13/12 Mo - AMPS 347, +6 328, +9 405, PMPS 401 - Now at 6 units

katy and mo (GA)

Member Since 2020
Previous post

Yesterday's numbers:
AMPS 416, +3 324, +6 331, PMPS 315, +4 301

We increased Mo to 6 units yesterday. He's been pretty perky and cuddly today and started doing his loud purrs again. His numbers aren't reflecting how I would expect them to be given he seems pretty happy. So I'm trying not to stress about the 400s we have been getting recently. Hopefully we can figure out why he is so high soon. I'm putting him purely on FF for the next couple of days. I'm worried that the Ziwipeak is giving him higher numbers. It's unlikely but I just want to rule it out because I know he reacts well to just a FF diet.

I've been so stressed since his diagnosis trying to do my best for Mo and we just don't seem to be getting anywhere. He is as high as he was when he was first diagnosed. I'm really thinking he might be insulin resistant in some way. I'm going to book him in to see the vet next week so I can discuss with them the next steps. Hopefully we can get some somewhere before Christmas.

Wishing you all a wonderful day :bighug:
 
I'm sure this has already been mentioned, but I've not been on the forum a lot lately - has Mo been tested for acromegaly/IAA, those are the suspects once the numbers continue to be too high and the insulin just keeps going up and up...

There are a lot of folks on this forum with much more experience than I about those topics...
 
I know it's so hard not to stress about the higher numbers. But Mo is more than just his numbers and it's wonderful to hear he is a happy boy today. I hope you can get some answers from a vet/testing. :bighug:
 
I'm sure this has already been mentioned, but I've not been on the forum a lot lately - has Mo been tested for acromegaly/IAA, those are the suspects once the numbers continue to be too high and the insulin just keeps going up and up...

There are a lot of folks on this forum with much more experience than I about those topics...
He hasn't. But that's something I'm going to speak to the vet about this week.
 
As someone who also had a kitty who's numbers kept rising in spite of insulin, I can relate to your stress. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
His numbers aren't reflecting how I would expect them to be given he seems pretty happy.
That is very important to keep in mind. Kitties are so much more than their numbers. And cats often start behaving like they are feeling better, as they approach a dose that makes a difference in their numbers. Insulin is a hormone, not a drug, so it's not always clear by the BG numbers that the dose is getting better.

Glad to hear you are going to talk to the vet. It took me quite a while to get the vet to agree to testing, the clinic owner called them exotic tests. I had to ask her to humour me.
 
As someone who also had a kitty who's numbers kept rising in spite of insulin, I can relate to your stress. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

That is very important to keep in mind. Kitties are so much more than their numbers. And cats often start behaving like they are feeling better, as they approach a dose that makes a difference in their numbers. Insulin is a hormone, not a drug, so it's not always clear by the BG numbers that the dose is getting better.

This is really interesting to know, thank you :) You are right about kitties being more than their numbers. I'm hoping that Mo feeling a bit better is a sign of good things to come!

Glad to hear you are going to talk to the vet. It took me quite a while to get the vet to agree to testing, the clinic owner called them exotic tests. I had to ask her to humour me.

My vet did mention the other day that she didn't think Mo had Acromegaly, so that's a sign she at least knows about it and just insulin resistance in general! I'm taking what she said there with a grain of salt though because of what I've read on here. I'm much rather have confirmation by having a test done.

Thank you so much for your support :bighug:
 
Knowing what you are, or aren’t dealing with is important. Cause then you know how to treat and dose going forward.
 
Back
Top