13/3 RosyAMPS301/+3.5 391/+6.5 484PMPS446/+7 308

Status
Not open for further replies.

tortie58

Member Since 2012
Previous

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66014


AMPS 301 gave canned & 1.5u

Food is now given at AMPS, +6, tiny bit at +9, PMPS & +6
Having Wiskas canned (dont know if LC or not mixed with Wellness Core) + steamed chicken at PMPS

:?: Question:
1) Since Im controlling the food intake & the dosage, why is there still a fluctuation in the bg? I thought Rosy should have kinda stable within the range?
2) If a cat throw up after the insulin injection & refuse to have food immediately; what do we do?

helen
 
Re: 13/3 Rosy AMPS 301

I'm not sure what you mean by a fluctuation. It's also very hard to interpret what's going on without some additional spot checks. If Rosy's BG level drops into lower ranges, it's possible that the higher numbers are a bounce. However, there's no way to know this without some tests during the cycle. Remember, Lantus dose changes are based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot numbers.

Lantus onset begins approximately 2 hours after a shot. So, you do have some time to make sure Rosy eats. The worst case scenario is that you could syringe feed.
 
Re: 13/3 Rosy AMPS 301/+3.5 391/+6.5 484 what's happening?

+6.5 484

Is that a bounce? Just when Im trying to find her nadir, Rosy's giving me these figures! :cry:
 
Re: 13/3 Rosy AMPS 301/+3.5 391/+6.5 484 what's happening?

Chances are it is a bounce when the numbers go higher after insulin like that but other possibilities are:

a fur shot - do you check your injection site after shooting for wetness and/or smell it to see if you can smell insulin (if you don't wipe your syringe with a tissue after you have loaded it to get the excess insulin off you may feel a little wet and/or smell insulin anyway though)

a food spike for the +6.5 since I think you fed at +6. I don't think this is such a likely explanation though since she was already rising at +3.5

There is a graph floating around somewhere that shows what a cat's BG looks like for the first month or so on Lantus (unfortunately I haven't been able to find it for you) but it shows that a cat will bounce all over the place in the starting phase.
 
Re: 13/3 Rosy AMPS 301/+3.5 391/+6.5 484 what's happening?

Vyktors Mum said:
Chances are it is a bounce when the numbers go higher after insulin like that but other possibilities are:

a fur shot - do you check your injection site after shooting for wetness and/or smell it to see if you can smell insulin (if you don't wipe your syringe with a tissue after you have loaded it to get the excess insulin off you may feel a little wet and/or smell insulin anyway though)

a food spike for the +6.5 since I think you fed at +6. I don't think this is such a likely explanation though since she was already rising at +3.5

There is a graph floating around somewhere that shows what a cat's BG looks like for the first month or so on Lantus (unfortunately I haven't been able to find it for you) but it shows that a cat will bounce all over the place in the starting phase.

Every time after the shot, I always check to see if I did a fur shot or not. Unfortunately the dosage is so little that it is almost impossible to find any trace of wetness. And I never shoot when Rosy was eating. I shoot her after she finished her food & properly settled since I am afraid of a fur shot.
Rosy has been on Lantus since Dec and this 1.5u is already shot for a week already.
These figures are so frustrating to me since I cannot understand why that happened & made me feel all these test I was doing is irrelevant :-|
Okay, really I should not rant. Rosy is a living being...
 
Re: 13/3 Rosy AMPS 301/+3.5 391/+6.5 484 what's happening?

A bounce occurs when numbers drop into ranges a cat's body isn't used to or numbers drop quickly. As a result, the liver "panics" and releases a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones. This causes BG to spike upward into high numbers. For example, on March 8, Rosy was in numbers below 200. Her BG then jumped into the 500s. That's a bounce. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.

Please, can you get at least one spot check at night? It's very difficult to help you with dosing decisions if half of your data is missing.
 
Re: 13/3 Rosy AMPS 301/+3.5 391/+6.5 484 what's happening?

Hi guys .. no advice from me .. I was never sure what was a bounce and what was just a high number .. I do agree spot checks are super helpful, if you can get them .. hang in there, I know it's extremely frustrating .. it takes time ..
 
Re: 13/3 Rosy AMPS 301/+3.5 391/+6.5 484 what's happening?

The other thing to keep in mind is that every cat is different (ECID), and unfortunately there are no guarantees with FD.Things can change from day to day...it happened with us all of a sudden last fall, when Trixie - who was well regulated for months, suddenly fell out of regulation. We had to raise her dose from 1.25 (which she had been on for a long time) to 2.75 to regain control. It happens.

Likewise, the timing of the nadir is no guarantee...some cats nadir early; some late; some right at that +6. But, of course, since they are cats, even this can change within one cat.

These is actually some of the reasons why all those tests are so important...so you always know how she reacts to the insulin and food, and to see if her needs have changed, because they certainly can. There's no such thing as an inrrelevant test!

You're doing great...just a few more spot checks will help fill in some of the blanks!
 
Re: 13/3 RosyAMPS301/+3.5 391/+6.5 484PMPS446 what's happeni

Amy&TrixieCat said:
The other thing to keep in mind is that every cat is different (ECID), and unfortunately there are no guarantees with FD.Things can change from day to day...it happened with us all of a sudden last fall, when Trixie - who was well regulated for months, suddenly fell out of regulation. We had to raise her dose from 1.25 (which she had been on for a long time) to 2.75 to regain control. It happens.

Likewise, the timing of the nadir is no guarantee...some cats nadir early; some late; some right at that +6. But, of course, since they are cats, even this can change within one cat.

These is actually some of the reasons why all those tests are so important...so you always know how she reacts to the insulin and food, and to see if her needs have changed, because they certainly can. There's no such thing as an inrrelevant test!

You're doing great...just a few more spot checks will help fill in some of the blanks!

Thanks Amy&TrixieCat for that info. I'm just wondering how can we manage such unpredictable furry baby of ours.

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. no advice from me .. I was never sure what was a bounce and what was just a high number .. I do agree spot checks are super helpful, if you can get them .. hang in there, I know it's extremely frustrating .. it takes time ..

Hi PeterDevonMocha, I agree with you 100%. Thanks for the encouragement! As long as we can keep our sugar babies within a "safe zone" we'll be so happy and all the extra effort well paid off!

Sienne and Gabby said:
A bounce occurs when numbers drop into ranges a cat's body isn't used to or numbers drop quickly. As a result, the liver "panics" and releases a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones. This causes BG to spike upward into high numbers. For example, on March 8, Rosy was in numbers below 200. Her BG then jumped into the 500s. That's a bounce. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.

Please, can you get at least one spot check at night? It's very difficult to help you with dosing decisions if half of your data is missing.

So a cat will prone to bounce many times when their bg entre into a lower range? Is that how they work? I'll try to get more data from Rosy during the night. Tks Sienne and Gabby.
 
Re: 13/3 RosyAMPS301/+3.5 391/+6.5 484PMPS446 what's happeni

PMPS 446 gave steamed chicken 1.5u shot

:?: Question:
Why is the PMPS number lower than a +6? This is so confusing to me :?
 
Re: 13/3 RosyAMPS301/+3.5 391/+6.5 484PMPS446 what's happeni

With the 20% meter variance the +6.5 and PMPS are pretty much the same number but it certainly can happen - look at Vyktor today +4 274 +10 133 PMPS 68. This happened with him today because he was clearing his bounce.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top