134 AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

lauramarie

Member Since 2012
Hi there, Junior was 134 @ 7 am. How long should I wait to test again to decide his shot or not?

Laura
 
168 30 min after eating. Come 8:30 am, if still low going to let him ride the day out and see where we're @ for PMPS
 
Good morning Laura -

If Junior's numbers are that low, I woudl NOT shoot. Others with more experience will probably be able to suggest what to do, but I don't shoot until Grayson he is at least 250.

From what I recall hearing, and my observations w/ Grayson, the food usually spikes his number about 30-40 points, takes 2 hours to clear, and when you've fed him, because the number is raised by the food, I believe that you're supposed to shoot the PRE FOOD number. I'd keep checking his numbers every 1/2 hour or hour, and if 2 hours passes, and it's at least 250, then I'd shoot. Depending on how low or high it is, you may need to shoot a reduced dose. At least that's what I was told.
 
Good morning! ~O)

When a kitty tests below 200, wait to feed and test again in 20-30 minutes so a dose can be determined. I know it can be frustrating, especially if the furry butts are demanding food. :-D Once a kitty has been fed, the food can influence the BG numbers from 30 minutes and up to a couple of hours after, and test numbers should not be used as dosing numbers.

I'd skip the shot for this morning...unless you're wanting to change the shot schedule. (i.e., if you give a shot in 4 hours, that makes the next shot 12 hours later.)
 
Thanks, I had this posted in another topic as well and Carl got back to me. I decided to skip. Junior is chasing birds at the moment, gonna get him in soon to resume 1-2 hour tests and see what happens for PM. Going to call the vet to let him in on what's happening, see what he says. I'll let ya all know!!!!
 
Junior seems to be doing way better than I thought with no insulin. He's come down. My doctor is off today so had to talk to the one out of the 6 I hate dealing with. She suggested 1.5 u tonight. I gave her the breakdown of his day yesterday and she complained about PZI not being long lasting and what a shame the one that used to work the best was being taken off the market (for some reason i did not ask which one, assuming.) I just wanted to get off the phone with her. If PMPS is shootable, i'm only doing 1u MAX.
 
I would go with the one unit. He got a lot of mileage out of that 1.5. If it proves not to be enough, you can always raise it next time.
 
Laura,
I'm sorry, I never saw the new thread since this morning. I think it got buried under the few that were really active this afternoon and evening.
OK, here's what I am thinking....

Last night, you shot 1.5 into a PMPS of 474, and Junior got a real long duration from that dose. It wasn't until 16 hours later that he started to climb much, and then he sort of just surfed along at that level for a few more hours.
Tonight's number is really not that different than last night's number. Well within the meter's range of error/variance.

I am thinking that 1.5 might have the same effect overnight tonight, and you might be in the same place in the morning....wondering whether or not to shoot. Is there any way you can compromise between 1.5 and 1.0? Can you eyeball 1.25?

Carl
 
Omg, the stress! I'm gonna stick w 1.0. And just start fresh in the am. My next thread may be a picture of the surringe @ what I think is 1.5!
Thanks everyone
 
Hey that's a good idea on the pic.

Laura,
No stress. I want you to look back about a month from now at these recent threads. I'm betting you think "wow, it really wasn't that bad looking back on it now"... :smile:
 
the 1 u shot is in and done. actually took the picture but was in terrible light. Now i'm gonna figure it out to post lookin good!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top