14/6 Ruddy +3 6.7 + 4 4.4

Colleen & Pantera

Member Since 2020
Hi we are heading low and need some help please. 2 u lantus pmps 13.1 +3 6.7 +4 4.4 gave food 1hr ago at +3 gave more food at +4 higher carb what next?
 
Sorry no one helped you out earlier. A couple things will help you get more eyes. First, you should report your BG numbers in the US mg/dL format - so many more people here are used to those numbers and can't "talk" mmol/L, though I can. Second, put something like "help - lower numbers" as part of your subject line, or change the subject prefix to include a "?", then people know at a glance you need help.

Looks like you managed to do OK with the numbers. Normally we don't feed higher carb food until they go under 50 (2.8). The numbers you were seeing are very nice normal blood sugar values. Since your spreadsheet says you are following TR, no reduction dose was earned. Reductions are earned when they go under 50. It'll help us help you better if you put TR in your signature line as well.

What is your feeding schedule? You may find a small meal just before onset will help slow any fast drops. Which can also cause bounces.

The link to your last post here - for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-6-ruddy-pmps-27-1.230805/
 
Thank you, ok I will write in US format next time I need to. Yeah I know it wasn't a hypo but he dropped significantly in only +3 he and first I fed him FF 1/2 Can as he always gets but 1hr later it had dripped again to 4.4 (79)
It was 12.45pm here and I hadn't heard from anyone so I made a decision to then give 1tbspn cd urinary(that's what I had) so he didn't go lower. He is my Son's cat so he doesn't sleep with me and I didn't want the stress of worrying all night. I knew my husband was up at 3.30am and could give more food if needed (I left him a note). We got through it ok He is so unregulated and I don't know if I am doing this right for him. He us up and down for no apparent reason, his food is always the same and sane time as are his shots. I did get advise on his SS to lower him back up to 1.5-1.75 as he seemed better on that dose. Maybe I should change his method to SLGS I don't know anymore. I have both cat's on insulin my boy seems to be going well only on 2 drops 2 x day now. But Ruddy??? Thank you for your help
Colleen
 
Hi Colleen
I looked back at your last post and saw it wasn’t answered. The reason you are seeing Ruddy got high after seeing blue numbers is because he is bouncing, which is a normal thing for cats to do, especially newly diagnosed cats who aren’t used to being in normal numbers anYmore and think the higher numbers are the ones he needs to be in.
Bouncing happens when a cat drops too low, too fast or lower than they are used to and their body panics and they dump regulatory hormones And stored glucose into their system Which sends the BG high.
Bounces can last for up to 6 cycles and there is nothing you can do about them except wait them out.

I thinkRuddy is doing better on the 2 units. Yes he is bouncing up high, but his body has to get used to the normal numbers again and the only way to do that is to let him be in those blue and green numbers as often as possible.
 
Thankyou Bron. It's scary when it's 11pm and he is heading down. I think I got it easy with Pantera and Ruddy is giving me a run for my money. He went up to 19.6 @7.45am and 19.6 @12.45pm (15mins ago) WHY do they go lower at night at least he got a good feed last night.
 
You can always give some low carb snack to slow down the drop. Cats often drop lower at night. by feeding food you can control the drop.
 
Back
Top