You're still on Prozinc? Thought you had switched already haha. You did a good job testing him.
MC is 13% - 15%
HC is 16% + (I usually recommend getting something around 18-20%).
Check the catinfo site, the
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers are a good choice to sort through.
Honestly I don't use MC too much, I think people mainly use it if they suspect numbers are dropping more/faster than they'd like but aren't near danger-zone to require HC.
HC is used when BG drops below 50 on a human meter.
- Below 50: This is considered the “take action” number. If the blood sugar is permitted to go lower, the cat is in danger of experiencing a hypoglycemic event.
- Retest immediately to determine the reading is accurate
- Feed high-carb food and recheck blood glucose in 15 minutes
- Repeat as necessary, testing every 15-20 minutes for at least two hours.
- Once over 50, follow advice for numbers between 50-70
* Reduce dose by 0.25 units immediately
- 50 – 70: This is an intervention range. Feed 1-2 tsp of low-carb food and retest in 20-30 minutes.
- If dropping, offer a little more low-carb food and repeat process
- If holding, no more food but retest in 30 minutes to be sure they are no longer dropping
- If rising and over 70, no more food and take a break
- Retest in an hour to make sure they don’t dip back down again
- Kitty must be able to go 2 hours without food propping the numbers up
- Every time you have to feed mid/high-carb food, the 2 hour clock starts over
This is a rough guide I wrote down for myself after needing some guidance with low numbers here, I kept it in the front of my physical log book to reference in case no one was available here ... however you may wish to break out the M/HC sooner if you are early in the cycle with more dropping to come.
I think
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) knows of some foods without carrageenan and guar gum? ZiwiPeak comes to mind maybe. You could also do a homemade diet so there's no additives ... most food I've seen without the gums are on the pricier side so it can be cheaper to make it yourself.