15/08/14 bailey uk amps 547, pm +10 139 a bouncy boy!

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123322

what a very bouncy boy I have!
firstly ive had to reduce food due to bailey being a fatty bum bum which is obviously not good for him and 2 not helping the diabetes so I reduced dose by .25. we had our usual day of reds and pinks which happens MOST times when I change dose even to lower it!
the last couple of days he seems to have nadirs around the +9/10 point. I had to go out for about 3 hours yesterday after leaving him on a 194 but then came home to an amps of 547. I couldn't believe it!! the day before hed bounced to 421. is there anything I can do to stop the bouncing or is it just bailey and we have to deal with it! :roll:
edited to say his neuropathy has completely healed (I keep forgetting to tell you guys this) which is a huge sign were on top of things!! if I could just stop this bouncing :-(
 
Hi Anna, there are a couple of reasons cats bounce. If they drop quickly, more than 50 or so points an hour, that can cause a bounce. If you see that happening you can feed a little higher carb food to slow them down a bit and perhaps avoid that type of bounce. The other type of bounce is due to seeing numbers lower than they are used to and the only way to reduce those is to get them spending more time in good numbers so they get used to it.

I'm not sure I would have lowered Bailey's dose just because you are feeding less. I would wait until the numbers told you he needs less insulin. That would help him spend more time in good numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top