14 year old grey boy, newly diagnosed.

kelsmthom

Member Since 2026
Hello everyone. Im Kelsey and Im new to the forum. Another worried cat mum with a poorly boy.

Sorry in advance about the rants you're about to read. I appreciate any efforts and advice you guys may have for us.

My cat Biff, is a 14 year old boy newly diagnosed with diabities (he is showing signs of nuropathy). I have been scanning the forums ever since and everyones advice to others have helped me tremendously but I havent stopped panicking, Im tired and frustrated and I hate seeing my boy this way

Ive had the same issue with the vet as everyone has seemed to have.

Biff is on caninsulin and the vet told me not to worry about home testing for first few doses and he'dbe okay. I already suspected diabities so Id already ordered the monitor and it was out for delivery the next day.

So, I told my vet no from the get go and that I'd test at home. (Nice try, overpriced needle man)

Also because I was tight for money and knew thyroid could also be an issue I asked for bloods first, then if clear we'd do thyroid. The vet insisted it was thyroid even though he had more signs of diabities than the former!

I got charged for thyroid, only to be told it was clear, have to scrounge quickly for the blood test money the same day because I was panic stricken, only for him to confirm 10 mintes later on the phone (he probably already had the results in front of him) that he was in fact diabetic and I had been right and paid an extra 60 pounds for no reason.. I could have thrown my phone at a wall.

I also tried to refuse for a nurse consultation because Im well aware of how to inject Biff only for them to say they couldnt release the meds unless I brought him back down.

I had to haul my poorly boy back to the vets, which stressed him out more, only for a nurse to take 2 minutes to show me what I already knew, jab him with saline for no reason and cause further trauma for him.

So, not only was I was charged unnecessarily for two services but that second vet trip changed Biff's behaviour and I mean, the day before he was urinating alot with his bad legs and stuff but personality was completely fine. After second trip to vet, it was as if I brought another feline home.

He's now suddenly terrified of my boyfriend even though he adores him usually; before that second vet visit he'd be all over him, now by the way Biff is acting, you'd think my boyfriend had been the one to have taken him to the vet and not me cos he hates him now!

Biff's attitude has switched and he's petrified of him, he acts like he doesn't even know who he is which has put a wedge between them.

My partner is getting frustrated, never towards Biff but just in the general. This doesn't help Biff and we're beginning to bicker.

I understand my boyfriends frustration because of the broken sleep, the constant meowing and now they're not bonding so the relatio ship has been changed completely (Biff and I moved in with the boyf 6 months ago, so they have a new relationship and my boyfriend obviously isnt as attached to Biff as I am so has less patience and understanding with it)

This is adding so much stress to me because I understand Biff is being frustrating but hes uncomfortable and not very well so Im getting snappier because Id lose a week of sleep if it meant Biff was comfortable for even a few hours!

He's also developed another habit of where he has to scratch obsessively around his water where he paws and drags at it until its tipping over. He will do this until you click your fingers at him or say his name... Ive tried ignoring him and he does it louder and louder— some days Ive come home and his water is knocked over (not empty because water is everywhere) and this has happened several times which leads me to believe it's an obsessive compulsive thing that he seems to be doing regardless if we're here or not.

Ive digressed with the behavioural details but Im hoping someone may have advice for that too, now back to the terrible vet trip....

Biff was prescribed caninsulin and by the grace of God, I lost his first round of meds on the way home. Surprisngly this turned out to be lucky because the vet told me to just jab him with 2 units without testing. Because I had lost the first round of meds, I had to go down the next day to get another (Im about to sell the clothes on my back at this point to gather more money) meaning he had to start his meds a day later.

The monitor arrived same day I collected the new meds and I administerd as guided.

As I said, luckily I had clumsily lost his first vial because his dose was too high and he almost had a hypo.

I wasnt feeling comfortable with my vet at this point, so I went off the advice on here.

I reduced his meds to 1 unit but did it in .5 doses in slow drops however now I realise they could have been slower and I changed his food (vet told me kibble Purina, which I bought only to see advice on here and change to wet food which has helped a lot but I cant afford the really expensive pate mentioned, so he's currently on a cheaper version, carbs are 5% but its gravy so Ill be changing it to pate once these pouches are over)

Ive also mentioned to my vet after this that the kibble is a bad recommendation but he insists it isnt... hm yea okay buddy boy, is that your fat wad of cash in your pocket or are you just happy to see me? 🤔🧐

ANYWAY— He got a lot better, but was still reaching high numbers. He is usually never under 300, nadir was lowering to 90 then he'd bounce which I knew was expected.

Kept on this dose, his numbers still read high so I contacted my vet and we came up with a plan.

He is now increased back to 1.5, I think he's probably going to need more increases but maybe the first load of 2 units was too much and he just needed a slower approach.

However he's still hungry, in pain with his legs, urinating and restless. Ive told my vet I want Lantus but he insists Vansulin is the correct protocol and on his next check up will give me a 3 month prescription of it.

