Welcome to the FDMB. Since you are feeding dry food you will hold each dose for 7 days and reevaluate then unless the bg falls under 90, it takes 5-7 days for the depot to build after the first dose of lantus. Some cats have a big reaction at first. I would shoot .50 as we don’t see that it has dropped under 90. Sometimes the sensor reads lower than an ear prick so it’s good you are getting a meter. Why renal dry food for IBD? IBD usually is due to a reaction to the protein being fed. Sometimes a novel protein fixes that. Other times hydrolyzed protein does the trick.
Do you need help setting up a spreadsheet and signature? Do you have labs? How was your cat diagnosed with diabetes? Was a fructosamine run?
Hello, if your read my previous message we start with Lantus on 12 March so are 8 days.
As for IBD, the vet had tried many single-protein foods several years ago but they hadn't worked.
Yes, diabetes was diagnosed by the vet.
We started with ProZync next to Lantus.
ProZync started on February 21, 2026
February 23, MIN 147, MAX 336 0.5u
February 24, MIN 60, MAX 329 0.5u
February 25, MIN 69, MAX 376 0.5u
February 26, MIN 153, MAX 352 0.5u
February 27, MIN 75, MAX 327 0.5u
February 28, MIN 67, MAX 345 0.5u
February 1/2, MIN 228, MAX 335 0.5u
February 2/2, MIN 218, MAX 367 0.5u
February 3/2, MIN 156, MAX 350 0.5u
February 4, MIN 85, MAX 350 0.5u
February 5, MIN 192, MAX 358 (No insulin. Luna didn't eat and had diarrhea. She ate something in the evening (insulin 0.3).
6/2 MIN 194 MAX 403 0.5u
7/2 MIN 192 MAX 403 0.6u
8/2 No insulin at the end of the sensor
9/2 No insulin at the end of the sensor, reactivated in the afternoon
10/2 MIN 174 MAX 399
11/2 MIN 247 MAX 356
Lantus started on 12/3/2026
12/3 MIN 230 - MAX 350 0.5u
13/3 MIN 230 - MAX 370 0.5u
14/3 MIN 170 - MAX 350 0.5u
15/3 MIN 160 - MAX 380 0.5u
16/3 MIN 205 - MAX 350 0.5u
17/3 MIN 142 - MAX 383 0.6u (ate quite a bit at night and in the morning)
18/3 MIN 228 - MAX 388 0.6u (bubbles in the dose) (new system for avoid bubbles)
19/3 MIN 252 - MAX 484 0.7u (no bubbles) (ate quite a bit in the morning)