15-12 Djoko amps 340

Marj & Djoko

Member Since 2020
vhttps://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/14-12-djoko-amps-306-pmps-337.271859/#post-3025427

Yes, I read that steroids can elevate BG but thought it was only when oral (as opposed to drops in his ear). You think drops in one ear could do such a difference?


I will increase every 3 days as per TR protocol.

He has been having a brown discharge in his left year. I consulted in Sept and they said it was yeast infection. He got antibiotics but did no clear up entirely.
I went back on Dec 8 and they switched medication. I do not think his higher BG is related to the ear infection as it has been ongoing and his BG was in normal range.

Very bad for his kidneys, having CKD.

Thanks Elise.
 
Does that suggest that yeast infection may be a consequence of DM? Should I just stoo the medication?

I asked his vet and she said it may be stress induced bc of the medication. I strongly disagree. I have been giving him medication for the last 3 years and it never affected his BG.

I am tempted to stop the treatment and see what happens.

HIs vet also thinks that it cannot be the ear medication but that is the only new element.
 
Yes I did.
I found this part interesting and could apply to Djoko: He has IBD but he is fed renal support to tackle his CKD.

he presence of yeast dermatitis on cat is always due to an underlying disease or trigger. There are several breeds of cats that are predisposed to yeast overgrowth (e.g. Devon Rex cats, Himalayan). Cats with systemic illnesses such as feline leukemia, feline immunodeficiency virus, diabetes mellitus, or neoplasia may be presented, not for the underlying disease, but rather for clinical signs associated with yeast overgrowth. Overgrowth of yeast is a common complication of cats with diabetes mellitus. One of the most common causes of yeast overgrowth in cats is allergic skin disease due to environmental allergies, food intolerances, and/or flea allergy dermatitis.

It is important to remember that yeast overgrowth is often associated with concurrent overgrowth of bacteria and treatment for both may be needed. In addition, of an underlying disease is recurrent yeast overgrowth.

**

Is it what you were highlighting?
 
I will stop the ear medication, It has been a week. It does not seem that bad and I want to know if this is the cause of high BG.
How long do you think it can stay in his body? I hope the cause is this medication otherwise, it may be his tumor pressing on something or acting out.
:(
 
Back
Top