My issue is, I dont want to waste Biff's time on crappy meds if it wont make him better, Id rather try the other medicaton for the 3 month prescription rather than find out a vial or two in that he needed different medication anyway.

He has 20 odd days left of caninsulin until another consultation and then prescription fee, after the 3 month I can move to 6 months so I really want to get him stablised in the 3 months with the right medication.

Surely if caninsulin didnt work in these 30 odd days, a new approach would be better?

Biff weighs 3.56kg, he's eating and drinking but Im so worried about DKA Im not sleeping, he's pacing and drinking and weeing and Im awake constantly. Its either me following him or him following me at this point and I cant cope.

Im so tired, and Im starting to get frustrated at him for meowing, or knocking his water over on purpose because he constantly wants my attention— I know he's in pain and uncomfortable and I feel absolutely helpless!

I will be doing the chart thing for you guys soon but here's the notes Id been taking for his bloods. It's currently almost 4am, I knew if I didnt post this now Id be distracted later so I thought Id get this down now and Ill update test later on this evening.

Will Vanuslin be okay to try out for 3 months if I work with you guys for his dosages rather than the vet?

My vet said he'd be happy to change after 3 months to something else but swears by this drug and that it's one of the best to use for diabities in animals but then he also swore that Biff had a thyroid problem and Purina kibble was good for diabities so you can see my trust issue... the vet had also looked and handled Biff like he'd never seen a cat before and going to another vet will only cost more for a hit and miss of whether they'll be any good for Biff or not.

Im so sorry for the rant, to be honest I started typing and then couldn't stop... that's the first time I think Ive ranted about everything so I appreciate this platform for being so open for people to express themselves and be supported.

I hope to hear of you guys soon, I'll get onto my profile and charts etc later on today—

Ive also bought him vitamins including B12 and other vitamins to help with his neuropathy. The vet recommended feeding twice a day but I think that's cruel for a cat, so Ive just been feeding him his food throughout the day and evening, mostly focusing meals around his injections.

Here's the info:

Prescribed 2 units x2 daily

555 - Breakfast & AM insulin @ 8AM 2 UNITS (20g of diabetic food)
561 - 1 hour after insulin
527 - 2 hours after insulin
544 - 3 hours after insulin
680 - 4 hours after insulin
Nadir - 59 5 hours after insulin
628
554 - Food & PM insulin @ 8PM 2 UNITS
591 2 hours after insulin

380 - Breakfast & AM insulin @ 8AM 2UN
584 - 2 hours after breakfast
27 - Nadir 5 hours after insulin (was slightly lethargic, quiet but was mobile— offered dab of honey to gum and fingerfull of boiled chicken, eager to eat.)
586 - 20 minutes after snack
INSULIN REDUCED @ 8PM 1.5 UNIT
636 - 1 hour after food
545 - 3 hours after food
363 - Nadir 5 hours after food
495 - 6 hours after food

Mood improved, activity improved and interaction increased.

204 - Breakfast and insulin @ 8am reduced to 1 UNITS
658 - 1 hours after food
607 - 2 hours after food
554 - Nadir 5 hours after food
474 - 9 hours after food, seemed overly hungry— fed pinch of chicken.
327 - 5 minutes before food & insulin @ 8pm 1 UNITS
609 - 2 hours after food

294 - Before breakfast & insulin 1 UNITS (NEW FOOD INTRODUCED)
518 - 3 hours after food
Rest of 10g breakfast given +4
233 - Nadir at 5 hours
622 - 6 hours
603 - 10 hours after insulin
Seems overly hungry, given 10g of his 20g evening meal @ 18:45
320 before meal and insulin, insulin @ 8pm 1 UNIT

370 before meal and insulin, insulin @ 8am 1 UNIT
543 - 3 hours after food
564 - 5 hours after food
368 - Nadir
660 -
689 - before meal and insulin, insulin @ 8pm 1 UNIT
610 - 2 hours after food

327 - before breakfast & insulin (Had to feed old kibble, run out of wet food)
591 - 2 hours after breakfast
304 - Nadir
Half pouch of new wet food given
115 - 2 hours after pouch
197 - 4 hours after pouch
Half of pouch of wet food given (little **** tricked into another snack)
492 - before PM insulin shot

330 - Before breakfast and insulin
689 - 2 hours after
Nadir - 99
723 - seemed to have bounced 9 hours later
519 - before food and insulin
197 - 4 hours after food
Nadir - 97
Accidentally missed evening jab because Im a terrible cat mother.

Hi
565
Hi
551
596
Hi
563
473 Nadir
551

INCREASE TO 1.5 units
AM: Hi
2 hours after insulin – 563
473 Nadir
551 - 2 hours after insulin
517 - 4 hours after insulin
482 - Nadir
499
535

This is what I have so far, thank you again from me and Biff for anyone or everyone that'll help me.

