135 PM

Status
Not open for further replies.

52weeks

Member
Tested 135 at 12 hours.
Nobody panic, I'm not shooting him 3 units but I would like some advice on how to manage this low a number
Thanks
 
First, I'd get another test and make sure it was right. If you can stall and not feed for 20 minutes, he might rise enough to shoot. (I am wondering if he'll have a fast bounce) Or he may stay low and you'll need to skip.
 
He spent a lot of today in hiding. He is disappointed to come home and find the dog still lives here. He was very extroverted in the hotel all weekend, so I think that is truth.
 
Sorry Melissa, that is strange to me that his PMPS was so much lower then his +8.. But I definately am not too experienced at this, just an observation from me. I loved the bit about him being disapointed to find the dog still living there ;) Hope you and BC have a great day :)
 
It may take him awhile to get back on track after the skipped shot. I'd give it this cycle and maybe reevaluate tonight.

The dose that gave you the 135 is most likely too high, unless the 135 was a bad test. Skipping (which was the right thing to do) messed him up for a cycle.
 
Well we will see. It's been coming down all day but was way too high this morning. He still doesn't seem overly interested in food but he's out and about and being social, so that's good.
 
As long as he's feeling good thats a great sign :) Hopefully he'll settle back into his routine now that he's home and his numbers will come back down!
 
It makes sense. Skipping a shot will most likely mean that the next preshot will be high, after 24 hours without insulin. So, today the dose is bringing him down. He had a long way to drop but it's interesting that he is continuing to drop. I hope he is high enough to dose tonight.
 
Ok his food is ready and I'm armed with the trusty stinky cheese in case he's uninterested.

What do you guys think? Stick with 3 units? I'm feeling insecure
 
I'm thinking reducing a little. 4 units dropped him him almost 300 points. If it reduced this pmps by 50%, he'd go down to the mid 100s. That'd probably be okay, but since it's night time and you probably won't be able to test as much.

What would you think about 2.5 or even 2 units? 3 units gave you a green on 5/10 and you had to skip and that preshot was higher.
 
I will say if you are nervous about giving 3 units since he's lower then he has been at PM I would bring it down a little if it was me giving the insulin. You have to go with your gut. How long can you monitor tonight? Hopefully someone else with more experience will chime in!

Edit: Sue to the rescue! Thanks Sue :)
 
I went with 2.5. He ate almost a whole can of FF, which rarely happens for him. I'll be up for around 3-4 hours, and can give him a couple of treats before bed if necessary.

He did see me coming with the shot and ran under the big bed, but I've already taken the mattress out once just to fetch him so as soon as he saw me pulling the mattress out, he came out on his own and stood there giving me the stink eye :D
 
I'm thinking reducing a little. 4 units dropped him him almost 300 points. If it reduced this pmps by 50%, he'd go down to the mid 100s. That'd probably be okay, but since it's night time and you probably won't be able to test as much.

What would you think about 2.5 or even 2 units? 3 units gave you a green on 5/10 and you had to skip and that preshot was higher.

I won't be readily available during midday tomorrow, either. I went with 2.5. I'll prolly go with that in the AM, too, depending.
 
He probably stood there looking at you like "look what you've gone and done!" Crazy cats :cat:

I wanted to say thanks for the food cheat sheet! I think I'll change their food. I was thinking about homemade but need something in the interim. I throw away half a can of FF every time I open one, and that's with four cats. So I need to find something else for them. That really helps and I'll be able to find it while I'm in the store.
 
I started by printing out the original list from catinfo.org but got tired of fumbling through it looking for under 10% foods. When i ran across that post with the shortcut list I had to link it. It's nice to be able to share it quickly and easy for me to access from the store :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top