her. You will hold this dose unless her bg drops under 90 for another week. If she drops under 90 is when you would take reduction. With SLGS you hold the dose for a week and do a curve on day 7. If you continue to test as much as you are you will not need a curve as we can see the nadir. She had a very nice cycle today. You don’t need to worry about her having a hypo when you leave. Normal bg is 50-100. I will link SLGS guidelines for you.
Hi Elise! Polly will earn a reduction if she drops under 90 at any point during the AM or PM cycle? Is that correct? I'm asking this question because I talked with Polly's mum and I just want to clarify this part.

In the SLGS method how low can she shoot?
 
Hi Elise! Polly will earn a reduction if she drops under 90 at any point during the AM or PM cycle? Is that correct? I'm asking this question because I talked with Polly's mum and I just want to clarify this part.

In the SLGS method how low can she shoot?
Yes. Any drop under 90 is a reduction using SLGS. She won’t shoot if under 90. If lower than usual and not able to monitor she has options. She can skip, shoot a token dose of about 25%. She can also stall without food and retest in 20-30 minutes to see if on the way up. If high enough to shoot it’s better not to stall because sometimes without food they continue to drop. She can always feed higher lc or mc when she needs to leave and leave food out.
 
Yes. Any drop under 90 is a reduction using SLGS. She won’t shoot if under 90. If lower than usual and not able to monitor she has options. She can skip, shoot a token dose of about 25%. She can also stall without food and retest in 20-30 minutes to see if on the way up. If high enough to shoot it’s better not to stall because sometimes without food they continue to drop. She can always feed higher lc or mc when she needs to leave and leave food out.
Perfect! Thanks Elise!
 
So it sounds like you want to follow SLGS. The depot has been built and this dose is working for her. You will hold this dose unless her bg drops under 90 for another week. If she drops under 90 is when you would take reduction. With SLGS you hold the dose for a week and do a curve on day 7. If you continue to test as much as you are you will not need a curve as we can see the nadir. She had a very nice cycle today. You don’t need to worry about her having a hypo when you leave. Normal bg is 50-100. I will link SLGS guidelines for you.
PMPS 87. How much should i reduce??
 
Reduce by .25. With SLGS you don't shoot under 90. Can you test again? Canyon be off schedule? You would need to shoot in 11 1/2 hours at the earliest. If not skip. If yes, get another test and post it.
 
So it sounds like you want to follow SLGS. The depot has been built and this dose is working for her. You will hold this dose unless her bg drops under 90 for another week. If she drops under 90 is when you would take reduction. With SLGS you hold the dose for a week and do a curve on day 7. If you continue to test as much as you are you will not need a curve as we can see the nadir. She had a very nice cycle today. You don’t need to worry about her having a hypo when you leave. Normal bg is 50-100. I will link SLGS guidelines for you.
Thank you!
 
Reduce by .25. With SLGS you don't shoot under 90. Can you test again? Canyon be off schedule? You would need to shoot in 11 1/2 hours at the earliest. If not skip. If yes, get another test and post it.
Thank you! I tested again (cause i had to be away for a while) and she was low (82) so i desided to skip. If i understand correctly , tomorrow's dose should be 0,25u lower, is it right?
 
Reduce by .25. With SLGS you don't shoot under 90. Can you test again? Canyon be off schedule? You would need to shoot in 11 1/2 hours at the earliest. If not skip. If yes, get another test and post it.
I skipped and it seems it was the right thing to do. She is still low ( 2 hours later). I 'll reduce the dose tomorrow . Thank you!
 
Back
Top