? 14 Sept Tucker PM +5 is 2.1 (38)AMPS: 6.5(117)

Tucker

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/13-sept-tucker-amps-7-4-133.203088/
Happy boy this morning! He's been playing chasey with Daisy and Teddy since 5am. He ate a packet of BARF and then had a handful of roasted chicken when he was still looking for more brekkie. Post meal the 3 of them are taking a communal bath and the two ragdolls are both trying to lick Tucker's poor ears where he had so many tests in the last couple of days.
 
They (usually) bring us such joy and the mix of the 3 personalities makes us laugh lots.

Then there are the moments like what happened an hour ago. In the Catastic Adventures of Tucker, Daisy and Teddy today's episode....
I was in the kitchen making a smoothie and got the giant Costco bag of frozen super fruits out of the freezer. As I was pouring them into the nutribullet a few frozen blueberries missed and skittled onto the floor. As I dove for them, so did Daisy. Guess who was faster?? She pounced on them and batted them across the floor in a crazy, manic game of fruit soccer with me right behind her trying to grab them. This immediately got the attention of Tucker and Teddy who flew off in different directions chasing frozen berries... Daisy grabbed one up and RAN like hell with it clenched in her teeth... I took chase and was trying to pry the berry out of her jaw when I looked over and saw Tucker scoop a few berries into his mouth. He looked like a freaking chipmunk. My reflexes told me to grab the diabetic cat so I tossed Daisy aside and went after Tuck. As I grabbed him up he literally spat a blueberry out in my face and in a very cartoon-like manner. Then he swallowed whatever was left in his mouth whole.... So. I wonder what a frozen berry (or 2?) is going to do with his next blood sugar test?? Also, WHAT CATS EAT FRUIT?! After the excitement was over I went to apologise to Daisy for casting her aside, her little white and grey mouth had purple smeared all over it.... I'm done.

@JeffJ @Bron and Sheba
 
Last edited:
Theresa and I were LOL over your story. Thank you, that was great!

Is this a trick question? I know what cats eat fruit - your cats! That is so funny that Tucker had so many in his mouth. What a goofball. He probably got them because he knew he wasn't supposed to have it.

Your pooooooooor kittehs. Too bad you never feed them! LOL

Tucker's numbers are looking great after the dose reduction. I hope this stabilizes him.
 
How funny! Some kitties act like they are half starved all the time...Grabbing every opportunity given to them to steal food!
I dropped a full container of strawberry yogurt on the floor when Sheba was alive and it went everywhere. Quick as a flash she was licking it up as fast as she could. I was stuck with the frig on one side and a floor covered with yogurt on my escape route. By the time I had navigated the mess and scooped up Sheba, she was looking very satisfied.
 
IMG_0729.JPG Daisy in action...
 
How funny! Some kitties act like they are half starved all the time...Grabbing every opportunity given to them to steal food!
I dropped a full container of strawberry yogurt on the floor when Sheba was alive and it went everywhere. Quick as a flash she was licking it up as fast as she could. I was stuck with the frig on one side and a floor covered with yogurt on my escape route. By the time I had navigated the mess and scooped up Sheba, she was looking very satisfied.
I can actually see that happening...naughty puss! (Also, smart)
 
IMG_0437.JPG IMG_0670.JPG Meet Miss Daisy aka "Skallywiggle"

I've been asked for photos of the cast of characters. I found a baby photo of Teddy in the basket and Daisy's headshot. Tucker is my avatar.
 
Last edited:
She is adorable!
Popcorn is probably HC being corn so I wouldn’t let her eat too much. But then I am paranoid about any cat food that might be higher than LC. :rolleyes:
 
Daisy is such a little cutie pie. Theresa loves siamese cats. I think Daisy is part Siamese.

Theresa had Samson (full Siamese) until he was 18.5, and then he died of old age. This was before I knew her.
 
I had the two cats lunch warming in water in the sink as I wrote the above ... I suddenly heard chewing and Harry had jumped up and got his big lump of steak and was eating it on the ground! Another half starved kitty!
 
Tucker's been looking pretty good lately. :cool:
Also, WHAT CATS EAT FRUIT?!
Checked the list of ingredients on cat food lately? I've seen cranberries and blueberries on the lists. We had one cat here who swiped tomatoes, which are also technically a fruit. Then there's the melon fans.... Neko was partial to banana bread and blueberry muffins. :rolleyes:
 
His PMPS was 9.1, so I thought tonight was going to be a normal night. Before heading to bed I decided to do a +5 and it was 2.1 (38)! I quickly gave him a can of gravy fancy feast and he ate the whole can within 2 minutes. I'm waiting 20 minutes to retest. @JeffJ @Bobbie And Bubba
 
At 2.1 there isn't much lower he can drop....scary!! I'll just keep testing and balance the gravy food with the level I guess?? Keep him in the single digits so he doesn't bounce wayyy up, but keep him out of danger. That's the idea, right?? (Waiting for Jeff to see Tucker is at 2...who would have thought from 9 he would drop that far in 5 hours AND after eating blueberries no less).
 
