? 14/01/24 RICO AMPS 82 PMPS 166 +2 225 CHANGING FROM SLGS TO TR

Carol & Rico

Member Since 2023
Happy New Year everyone!
After 3 months with the SLGS method I noticed some progress for the first couple of months and then he started bouncing between very high and very low numbers. So I decided to switch to the TR method because most members of the Facebook group told me it's much more effective.
I also asked the FB group for advice on dosing and the transition process (because I don't usually get a quick response here and I needed to change in the next cycle) but they only gave me some general guidelines on how to start and advised me to contact the FDMB for all the important details.
I hope you get in touch with me soon and guide me through! Thank you!


@Wendy&Neko
@Yanna
@Chris & China (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ion-dosing-advice-needed.283277/#post-3120745
 
Last edited:
Hi Carol. I think switching to TR is a good idea. It was 2:49 a.m. when you posted this. Of course I was fast asleep. You dint need to do anything different when switching to TR. Just start following the guidelines. The main change is reductions come if under 50. You do have a bouncy kitty. I think progress is difficult with SLGS and a bouncy kitty mostly because there’s no failed reductio. So if tge bg drops under tge reduction point you are stuck with the reduced dose for 7/days. With TR if the reduction fails which usually you can tell after 4 cycles you can go back up to the last dose.

When you see a bg in the 50’s at +4 like you saw on 1/12 I would not wait 2 hours for another test.
I’d check in 30 minutes if possible as the bg could continue to drop and with TR a reduction would be earned if under 50. You don’t want to miss an earned reduction. I see you fed mc which might have shot the bg up quickly. It also could be he bounced right away. What % carbs is your regular food, mc, and hc?
 
Hi Carol! Happy to see you posting over here from the FB group!

For members, Carol is in Greece, so somebody who's up in that time frame should probably be asked to check in on her so she doesn't have to wait for hours for answers. I'm not familiar with who all is where as much as I used to be so I'll leave that to those of you that spend more time here.

My thoughts: We already discussed the 56 a few days ago and how you should always retest immediately if you get a number that's so unusual and unexpected to make sure it isn't a wonky test strip, but also, last night, he dropped a lot by +3. Most cats go lower at night so I'm glad you got that, but Lantus doesn't usually start to "kick in" for 2-3 hours, so try getting a +2. If it's lower than the PMPS, that may mean he's going to go a lot lower later in the cycle. It's possible the AMPS this morning was "on the way up" from an unseen low overnight.

Today's cycle is looking pretty darned good! Hopefully we can help keep him in those better numbers so your vet will do the dental he needs (which may, if you're lucky, put him into remission, but even if it doesn't, it's still going to make him healthier overall and if he has any bad teeth, getting them out will help protect his heart. Dental infections can get into the bloodstream and cause all kinds of havoc)

Try to post daily here so people will get used to seeing you and learning more about you and Rico and will be able to give even better advice as they learn about you both!
 
Hi Carol. I think switching to TR is a good idea. It was 2:49 a.m. when you posted this. Of course I was fast asleep. You dint need to do anything different when switching to TR. Just start following the guidelines. The main change is reductions come if under 50. You do have a bouncy kitty. I think progress is difficult with SLGS and a bouncy kitty mostly because there’s no failed reductio. So if tge bg drops under tge reduction point you are stuck with the reduced dose for 7/days. With TR if the reduction fails which usually you can tell after 4 cycles you can go back up to the last dose.

When you see a bg in the 50’s at +4 like you saw on 1/12 I would not wait 2 hours for another test.
I’d check in 30 minutes if possible as the bg could continue to drop and with TR a reduction would be earned if under 50. You don’t want to miss an earned reduction. I see you fed mc which might have shot the bg up quickly. It also could be he bounced right away. What % carbs is your regular food, mc, and hc?

So far I'm using a variety of LC foods ranging from 2.5 to 7.38 (calculated with the Balance Converter) and have 3 different types of HC foods (16.52-25.02) to use in case of emergency. Unfortunately I don't know which food is MC so I don't have any... Suggestions?
 
Hi Carol! Happy to see you posting over here from the FB group!

For members, Carol is in Greece, so somebody who's up in that time frame should probably be asked to check in on her so she doesn't have to wait for hours for answers. I'm not familiar with who all is where as much as I used to be so I'll leave that to those of you that spend more time here.

My thoughts: We already discussed the 56 a few days ago and how you should always retest immediately if you get a number that's so unusual and unexpected to make sure it isn't a wonky test strip, but also, last night, he dropped a lot by +3. Most cats go lower at night so I'm glad you got that, but Lantus doesn't usually start to "kick in" for 2-3 hours, so try getting a +2. If it's lower than the PMPS, that may mean he's going to go a lot lower later in the cycle. It's possible the AMPS this morning was "on the way up" from an unseen low overnight.

Today's cycle is looking pretty darned good! Hopefully we can help keep him in those better numbers so your vet will do the dental he needs (which may, if you're lucky, put him into remission, but even if it doesn't, it's still going to make him healthier overall and if he has any bad teeth, getting them out will help protect his heart. Dental infections can get into the bloodstream and cause all kinds of havoc)

Try to post daily here so people will get used to seeing you and learning more about you and Rico and will be able to give even better advice as they learn about you both!

Thanks Chris!
Just a quick question: I'm about to test his +2 now. Do I add this in the title of this thread or do I create a new one?
 
Add to the title. On this forum you post one thread per day. Simply add to your subject bar. Add a prefix question mark if you have a question and you can always put a few words such as dosing advice or mc food suggestion for example.
 
Hi Carol, I cannot give you advices as I am new in this forum but I can stand by you in this battle..

Below an example about the med and high carb foods. I am on the way to also find the relevant foods in Greece as some of then have a little different name in Greece.


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs
16%- 24% is high carbs

Hi there! I know about the ratios (I'll be sending you the list of foods I'm using shortly) but I've only found dry MC food so far and I don't want to use it. However, I think I've just found a food (available in Greece) with 14.07 carbs which seems to be fine... :)
 
However, I think I've just found a food (available in Greece) with 14.07 carbs which seems to be fine..

You can also make your own. If you have a low carb of 6% and a high carb of 18%, if you give half/half, you've just made a 12% food.

Another option is to add a few drops of corn syrup/honey/maple syrup to a low carb food. Those simple sugars do get into them quickly, but they also leave quickly so you have to continue testing until you're sure he'll stay above 50 without you having to keep feeding him. I like to suggest that if he drops below 50, you intervene with HC food and then test in 30 minutes. If number rising, test again in 30 minutes. If still doing OK, test one more time an hour later (so you test for a total of 2 hours after feeding anything HC or MC). If he drops below 50 again, that 2 hour "clock" starts over. You want him to stay in safe numbers for 2 hours with only feeding low carb or no food after you first intervene)
 
Back
Top