14/02 - Wolvi - AMPS 105; +1 142; +2 143; +3 146; +4 158; +6 285; PMPS 431

Which dosing method are you using, TR or SLGS? Have you ever shot this low? Will you be around to keep an eye on Wolvi?

If you are doing SLGS thenthe guidelines are as follows.

Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?

A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:a.) give nothingb.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that valueAbove 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.

Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin.
 
I'm with slgl. And never shot so low with lantus.
I can keep an eye on him snd still give him his 0.75u
What do you think? He already eat
 
I was going to suggest testing again but since he ate you wouldn't know of he is coming up from the food or because just on his own. Sorry, I don't have enough experience with this.:(
You are right. When you encounter a lower preshot than you are comfortable shooting, you stall without feeding for 20 mins and see if the BG goes up without food :-)
 
Cris, I am sure you musy have been asked this before, so apologies if I am asking again - I went back to a few of your condos but could not find it. Is there a reason you are choosing to do SLGS rather than TR?
 
Cris, I am sure you musy have been asked this before, so apologies if I am asking again - I went back to a few of your condos but could not find it. Is there a reason you are choosing to do SLGS rather than TR?
No. No reason at all. But when I begin with Prozinc and back in 2019 (the first time he was with DM and went into remission after 5/6 months) I didn't know much about it. And this time with prozinc I kept the slgs and now that we changed to Lantus just a week ago I didn't change yeat because lack of data and was waiting that someone here advise me too begin with it. But I think that I can change...
 
But I think that I can change...
That's great! Because a little aggressive (but safe) dosing helps when attempting remission for a second time. TR allows you to hold a dose in which Wolvi can spend more time in normal numbers which is 50-100 mg/dl on a human meter. These are the numbers at which the pancreas' beta cells get a chance to heal.

With TR, you will need to feed only low carb wet food (no dry) and get at least 4 tests per day - 2 preshot and 2 mid-cycle - more if it is an active cycle.

Let us see what he has in store for us today. :-)

If you are okay with following TR, please update your Signature and SS to say TR instead of SLGS? Thanks!
 
One more
+2 - 143 and sleeping... the usual him at this hour. His inside clock only rings at + 3 for his usual morning snack

I love to see my baby at low numbers.
So calm not begging for food all time, so cuddly
 
Once they start getting used to lower numbers, they are very happy and energetic in them.

He is flat so far. Do you think you can get a test at +4?
If +3 is his snack time, do feed him then.
 
Back
Top