13Feb2020MaxiAMPS272

bambinaki

Member Since 2010
Last post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...etones-feeding-questions.225472/#post-2524015

Hello-

I have to miss Maxi's morning test and shot time. I *might* be able to be home 2 hours after his test+shot time. More likely 3 hours after. I'll feed him before I leave home, which will be 4 hours from now.

What do I do about his missed shot???
Test him before I leave 4 hours from now, which will be 1.5 hours before his test+shot time, and if it's high enough/his current normal in the 200s-300s (sometimes 400s), give him his current dose of 2 units?
Give him half his current dose?
Give him nothing before I leave, and later his whole dose 2 to 3 hours late, and slowly work back 15 minutes per day to his normal test+shot times?
???

Once I get home, I'll be able to be with him for only an hour and a half before I have to leave again, and I won't be home again until his evening test+shot time.

Thank you
 
Last edited:
No, he doesn’t.

I brought his urine to the vet yesterday, they tested it, and it was negative for ketones.
 
No, he doesn’t.

I brought his urine to the vet yesterday, they tested it, and it was negative for ketones.
Ok thanks.
Last post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...etones-feeding-questions.225472/#post-2524015

Hello-

I have to miss Maxi's morning test and shot time. I *might* be able to be home 2 hours after his test+shot time. More likely 3 hours after. I'll feed him before I leave home, which will be 4 hours from now.

What do I do about his missed shot???
Test him before I leave 4 hours from now, and if it's high, give him is current dose of 2 units?
Give him half his current dose?
???
I would not give him the insulin dose earlier that the normal time. Doing that would be like a dose increase.
What time in the cycle do you have to leave? (ie. 4 hours from now?)
 
Ok thanks.

I would not give him the insulin dose earlier that the normal time. Doing that would be like a dose increase.
What time in the cycle do you have to leave? (ie. 4 hours from now?)

I just edited the post.
I have to leave at 8:00 AM. His normal test+shot time is 9:30 AM. I expect to be home between 11:30 and 12:30.
 
I just edited the post.
I have to leave at 8:00 AM. His normal test+shot time is 9:30 AM. I expect to be home between 11:30 and 12:30.

I would not give him the dose of insulin when you leave at 8 am.

Your options are:
  • Feed as usual and skip the am dose. And get back on track with the evening dose.
  • Give the normal dose when you get home at 11.30 to 12.30. However that would put your schedule out a lot and would take several days to get back on track as you can only go back 1/2 hour a day.
 
I would not give him the dose of insulin when you leave at 8 am.

Your options are:
  • Feed as usual and skip the am dose. And get back on track with the evening dose.
  • Give the normal dose when you get home at 11.30 to 12.30. However that would put your schedule out a lot and would take several days to get back on track as you can only go back 1/2 hour a day.

Is it OK to give him the entire 2 units this evening after completely missing his morning dose?
 
Thank you, Bron.
Which option do you think is best for Maxi’s health?
I think I would skip the dose and get back on track this evening.
Is it OK to give him the entire 2 units this evening after completely missing his morning dose?
Yes give him his usual dose tonight (as long as the BG is high enough to shoot).

Make sure Maxi eats well before you leave, even though he's not getting a morning dose of insulin.
 
I think I would skip the dose and get back on track this evening.

Yes give him his usual dose tonight (as long as the BG is high enough to shoot).

Make sure Maxi eats well before you leave, even though he's not getting a morning dose of insulin.

Do you think both options are equally OK for his health?
Is one option better than the other, healthwise?
 
Do you think both options are equally OK for his health?
Is one option better than the other, healthwise?
We all give furshots from time to time (ie. the dose misses and doesn't get into the tissues). Unless there is a problem with ketones, which you said he doesn't have a history of, Max will be ok to miss just one dose.
 
Well, Bron, now I am thinking about future times when the same thing will happen - - when I will have an unavoidable appointment during his AM test+shot time. You said “ok to miss just one dose.” But what do I do next time, which I think is next week?
 
Is it possible to change the schedule to make it easier for you?
For example change the shot times to 8 and 8 or 7 and 7 permanently or another more suitable time?
 
