Joy W
Member Since 2021
Minerva's AMPS yesterday was 18.8ish (338) and I gave her the full dose.
I was then able to get her admitted into the vet immediately afterwards, rather than waiting for a consult at 3.30 in the afternoon. They ran a range of tests, and all were normal including pancreatitis enzyme (and no signs of DKA) but her amylase was slightly raised so they decided to treat it like pancreatitis based on her symptoms and the amylase. We had the option of out-patient care as they thought it was a mild case easily managed, but as I am going away again this afternoon, G was worried about doing all of the meds by himself at home, so we admitted her.
They fitted a feeding tube yesterday and are/will be using anti-nausea, pain, and appetite stimulant drugs.
Her PMPS at the vet last night was over 18 again (can't remember the exact number) so they gave her the full dose, but due to their staffing hours it was about 1 hour 45 early, which I didn't love.
They just called to give me an update for today (about 10am my time). Her morning AMPS was 2.8 (50.4) so they skipped insulin and started her on a dextrose drip, and then she actually started having a mild seizure while they were on the phone to me so they have upped her dextrose and will reduce her insulin for future doses.
They said her prognosis is still good but the diabetes makes it trickier, but they are aiming to have her ready to come home on Friday, but that I should be aware that nothing is guaranteed.
I stopped by to see her on my way home last night, she had her tube and her cone and her drip, she was awake but perhaps a bit groggy (they lightly sedated her for her tube insert),or maybe not groggy but just unhappy, she was not very interactive (no vocalisations, no moving, no purring, none of which is that surprising) other than she did push her head into my hand when I reached into her cone to scratch behind her whiskers.
I leave today for a work trip and don't get home until Tuesday. I am so worried that things might go wrong while I am away and I might not get to go see her again, so I am trying very hard to focus on the "very good prognosis" part so that I don't fall apart completely during my work trip.
I would love to hear some good pancreatitis recovery stories.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...238-11-5-381-no-appetite.265647/#post-2974458
I was then able to get her admitted into the vet immediately afterwards, rather than waiting for a consult at 3.30 in the afternoon. They ran a range of tests, and all were normal including pancreatitis enzyme (and no signs of DKA) but her amylase was slightly raised so they decided to treat it like pancreatitis based on her symptoms and the amylase. We had the option of out-patient care as they thought it was a mild case easily managed, but as I am going away again this afternoon, G was worried about doing all of the meds by himself at home, so we admitted her.
They fitted a feeding tube yesterday and are/will be using anti-nausea, pain, and appetite stimulant drugs.
Her PMPS at the vet last night was over 18 again (can't remember the exact number) so they gave her the full dose, but due to their staffing hours it was about 1 hour 45 early, which I didn't love.
They just called to give me an update for today (about 10am my time). Her morning AMPS was 2.8 (50.4) so they skipped insulin and started her on a dextrose drip, and then she actually started having a mild seizure while they were on the phone to me so they have upped her dextrose and will reduce her insulin for future doses.
They said her prognosis is still good but the diabetes makes it trickier, but they are aiming to have her ready to come home on Friday, but that I should be aware that nothing is guaranteed.
I stopped by to see her on my way home last night, she had her tube and her cone and her drip, she was awake but perhaps a bit groggy (they lightly sedated her for her tube insert),or maybe not groggy but just unhappy, she was not very interactive (no vocalisations, no moving, no purring, none of which is that surprising) other than she did push her head into my hand when I reached into her cone to scratch behind her whiskers.
I leave today for a work trip and don't get home until Tuesday. I am so worried that things might go wrong while I am away and I might not get to go see her again, so I am trying very hard to focus on the "very good prognosis" part so that I don't fall apart completely during my work trip.
I would love to hear some good pancreatitis recovery stories.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...238-11-5-381-no-appetite.265647/#post-2974458