? 15/08 AMPS 18.5 need advise

Colleen & Pantera

Member Since 2020
My boys BG is not changing. From no insulin up to now 3.25u still the same. Could he be insulin resistant this time round? How far do I increase if nothing is happening or do I need to start decreasing. I stayed up this week and took over night readings. I also moved time of dosing half hr forward. Starting to get really stressed over this. Any words of wisdom. Thanks Colleen
 
There’s nothing to suggest that he needs less insulin. You just have t reached the breakthrough dose yet. There probably is some insulin resistance so you just need to keep increasing ac or sing to TR until you break through.
 
Thank you. It’s just that when I look back at last time it scares me. He is on this dose with lower carb food. But like tiffmaxee says maybe he is a bit resistant this time. Does anyone think the size of the syringe needle could effect the dose? I use 6mm and he is fighting me every time
 
I use syringes that have 5/16 inch needles or about 8 mm so they are longer than yours, but the 2 mm should not make much of a difference in dose. It's also hard to know what is happening with few mid-cycle tests. If you did tests at night this past week they're not on your spreadsheet. Your US spreadsheet is also not showing anything past April of this year. You might want to start a 2021 tab and move everything over. Maybe @Bandit's Mom can help you do that?
 
Colleen --

I'm a little confused. If you're following TR, you're holding the dose longer than the protocol stipulates. You want to evaluate the dose after 6 cycles/3 days and if the numbers aren't in the range you want, you increase the dose. You were at 3.0u for 8 cycles, the same for 2.5u, and 12 cycles at 2.25u. It's possible that this is glucose toxicity or, like Elise said, you need to increase the dose. I'd really encourage you to stick with the protocol especially since it's harder to get a cat back into remission a second time.
 
Sienne and Gabby, ok I was told between 6-10 cycles so I will increase it after 3 days now. 6 cycles.
Thankyou.
Also I am not sure why my SS isn't updating in the US section I am not good with tabs and moving it over so I might need some help with this @Bandit's Mom would be great.
Thankyou
 
Back
Top