14/2/15 Lucy AMPS 160 +2 104 +2.5 79 +3 65 +3.5 61 +4 77 +5 77 +7 133 +7 157 PMPS 335 +3 297

Status
Not open for further replies.
104 is a good number, though I agree it's a fair drop by +2. It's early enough in the day that there should be plenty of people around for support if she does go lower - I'll be about for ages yet as it's only 3pm here, and though I'm by no means all that experienced in this whole thing yet I have had to handle quite a few low numbers from Rosa so far. Good that you tried this the first time on a day when you can be home. That way you can catch any drops in her numbers quickly.

As long as she's good about being tested, I'd have thought you could test again in an hour so you're not worrying too much between tests. She'd most likely be good to wait until +4, but you might feel easier testing a bit more often today until you see where that starting number combined with the dose will take her. I do tend to overtest according to my vet, but I'm of the opinion that more information is good especially when this is the lowest number you've shot at so far.
 
Oh Voula I am so proud of you :):):) and she's in normal numbers already and nearly to green! That drop at plus 2 does indicate that it could be an active cycle better get +3 - go Lucy go!

ETA - and on Valentine's day, way to show her the love :joyful:
 
Thank you April. Yes it is a fair drop. I will test again soon probably hourly today as it is a good opportunity to get data too. Lucy tends to get a little stressed if I test every hour but she copes okay as she soon forgets about the testing and relaxes so I will test more often to be safe.
 
Oh Voula I am so proud of you :):):) and she's in normal numbers already and nearly to green! That drop at plus 2 does indicate that it could be an active cycle better get +3 - go Lucy go!
Thank you Serryn. I am anxious but I will be home all day. The only thing is I should have stocked up on chocolate for me to calm my nerves :). Yes I will definitely do a +3 test.
 
Sounds just like Rosa - complaining about having the test, then running over and jumping back up for cuddles as soon as it's done! And the more information you get today, the easier it will be next time you get a lowish pre-shot number plus a drop at +2 to know how it's likely to affect her. Then you'll know for next time when to monitor most closely.
 
Thank you April. It is good to know Rosa acts the same way too. Lucy loves her food so after her treat all is well and then I feel happy too.
 
OK, so still dropping - though that's to be expected this early in the cycle. Those green numbers are where she's going to be doing a lot of healing too which is great for her. You might want to offer her small amounts of lc every so often too to see if she can manage to surf for a while. Just not so much that she won't be hungry enough for some hc if she does need it at some point (though if she's anything like Rosa she'll eat anything and everything if she does get to around 50 or a little under)!!
 
AWESOME!!!! You go Voula!!!:D:D:D:D:D:D

And look at Lucy's perfect green surf! that 79 and 85 are about the same - which is FANTASTIC!!! I am so proud of you - if i could get to you I'd deliver a bucket of chocolate just for you.
 
Surf Lucy surf, jump on that little surfboard and go for a ride :D on her spreadsheet are those meter numbers in the same order both times, i.e. The one that read lower has swapped between tests?
 
oh yeah, and doling out about 2 teaspoons of her regular low carb every hour or so is a trick that might just help her coast along for several hours.
 
Are the 79 and 85 2 readings that you took at the same time at +2.5? That's how I read it from your comment which was why I said she was just a little down from her +2.

Lucy's doing great, and you're doing great. I know you're anxious, but this is all good so far :D
 
Surf Lucy surf, jump on that little surfboard and go for a ride :D on her spreadsheet are those meter numbers in the same order both times, i.e. The one that read lower has swapped between tests?
How do you mean? The tests in order are +2 6/108 and one minute later to confirm that test we got 5.8/104. Then at +2.5 4.4/79 and 4.7/85 to confirm previous +2.5 test.
 
Anxious - and yet you did it anyway, for Lucy's sake.

That is the definition of courage. :D courage = Voula! :bighug:

I'm going out in an hour or so, but i'll check on you from my phone. You'll do fine - you've got this and everyone here has your back.
 
Are the 79 and 85 2 readings that you took at the same time at +2.5? That's how I read it from your comment which was why I said she was just a little down from her +2.

