14/2 Chico AMPS 362; +2 410; +6.5 158

But the beginning of the cycle was a “very short” bounce, right?
Usually a bounce is characterized by a flat cycle.

If on the other hand, it's lack of duration. You see the numbers rise at the end of the active cycle, then drop again once the new shot onsets.

I'm not sure it's either of these.
I think he's still on a bounce just maybe having a bit of a wobble, I think he will clear tonight getting back into those lower blues and greens. Be especially attentive if he is in yellow at pmps

What do you think about the choices you made last night with food?
Is there anything, with the benefit of hindsight you would do differently?


I like that poop is better today. Also he hasn't been high.:)
 
Usually a bounce is characterized by a flat cycle.

If on the other hand, it's lack of duration. You see the numbers rise at the end of the active cycle, then drop again once the new shot onsets.

I'm not sure it's either of these.
I think he's still on a bounce just maybe having a bit of a wobble, I think he will clear tonight getting back into those lower blues and greens. Be especially attentive if he is in yellow at pmps

What do you think about the choices you made last night with food?
Is there anything, with the benefit of hindsight you would do differently?


I like that poop is better today. Also he hasn't been high.:)
He was 464 at PMPs :( can it mean lack of duration?
Yesterday i believe we shouldnt have given him 20g of MC@ 3, maybe a mix of 10 and 10 with LC, we increased his sugar for no reason when we wanted to just keep it from dropping so quickly

We have 3 days after the FS, shouldnt we start seeing some stabilization of the higher values already?
 
Seems like the s. boulardii is helping? That's good news on the poop front :cat:

And you'll figure out what food % work at different numbers...and then once you figure it out, Chico will do something different :p I always viewed each cycle as a chance to gather data.

I can't speak to dosing but tonight is the 8th cycle since the FS so that's a distant memory in the FD world now :)

Hope you all had a wonderful day :bighug:
 
He was 464 at PMPs :( can it mean lack of duration?
I don't know sometimes it's easier to see when you look back.
I think it's a bounce. Some cats will give you a spike in there numbers before they drop.....

We have 3 days after the FS, shouldnt we start seeing some stabilization of the higher values already?
It would be nice.
But what's stabilis d is the depot from the dose, that doesn't equate to stable numbers.
Since he has seen green in this dose, in accordance with TR you would want to hold on to the dose for a few more cycles. Assess how low that dose is getting him and then either hold on to it or take the dose up.

He is doing quite well, lots of time in blue and green.
The longer he spends in those numbers the more his body gets used to them and that's when we can see the bounces disappear in some cats. Though some cats will bounce themselves off the juice. Just try to ignore the bounces.

Yesterday i believe we shouldnt have given him 20g of MC@ 3, maybe a mix of 10 and 10 with LC, we increased his sugar for no reason when we wanted to just keep it from dropping so quickly
That was my thought looking back at last night's numbers, he was at +3 so you could expect him to drop more but at 163 you had quite a bit of wiggle room to try LC. He wasn't to low.
 
He was 464 at PMPs :( can it mean lack of duration?
I don't know sometimes it's easier to see when you look back.
I think it's a bounce. Some cats will give you a spike in there numbers before they drop.....

We have 3 days after the FS, shouldnt we start seeing some stabilization of the higher values already?
It would be nice.
But what's stabilis d is the depot from the dose, that doesn't equate to stable numbers.
Since he has seen green in this dose, in accordance with TR you would want to hold on to the dose for a few more cycles. Assess how low that dose is getting him and then either hold on to it or take the dose up.

He is doing quite well, lots of time in blue and green.
The longer he spends in those numbers the more his body gets used to them and that's when we can see the bounces disappear in some cats. Though some cats will bounce themselves off the juice. Just try to ignore the bounces.

Yesterday i believe we shouldnt have given him 20g of MC@ 3, maybe a mix of 10 and 10 with LC, we increased his sugar for no reason when we wanted to just keep it from dropping so quickly
That was my thought looking back at last night's numbers, he was at +3 so you could expect him to drop more but at 163 you had quite a bit of wiggle room to try LC.
 
Seems like the s. boulardii is helping? That's good news on the poop front :cat:

I honestly don't want to jinx it, but it does look like it helps, i just hope it will last

And you'll figure out what food % work at different numbers...and then once you figure it out, Chico will do something different :p I always viewed each cycle as a chance to gather data.
Yeah, it is a learning curve and based on yesterday it seems that Chico responds pretty quickly to carbs, at least we know we don't have to be as aggressive with it

I can't speak to dosing but tonight is the 8th cycle since the FS so that's a distant memory in the FD world now :)

Hope you all had a wonderful day :bighug:

Thank you very much for your support :bighug:
 
I don't know sometimes it's easier to see when you look back.
I think it's a bounce. Some cats will give you a spike in there numbers before they drop.....


It would be nice.
But what's stabilis d is the depot from the dose, that doesn't equate to stable numbers.
Since he has seen green in this dose, in accordance with TR you would want to hold on to the dose for a few more cycles. Assess how low that dose is getting him and then either hold on to it or take the dose up.

He is doing quite well, lots of time in blue and green.
The longer he spends in those numbers the more his body gets used to them and that's when we can see the bounces disappear in some cats. Though some cats will bounce themselves off the juice. Just try to ignore the bounces.

Generally that is our feeling, he is not dropping too low, his body has time to get used to the green values along with us getting used to them and not panic :D. An increase would mean lower nadirs which would only cause more bounces (and more stress to us :D ) which we want to avoid. A decrease would only make him nadir higher, which again seems unrequested, since he nadirs nicely.

That was my thought looking back at last night's numbers, he was at +3 so you could expect him to drop more but at 163 you had quite a bit of wiggle room to try LC. He wasn't to low.
i believe that with time our tolerance will decrease as well, and we will have more courage to let him go lower.

Gill, thank you always for your support :bighug:
 
from the TR guidelines

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.

I've highlighted the section that pertains to Chico at this time. This is cycle8 I would like to see where he lands when he next clears, with nadirs in the 80's and 90's you probably have a little wiggle room to take him up, if you find he trends up or just doesn't get much lower than 90. So you may hold on to this dose a little longer than 10 cycles, but you might need to push the dose up to see him shift the whole range down a touch and spend even more time in the 'healthy zone'
You just have to let the numbers be your guide.

An increase would mean lower nadirs which would only cause more bounces
Not necessarily, if a higher dose sees him spend longer in the lower numbers then he may end up bouncing less, hard as bounces are to ignore, they are part of the process, our focus needs to be on the nadirs.

Chico is still in very early days of his FD journey, take one day at a time
 
Last edited:
Back
Top