14/05, Neo, 369 AMPS, 287 +6, 280 PMPS

Teire

Member
I've noticed that lately he tends to have lowe BG at night althought he eats throught the day. I've been injecting insulin every 24 hours these past two days because PMPS was within normal range for a healthy cat and I didn't want to risk a hypo at night. Tonight I did give him 0.5 insuline since it was at 280 mg/dL
He always eats at +6, except for the day before yesterday that he ate at +7 because my bus arrived late. That day I did not trust the +7 reading because of a stressful episode he got throught, a neighbour's cat got in and my dog chased him away.
I'll have 0.3 mL BD microfine syringes in a few days.
Previous post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-05-neo-228-amps-120-6-85-pmps.289923/#post-3178483
 
With the skipped doses, the depot has to rebuild. Not surprising to see higher numbers. Any chance of getting a before bed test tonight? Especially since you said he goes lower at night - which is very common for cats.
 
I tried to test him yesternight but he wasn't having it and I couldn't draw a blood sample.
This morning his BG was 460 mg/dL, I went to give him his 0.5 dose but I accidentaly gave him 1.5! My mother told me to go to class and that she'd be vigilant, she knows what to do in case of hypo.
He had diabetes years ago, I feel ao stupid doing these mistakes now
 
Last edited:
You are doing an awesome job, Mom!
Even though Neo is now above 50, please continue to check for another couple of hours if you can.
 
I had around 20 strips left and have to order more, but now witth this episode there's one left and he's not letting me test him again :(
 
It happened something similar 9 days ago with 1 U and I did skip doses until I had strips again. I bought twice the amount of strips (50) and yet here I am, in the same situation :'(
They will arrive on saturday, is the sooner date they had
 
I'd recommend getting a backup meter that uses strips you can get at a local pharmacy/chemist. That way, in an emergency, you can always test. I never let myself get below 100 test strips. I was buying cheaper ones across the border, so needed to plan restocking, but had a backup meter where I could always go to my local store and get test strips if I needed to.

I'd skip tonight.
 
Yesterday I went to my pharmacist and he ordered half marked insulin syringes since he said he had none, but today he called me saying that he had found a bag that my mother ordered years ago and syringes aren't expired yet, so yay fro that part! I had forgotten that we used those.
He's acting as usual, except that his belly is full and you can see it

I'd recommend getting a backup meter that uses strips you can get at a local pharmacy/chemist.
I'll do this, thank you.
 
Back
Top