139 +12 stalling

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenni

Member Since 2015
was unable to get the G readings until right before planned insulin shoot. Has a rating of 139 and I do not want to risk giving him insulin right now. We are new to this. last Friday he had a probable hypo incident and I do not feel comfortable giving him insulin with his number this low. It is the lowest reading I have ever got from him. What do I do?
 
also did take the BG reading right after food. I know the reading should be taken at least 2 hours after food but the situation could not be helped this time.
 
Since he's just eaten you have the option of waiting 2 hours without further feeding and testing again then, however that would mean that you're AM shot will also need to be delayed significantly if a decision to shoot is made later. If your schedule can't accomodate that you may as well skip and get a good nights sleep. I would be especially concerned about shooting Smudges low at this point since based on his spreadsheet missing some PS tests I'm guessing that you're still having a little trouble with testing.
 
Better too high for a day than too low for a moment.
Skip tonight.
Yes, he'll be high in the morning; that will pass.
 
we are definitely going through some ups and downs with the testing. Smudges has also been throwing up due to the change in diet trying to get him on wet food. There was some vomit this morning as well as sometime today while I was at work. I have two dogs and two cats so it is unclear who did it but based on Smudges' vomiting pattern lately I can only assume it was him. it is mostly bile with some very strange red matter in it which is freaking me out and I cannot identify. Usually he will throw up what is clearly all wet food.I'm thinking I should skip the insulin tonight but I will text him again in 2 hours to see where he is at. Thank you for getting back to me.
 
You haven't tried to swap straight onto wet have you? You need to bring the wet in slowly to try and avoid stomach issues.

To edit your subject line go back to your first post. On the top right hand side there's a button called thread tools (or something like that) click on that and you'll get the button to edit the subject.
 
I have been trying to slowly transition the wet food in with the dry for over a week now. He was handling it fairly well until last Friday's episode. He has never had much interest in wet food but has even less now. Transitioning to wet food seems impossible at this point. He is handling the transition to Evo cat and kitten dry which is low carb but I have also been trying the wet food with little success.
 
One thing you can try is to put a little of the wet food on top of his paws. Cat's can't stand to have something there and will lick it off fairly quickly...and he may decide he likes it at some point!!

Time to find your "Inner carnivore" Smudge!
 
Even when he is interested in eating wet food he will vomit it shortly after. He has always had a sensitive stomach and even the smallest amount of wet food will make him vomit.
 
the vet has recommended stopping the transition of wet food for now and give his body time to adjust to the insulin.
 
Giving him time to adjust works too, it will also give you the opportunity to perfect the testing before you try again :)
 
If you look at www.catinfo.org there is a section on transitioning dry food addicts. There might be something new there you haven't tried yet.

You do want him to keep eating, even if it's the dry food. Do the best you can.
 
it is now 2 hours later and his BG is 329. I was planning to skip his shot but wondering if it is okay to give him a reduced shot tonight and then his regular shot in 10 hours as normal. He currently receives 1.25 units of Lantus twice daily. What would be an appropriate dosage if I give him a shot tonight?
 
No...if you give a shot now, you'd need to change his shot tomorrow to 12 hours later

If you can't make that kind of adjustment, it's better to just forget it tonight and then you can shoot whenever you want to in the morning.
 
I agree with Chris. You may have already made the decision, but just to reinforce that you do want 12 hrs between shots unless you've got someone with experience to look at his spreadsheet and let you know that it's ok to shoot early. Because Lantus is a depot insulin, meaning it builds up in the body and slow-releases, if you shoot early it acts like a dose increase. You're increasing the overlap between the end of one shot's cycle and the beginning of the next shot's onset of action.

Everybody has a "fur shot" once in a while where the whole dose doesn't get in for some reason - sometimes the needle pokes through the skin and the insulin goes outside the body, or the needle bends, or the kitty moves when you're shooting and the needle comes out. When that happens, you never reshoot, and you just know that the kitty might be high for a little while until they recover from the fur shot. You can count skipping the shot tonight as a furshot - he'll recover from it. Just skip the shot tonight and shoot when you want to in the morning. He'll be ok.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top