? 14/4/20 AMPS 379.8 First Day SS, Worried about dosing?

Do you know why he came out of remission?

He was recently hit by a car (on 9/4/2020) and was in hospital post. We also recently moved house (in Feb) so I'm not sure if its stress or if its just bad timing and he was heading towards relapse pre accident?
He had some bloods in hospital that also showed potential pre CKD, so not sure if that is having an impact as well. It's all a bit confusing, after his initial Dx in may 2018 he was only on insulin for about a month and I can't remember his sugars being this high then.
 
Hello and welcome.

Lantus is a depot insulin, it takes 5-7 days to build the depot. So at the moment, some of the injected insulin is going to lower the blood sugars, and some is going to build the depot. Once the depot is built, you should start to see better numbers. This is the time for patience. Often the first few days can be a non event.

For the spreadsheet, just enter your numbers into the World tab, and the US ones will be automatically calculated for you.
 
Is the fact that his sugars are still so high a problem in the meantime though? I just don't want to cause any longterm damage with this consistent hyper's damaging his remaining beta cells o_O
 
How long have his numbers been high? He is coming down and seeing some mid/low 200's, which I wouldn't call very "high".

Out of curiosity, what food is Harvey eating now?
 
He is now eating Ziwipeak wet food in the rabbit and lamb variety. The first time he was diagnosed we controlled it with fancy feasts however I'm worried about phosphorus levels now so reluctant to go back to that.
It's difficult to know how long his sugars have been up, certainly since he was in the hospital and consistently since he's got home, so at least 6 days but I just don't know if they were creeping up before this and I didn't realise.
 
When you've got a moment, and if you haven't already, I'd read the yellow starred Sticky Notes on the top of this forum. One of note is on the Dosing Methods we use here. At some point you'll have to decide which of the two methods suits you best.

Try not to worry about the numbers just yet. It's early days. :bighug: My girl started out much higher and I did eventually get her regulated.
 
Back
Top