13/12/2021 - Whiskey PMPS 97 +3 193 AMPS 211

stannarp

Member Since 2021
Hi all, so her PMPS is 97 (happy dance), which is a no shoot number.

Question is, based on her charts, has she earned a reduction to 0.5?

I'm planning a curve today or tomorrow, but would rather not overshoot tm AM if at all possible!
 
If I am not too late, stall, don’t feed and recheck in 20-30 minutes. Reductions are earned on SLGS by a test under 90.
 
She's already eaten (hangry), but I will try for another test before sleep and a curve tomorrow.

If her 2 hour post chobbles test is shootable, do I shoot?
 
She's already eaten (hangry), but I will try for another test before sleep and a curve tomorrow.

If her 2 hour post chobbles test is shootable, do I shoot?
Yes, you could shoot them. The question is will you then be able to test more if needed. You also could choose at that point to shoot a token dose of .25 and go back to .75 in the morning. Your new shot time would be 12 hours from when you shoot though. You can work your way back to the desired time by shooting 15 minutes early each cycle or 30 minutes all at once every 24 hours.

The best way to handle a low Amps /pmps is to stall without food and retest in 20-30 minutes to see if you have a shootable number. That way shot time remains unchanged.
 
Thanks, will remember for future, if I can get her to wait.

Problem is that she is so conditioned to getting her food after testing in the morning and evening (especially if as I put it away for 2 hours before) that it is hard to manage the hangry, especially as she takes it out on poor George. George is 16 and has now taken to hiding under the tables, and I also need to consider him; as Whiskey came into the house after his companion of 11 years (Saskia) suddenly passed away, and I think he is still grieving for her, as they were incredibly close (Sas was also my baby, so I am definitely still grieving).

Have invested in a feliway diffuser to try to calm things down a bit with her and him, so I am hoping that as it starts taking effect the possiblity of stalling might be higher.
 
Thanks, will remember for future, if I can get her to wait.

Problem is that she is so conditioned to getting her food after testing in the morning and evening (especially if as I put it away for 2 hours before) that it is hard to manage the hangry, especially as she takes it out on poor George. George is 16 and has now taken to hiding under the tables, and I also need to consider him; as Whiskey came into the house after his companion of 11 years (Saskia) suddenly passed away, and I think he is still grieving for her, as they were incredibly close (Sas was also my baby, so I am definitely still grieving).

Have invested in a feliway diffuser to try to calm things down a bit with her and him, so I am hoping that as it starts taking effect the possiblity of stalling might be higher.
So I use stall tactics for LM. Take extra long using restroom. Take time getting testing supplies ready...getting food bowl ready etc.. he seems calmer if I look busy...like he thinks I'm preparing to feed him and he is good with that LOL. May not work for you but an idea?;)
 
Given all of that I think you should try a decrease to .50. She was so close to a reduction and you need to find a dose that you can shoot every 12 hours.

I know how hard it is to lose a fur baby for the other cats. I think the stress is what caused Max to develop chronic pancreatitis which likely led to him becoming diabetic.
 
So I use stall tactics for LM. Take extra long using restroom. Take time getting testing supplies ready...getting food bowl ready etc.. he seems calmer if I look busy...like he thinks I'm preparing to feed him and he is good with that LOL. May not work for you but an idea?;)

Also a possibility. It works for a short time with her, but not for long. I've noticed she's becoming less obsessed with food though, which is a good sign.

She's even leaving a bit in the dish for later and eating less now.
 
Also a possibility. It works for a short time with her, but not for long. I've noticed she's becoming less obsessed with food though, which is a good sign.

She's even leaving a bit in the dish for later and eating less now.
That is excellent! I noticed that he isnt quite as food obsessed most of time now either. You only need to stall 20 to 30 mins so it may work.
 
Given all of that I think you should try a decrease to .50.
Will see how she is in the morning, and if I can get in a pre bedtime shot. Will add both numbers to the subject line as I get them.

I won't move her shot time tonight, as I've actually been trying to keep it relatively early as we need to go out tomorrow night.
 
<3 it's so wonderful you saved her!
At the time we didn't know she was diabetic.

She just seemed right for so many reasons,not least of which was that she was (literally) dumped at the shelter on the exact day Saskia died.

I'm just really hoping she and George will get over the rocky start after she stabilizes a bit and at least have a cordial relationship.
 
At the time we didn't know she was diabetic.

She just seemed right for so many reasons,not least of which was that she was (literally) dumped at the shelter on the exact day Saskia died.

I'm just really hoping she and George will get over the rocky start after she stabilizes a bit and at least have a cordial relationship.
I am sure they will be able to have a cordial relationship. My civvie Madison and LM are cordial. Theyve been together over 12 years. They arent besties but they dont hate eachother LOL
 
Given all of that I think you should try a decrease to .50. She was so close to a reduction and you need to find a dose that you can shoot every 12 hours.

I know how hard it is to lose a fur baby for the other cats. I think the stress is what caused Max to develop chronic pancreatitis which likely led to him becoming diabetic.

Yup, you were right.

+3 is 193.

Lesson learned. I'll definitely try to stall next time she throws me a curveball like that.

At least by then the feliway should have kicked in. We only plugged it in today, and there was a power failure for most of the day. So, if it works, stalling her for 30 minutes might become an option (holding thumbs!)
 
Back
Top