Here's the prince himself from kitten to OAP:

1000032915.jpg
1000025779.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 1000025779.jpg
    1000025779.jpg
    7.9 MB · Views: 33
  • 1000032915.jpg
    1000032915.jpg
    161.2 KB · Views: 22
Last edited:
Welcome to FDMB
Biff is beautiful, I am so sorry your vet has been giving you so much controversy, for starters, Caninsulin is a dog insulin it hits Biff hard and fast, the best insulin for cats are ProZinc and Latus they are a 12-hour insulin easy on the cat, the situation with the water bow, I experienced it with Corky, I had the same thought a new habit, it was not, he would stay by the side of the water bowl all day, throw the water out meow in front of it had no idea about Feline diabetes, when one day I picked him up all of the sudden he felt like a feather, he had just gone to the vet the month prior for his rabies shot he weighted 16.5, I placed him on my scale, he had lost 8.5lbs, I rushed to the emergency hospital, they thought it was a something to do to his bladder it was very very swollen, they did Xrays and found out it was full of water, the reason he had this behavior was that the diabetes begs for water, if it doesn't fit, they get frustrated, Biff's numbers are extremely high, he's not comfortable, plus he is very stressed out from so many vet visits, cats are very sensitive to stress, and also, when tested at the vets because of stress, his levels will be higher than reality, causing for a possible dose increase. and you are right about the Purina kibble, this food is not only expensive, but 20-30% carbs, and you are right the Vet is "very happy to see you" perhaps the wet food you are giving that you say is 5% carbs, but it has gravy there are very few wet gravy foods that are low in carbs most as between 16-24% dry carb mater, which is the right carb content, below is a UK approved Drs food list, there are many brands and flavors to choose from
A diabetic cat needs to have a diet of wet can or raw foods between 0-10% carbs, I am glad you insisted on home testing, especially with Caninsulin that hits fast an hard in a cat, if diabetes is all he has, you can manage this here and save your lbs, with the home testing low carb foods, if you would like us to help you we are very numbers oriented, so to all member to be on the same page, we would like you to create your signature and Biff's spreadsheet, where you will put all those BG numbers in it, we can help you save your money and Biff's pancreas and regulate him and he will start to feel better


Food Info for UK

Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
 
Kelsey --

Welcome to you and Biff to FDMB!

First question -- are you in the UK? If so, I want to tag a member who's there and can offer some guidance specific to products that are available there. Most of the membership here is in the US so recommendations may not always be relevant.

For example, for many years, vets in the UK were required to first prescribe Caninsulin. That has changed. They now have the option to prescribe Prozinc which is a far better insulin than Caninsulin for treating feline diabetes. The issue with Caninsulin is that it tends to drop numbers hard and fast which then triggers a bounce, something you've already noted. In addition, it does not last for the full 12-hours of an insulin cycle. It poops out so by the next shot time, numbers are high again. Prozinc and Lantus (glargine) are the two insulins that are more gentle and last at least 12 hours.

I would strongly encourage you to find low carbohydrate treats. Many people here use a freeze dried protein (e.g., chicken). Have your boyfriend give Biff treats. You shouldn't be providing the treats. You're boyfriend needs to regain Biff's trust even though he wasn't the person who caused the issue with your kitty. If there are other sorts of treats, like deli meat, chicken breast, etc. that's fine. Anything that is protein has zero to very low carbs.

I'd also ask your vet what he thinks the amount of carbs are in the dry food he's recommending. He's likely clueless. With very few exceptions, dry food is very high in carbs. There's also no need to feed a diabetic cat a "prescription" diet. There's nothing in prescription diabetic food that is relevant to treating diabetes. You want a canned food that is less than 10% carbs (and most members here feed their cat a diet that is roughly 5% carbs). In the US, the cat food manufacturers lost a class action lawsuit for calling most of their prescription foods "prescription." It is misleading and inaccurate advertising.

I'm also amazed that your vet didn't run a blood panel that included thyroid and blood glucose. This didn't need to be done separately. These tests are commonly included in a "senior panel." (Sorry -- 14yo is old enough for Biff to be a senior.)

If Biff has developed neuropathy, you want to find a source for methylcobalamin. This is a form of vitamin B-12. It's also called methyl B-12. A health food store or an online source will have it. You mix it in to your cat's food. It's very helpful for treating diabetic neuropathy. (FYI - you do NOT want cyanocobalamin. It's not as effective.)

In the link to the How You Can Help Us Help You post that Maria linked above are instructions for setting up your/Biff's spreadsheet and signature. We use a spreadsheet to keep track of the kitty's progress. It would be very helpful if you could put the data you provided into the spreadsheet form. There's also information on setting up your signature. This provides us with some basic information about Biff so we don't keep asking the same questions. You also should include a link to Biff's spreadsheet in your signature. That way, we an follow along with Biff's progress and offer input.

Please let us know how we can help. The members here are very generous with their time and knowledge.
 
Back
Top