Lucy's doing great, and you're doing great. I know you're anxious, but this is all good so far :D
Yes 79 and 85 were done at the same time as I wanted to check if the 79 was correct. Lucy's ears are going to be sore by the end of today. But it is to keep her safe.
 
Anxious - and yet you did it anyway, for Lucy's sake.

That is the definition of courage. :D courage = Voula! :bighug:

I'm going out in an hour or so, but i'll check on you from my phone. You'll do fine - you've got this and everyone here has your back.
Thank you Julie. I want my Lucy to heal from her diabetes.
 
OK, so I did read it right - you're getting 2 readings each time. That's fine - as long as Lucy will let you do that. I just wanted to make sure I hadn't missed something.
 
Ah I thought you were cross checking two different meters. There's really no need to poke her twice unless you see a number that seems out of whack gotta save those ears- not to mention the strips!
 
Okay thank you April and Serryn. The +2.5 I did twice because I didn't get much of a blood sample the first time and sometimes that reads low and the +2 was done twice to confirm the first test. :) I am keeping in mind that I am using the freestyle lite meter at the moment which reads a bit lower than the freestyle optium. I have stayed with the lite one to keep consistency in the testing. But if we get a very low reading I will check it with the optium.
 
Oh Voula I am so proud of you :):):) and she's in normal numbers already and nearly to green! That drop at plus 2 does indicate that it could be an active cycle better get +3 - go Lucy go!

ETA - and on Valentine's day, way to show her the love :joyful:
Yes I thought the same. Lucy is my precious little Valentine :cat::) yes indeed.
 
You might want to offer her a couple of tsp of lc now to see if you can get her to surf somewhere around that number. And check again in 30 minutes.
 
Okay I offered 2 teaspoons low carb fifteen minutes ago. If past experience is a guide the numbers may keep dropping despite low carb which seems to have no effect. Should I offer a little higher carb food?
 
We would expect that at this point, she is looking fabulous. To be safe, since we don't know Lucy too well yet I would test again in 30 mins. Also in her spreadsheet can you pile the +2 into the +2 column above the +2.5
 
Hold off on the hc lets just see what she does. Don't forget that 50 for feeding HC already has safety built in, no need to break it out just yet

ETA - but I would keep it close at hand ;) she could be angling for a reduction
 
I panicked and gave a little gravy from Whiskas gravy food. It will be interesting in any case to see what effect it has on the next reading in fifteen minutes. I am justifying my lack of courage with a gathering data excuse. :)
 
I was just reading the last few posts and thinking Lucy's trying for a reduction! She's pulled the sort of drop Rosa manages when she's ready for a lower dose!!
 
I think my anxiety stems from the fact that I need to find a food that will raise Lucy's glucose levels if they get too low and so far I have not found that food. But I do have honey and that will work I know.
 
As long as you have honey, she'll be fine. Rosa doesn't always respond all that well to hc either - I've seen her continue to drop after being fed gravy, though I imagine it's slowing it down if nothing else. And there's nothing wrong with giving honey when it's needed - it's always going to be a good way of giving her numbers a quick boost when she needs it.
 
3.4/61 at +3.5 so it looks like the high carb Whiskas gravy is helping Lucy to stay at similar numbers as the +3 test. I gave one tablespoon of high carb Whiskas at +3.
 
Looks like your girl has found her surfboard :D:woot::D:woot:

Don't forget to update your subject line with the new numbers

ETA - And try to resist the urge for more HC at this point, although I suspect it may already be too late teeheehee
 
I probably shouldn't have panicked and given high carb at +3 because Lucy might have been trying for a reduction and now I won't know.
 
Looks like your girl has found her surfboard :D:woot::D:woot:

Don't forget to update your subject line with the new numbers

ETA - And try to resist the urge for more HC at this point, although I suspect it may already be too late teeheehee
You guessed correctly Serryn. Well you can't expect two brave acts in the one day :eek::D. Thank you.
 
She still just might as it's fairly early in the cycle, but if not there's always the next time. If she got there today, she'll do it again and you'll be better mentally equipped to wait it out next time around.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top