My work schedule is the problem. I work all afternoon and evening, and the earliest I can be home regularly is 9:30 PM. This means his morning shot time is 9:30 AM, which doctors’ appointments, work meetings, etc. sometimes cut into.
 
My work schedule is the problem. I work all afternoon and evening, and the earliest I can be home regularly is 9:30 PM. This means his morning shot time is 9:30 AM, which doctors’ appointments, work meetings, etc. sometimes cut into.
Ok then you just have to work around that.
Try and always be on time for the shots and if there are times when you can't, then post and ask what's the best alternative. In time you will be confident to make those decisions, but until then, ask for guidance.
You have to live as well.
I would look at getting a chipped timed feeder for Maxie so you are sure he gets his food. If you had another feeder that went off at the same times as the chipped one, the other cats could eat from that and Maxie could eat from his.
 
Ok then you just have to work around that.
Try and always be on time for the shots and if there are times when you can't, then post and ask what's the best alternative. In time you will be confident to make those decisions, but until then, ask for guidance.
You have to live as well.
I would look at getting a chipped timed feeder for Maxie so you are sure he gets his food. If you had another feeder that went off at the same times as the chipped one, the other cats could eat from that and Maxie could eat from his.

I will see about changing any future doctors’ appointments.
The problem with the chip-reading feeders is that while Maxi has his feeder activated, his brother Rudi will put his face in the bowl right next to Maxi’s face.
 
I will see about changing any future doctors’ appointments.
The problem with the chip-reading feeders is that while Maxi has his feeder activated, his brother Rudi will put his face in the bowl right next to Maxi’s face.
Cheeky Rudi!
If Rudi had his own feeder, wouldn't he eat from that?
 
Any way you could modify your thread title? You might consider changing it since you've gotten excellent advice from Bron so the title is really no longer accurate...the best title now would be the usual format:

Date / cat name/ AMPS

Thank you!
 
If unmonitored, they would both go to each other‘s feeders/bowls. I’m always next to them when they eat to make sure everybody gets the right food and the right amount.
I know what’s it’s like feeding more than one cat. I feed mine in different areas and they are pretty good at only eating their own but I’m sure that would not be the case if I wasn’t home.
 
Bron, I would like to let you know that I was able to finish with my appointment earlier than expected, race home, and give Maxi his AM shot only 20 minutes late. So I'll give him his PM shot 10 minutes late tonight and then back to regular timing tomorrow. How's that?
 
Karen, you are a good mama to Maxi. He is lucky to have you.

Thank you, Bron! But what I meant to ask was: Do you think this 20 minutes late this morning, then 10 minutes late tonight, then back to normal time tomorrow is ok? I've read emphatic warnings about not deviating from the schedule in the slightest with Lantus.

I'm not Maxi's mama; I'm his sister. Here's his background in the Information section of our profile:
Maxi and his brother Rudi showed up in 2009 at my parents' house in the countryside in Indiana. My parents would see them come through the woods, first Rudi (who is bigger) and then Maxi following right behind him. We're sure they're brothers. They have a lot of the same mannerisms and they love each other.
My dad passed away. Horrendous. My mom passed away. Unbearable.
My mom was Rudi and Maxi's caregiver. I took over care of the boys. I love them both so very much in their own right, but I also feel that they are each a little living piece of my mom, and I'm very scared of losing them too. So, I'm really glad to be able to rely on the knowledgeable people here to help me keep Maxi as healthy as possible.

So, I think of Maxi and Rudi as my brothers because their mom is (was) my mom. :)

I know you were a good mama to Sheba and she was lucky to have you. I'm sorry she's not (physically) with you anymore.
 
Thanks for sharing your story. I am so sorry for your loss. Losing ones parents is very hard :bighug:

As far as timing is concerned, as long as you are within 1/2 hour of the shot time you are fine. If you are 1/2 hour late or early today, just go back to normal time tomorrow.

Ideally, giving shots exactly on time is best but that can’t always be done. Life gets in the way.
Always check the BG before every shot to see it is safe to give the insulin and test during the cycles when you can.
Keep asking questions and reading the yellow stickies at the top of the Lantus page.
 
Back
Top