Yes that’s the idea. Don’t feed him too much in case you fill him up and you need him to eat later......although he is a good eater right? You can always give honey in some food or in his mouth if you need to get the BSL up quickly.
He’s earned another reduction ... it’s close to the other one but I think you need to take it to keep him safe.
 
That’s a better number Tucker.
The food will wear off in about an hour so keep doing what you did the other night to keep him safe. Test and feed as needed. And remember he likes to drop low late in the cycle.:)
 
Ok, I gotcha. You know where I'll be....I can handle it so don't feel like you have to stay up with me this time around. Thanks!
 
3.8 (68) is a better number. I'm sorry to see Tucker flirting in the hypo ranges. Agree with Bron to do another reduction. If 0.25 doesn't resolve this, then drop by 1.0 to get some (Tucker) body recalibration going.

I would rather see Tucker in the high blues and low yellows, than having these hypos. We have seen cats go down to 20 and survive. But those low numbers (like 20) can cause temporary or permanent issues.

You are doing good Patty. I will monitor Tucker more closely for upcoming events.

Sorry I'm late - working real long hours, so I slept in. This next 2 months will likely be 60 hour weeks. So I spread the work load over 7 day weeks to reduce fatigue. Not complaining too much...I get paid well.
 
PM +7 was 3.1(56) I have just given him more gravy fancy feast - he devoured it. When do I need to test again and at what point/number is it safe to stop testing?
 
Food gets processed over 2 hours. After nadir, and one hour after last food, you are looking for stable BG or rising BG. If the BG is about the same, I would monitor for another hour.

Karo/sugar gets processed immediately. So that is only effective for 15-20 minutes.
 
Congrats on the reduction.

Karo or high carb food can last about two hours in the system, so if you have given high carbs, you should test again in a couple hours to make sure he doesn't go down when it wears off. So, at +7, you restarted the two hour wait clock. Since it is the last half of the cycle and he was above 50, low carb might have been a better choice. It can get them surfing and you don't have to worry about it's temporary boosting of the numbers.

Unlike Jeff, I would suggest either a 0.25 or 0.5 unit reduction. I don't want to interrupt his progress. Protocol calls for 0.25 unit reduction, but he's so close to that 5 unit total dose mark where we switch to 0.5 unit changes, that you could try the slightly larger reduction this time only. Given that this is just four cycles after the last reduction, and he hit 30's, that's another point for the slightly larger reduction this time. Another option is to give a one time BCS (big chicken shot), something like half dose, to try to drain the depot. Could still be some of the 5.0 unit depot in there too. Note to any lurkers, this is a suggestion for Tucker only.

As for the 30's, yes we have to respect them, especially if a cat is on a larger dose, because of the depot. However, we have seen the off cat hit high 30's on an OTJ trial. We do not want a cat on insulin to spend any time there as that is no margin for error. By the way, Neko hit the 20's a couple times with no ill effects. I got her up right away, scared me though.:eek: You seem pretty calm about this Patty. Well done.
 
They (usually) bring us such joy and the mix of the 3 personalities makes us laugh lots.

Then there are the moments like what happened an hour ago. In the Catastic Adventures of Tucker, Daisy and Teddy today's episode....
I was in the kitchen making a smoothie and got the giant Costco bag of frozen super fruits out of the freezer. As I was pouring them into the nutribullet a few frozen blueberries missed and skittled onto the floor. As I dove for them, so did Daisy. Guess who was faster?? She pounced on them and batted them across the floor in a crazy, manic game of fruit soccer with me right behind her trying to grab them. This immediately got the attention of Tucker and Teddy who flew off in different directions chasing frozen berries... Daisy grabbed one up and RAN like hell with it clenched in her teeth... I took chase and was trying to pry the berry out of her jaw when I looked over and saw Tucker scoop a few berries into his mouth. He looked like a freaking chipmunk. My reflexes told me to grab the diabetic cat so I tossed Daisy aside and went after Tuck. As I grabbed him up he literally spat a blueberry out in my face and in a very cartoon-like manner. Then he swallowed whatever was left in his mouth whole.... So. I wonder what a frozen berry (or 2?) is going to do with his next blood sugar test?? Also, WHAT CATS EAT FRUIT?! After the excitement was over I went to apologise to Daisy for casting her aside, her little white and grey mouth had purple smeared all over it.... I'm done.

@JeffJ @Bron and Sheba
I love this, it sounds just like a cartoon. Ever think about going into show business Patty?
 
I noticed another very low hypo with Tucker.

You could do a single half-dose to clear his system. Alternate is another dose reduction.

Since your daughter will soon be taking care of Tucker, we want to avoid hypos. You may want to put him into higher blues/low yellows.
 
Back
Top