14 yr old With high blood pressure just diagnosed

Status
Not open for further replies.
It is completely overwheming at first, but the more you learn, the more confident you become.

We have a protocol that has worked for thousands of cats. We suggest a mild, long lasting insulin like Lantus, Levemir or ProZinc. We feed a wet low carb diet. But before considering a diet change, we'd urge you to start testing your cat's blood glucose levels at home. We treat our 4 legged children the same as we would our 2 legged ones and keep track of their process, testing before each shot and midcycle.

I'd do a lot of reading on the Health and Nutrition threads on the Main Forum page. Ask questions. Let us know how we can help. Everyone who replies to you is paying it forward for help they received.
 
Hello wrwk!

Welcome to FDMB! :smile:

Hope we can alll help you out, get this under control and less stressful.

Have you changed to the lower carb foods yet?

Have you started insulin yet or home testing? If not, what was his number at the vets office?

What meds are you giving for the high bp?

Any questions ask will help!
 
Hi

I am a newbie here to and totally understand where you are coming from. Just take some time to read the links and the kind folks here will help you beyond measure

Hugs

Sarah and remi
 
I put him on wet low carb over the weekend, giving spoonfuls as often as he asks for them. I have to give the HBP meds in a gel cap, once a day. His non-fasting glucose last Monday was 420, and his prodnisome (sp) was 676. I dont want to go to insulin, but my heart and my husband both are hesitant to just euthanize him immediately...
 
It's amazing how fast insulin shots and testing become part of your routine. We have cats here in remission, cats who have been regulated for months and cats who are happy and healthy after years of regulation. Diabetes is not a death sentence; it is a fairly easy disease to treat and best treated at home. We will be very happy to help you learn the basics. Even with the high blood pressure, you can give him a good life.

A bg level of 420, even accounting for stress if the number was taken at the vet's office, is a diabetic number. If I were you, I would give the wet low carb diet a few more days, but in the meantime, learn to take his blood glucose levels at home. Then you have a clear picture of how the diet has helped and whether he is still in diabetic numbers. Once you start insulin, then you will be able to keep in safe numbers by testing his levels before each shot and midcycle to see how low the insulin takes him.

Would you be interested in learning how to test at home?
 
I was just looking at the additional monitoring tools document - I have a monitor from a friend but it's faulty (registers E all the time) and I dont know if I can prick his ear! I even used to work for my vet, and could do this for anyone else's cat, but this is amazingly hard for me to contemplate!
 
Get a working, inexpensive meter such as the WalMart ReliOn Confirm, Confirm Micro, or Prime, matching test strips, and 26-28 gauge lancets.

Before you test your cat, practice a bit.
Practice on fruit - apples, grapes, etc to get a feel for it.
Test on your self.
This will take care of some of your nervousness.
Now you're ready to start working with your cat.

Get some low carb treats, such as plain freeze-dried meat or poultry.
Set up your testing area - a half bathroom works well to confine the wiggly cat.
Condition/train your cat - the first few times, go in the bathroom with the cat, say "Test time", sit down with the cat on your lap, massage the ears a bit, give the low carb treat, release the cat and open the door.

Take a thorough look at the ear. See the vein along the outer edge? You will use the lancet to make a small prick between the vein and the edge of the ear.
Push the test strip part way in the meter.
Brace the ear with a folded tissue, prick the ear, and snag the droplet on a clean fingernail.
Blot the ear with one hand while you push the strip all the way in.
Touch the absorbing edge of the strip to the droplet.
Record the results in your spreadsheet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top