13/5 Monkey AMPS 534

PH&MonkeyPenPenFaFaTiger

Member Since 2020
Monkey BG is overall high today, an unusual pattern :( I was thinking if it is because my family measure the dose incorrectly, that is less 1.5. However she said she is very sure it is 1.5 and show me the dose she inject.

Tmr is the third day I increase his dose to 1.5 Should I increase the dose to 1.75 the day after tmr.

Monkey is having great appetite. His fur grows a lot his week, his skin is improving quickly.. He looks completely fine.

Yes, the amount fed each cycle should be around the same amount. That is because food has an effect on the BG and if you feed a lot in one cycle and then not much in another cycle, it is hard to gauge the effect of the insulin because everything is not the same in each cycle. Does that make sense?
It doesn’t have to be the exact same amount but try and keep it around the same general amounts. And if you feed at +2 +4 and +6 for example, try and do the same for all the cycles.
If you are trying to slow the drop in a cycle that can change it around a bit but try to generally give food in the same general time frames.
I hope I have explained OK.
You are doing a great job Peter!

Thanks for saying me I am doing a good job:kiss:. Since Monkey is having such unstable BG, I often doubt my ability to take care of him, that may add some stress.

As we have discuss, I feed more in the morning cycle because we notice his bounce happen in PM and we want to prevent sharp fall in BG in AM cycle. Do you think I should change to adopt the practice of feeding the same amount every cycle.

Also, I want to ask since Monkey has great appetite. Should I feed Monkey more can food to speed up his recovery? Now he is eating 160g of Can food plus 80g of chicken each day. That is like double or triple of other cat in my house. What I worry is feeding cause his BG to increase, then we need more insulin. And great amount of food and high dose become a risk factor of hypoglycermia:confused:
 
Last edited:
Hi Peter,
It looks like Monkey is bouncing again. Let’s see if he comes down in one of the next couple of cycles before deciding on an increase. Hopefully he will. I doubt his high numbers are from your family not giving the correct dose. I think it’s from bouncing.
 
I agree, it probably wasn't an incorrectly measured shot.

I'm glad Monkey is acting like he feels well and his fur is growing out. Those high numbers are tough to see, but it's important to remember, our cats are more than their numbers!
 
Hi Peter,
It looks like Monkey is bouncing again. Let’s see if he comes down in one of the next couple of cycles before deciding on an increase. Hopefully he will. I doubt his high numbers are from your family not giving the correct dose. I think it’s from bouncing.

I think he is bouncing in AM cycle therefore the BG fall is significantly less than his norm. If this is true, then it is the first time he bounce at AM cycle. Please see my first post as I have edited and asked new question. \
Btw, what remission requirement for PenPen, he is green all day.
 
Hi Peter--

As long as the food is low-carb, it won't cause huge swings in BG, and I wouldn't worry that what you are doing with feeding is causing his high numbers. Unfortunately, some cats take a while to regulate, looks like Monkey is just one of those kitties. I would keep doing what you are doing, and as long as Monkey does not become overweight, you can feed him more while he is not regulated. He needs some extra calories at this point because his body isn't able to take full advantage of what he's eating.

PenPen is looking really good! He is getting close to the point where you can start an OTJ trial. Not quite time yet, as last week he was seeing a lot of blue still. I think keep going with the drop for a little longer, see if he can keep the all-green going consistently for at least a week (one or two blue numbers OK).
 
Hi Peter--

As long as the food is low-carb, it won't cause huge swings in BG, and I wouldn't worry that what you are doing with feeding is causing his high numbers. Unfortunately, some cats take a while to regulate, looks like Monkey is just one of those kitties. I would keep doing what you are doing, and as long as Monkey does not become overweight, you can feed him more while he is not regulated. He needs some extra calories at this point because his body isn't able to take full advantage of what he's eating.

PenPen is looking really good! He is getting close to the point where you can start an OTJ trial. Not quite time yet, as last week he was seeing a lot of blue still. I think keep going with the drop for a little longer, see if he can keep the all-green going consistently for at least a week (one or two blue numbers OK).

But what I observed is whenever he eats, the BG increases even with the effect of insulin injection. Why it does not cause swings in BG?
 
Hi Peter, I agree with Nan that PenPen is looking great but not quite there yet. Keep going for another week and hopefully he will stay in all green. It’s good to see one test during the cycle as well.

I also agree with what Nan has said about Monkey. Because he is unregulated, he will need more food because his body can’t absorb all the nutrients at the moment. That will improve when the BGs are normal. How is his weight?

Monkey’s BGs are like many other diabetic cats are. Many bounce especially in the beginning. You are not doing anything wrong.
You just have one cat that has responded really well and quickly and is almost at remission and one that is taking longer. It is much more common for cats to be like Monkey and take longer. Keep doing what you are doing. You are doing a good job. Would love to see another photo of monkey sometime.
 
Back
Top