13/10 Django AMPS 333 Lantus dosing advice

Amy and Django

Member Since 2020
I posted here a couple of days ago and was advised to get more preshot values (link to post) https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-10-dosing-lantus-question.236707/

Django`s numbers are not budging and are staying at around 350 regardless of dosage. I realize that I increased the dose too fast for the SLGS method and that I also shouldn't have skipped a shot when I did. My question is what do I do now? Do I maintain at 1.5u twice a day or do I go back down? I feel horrible seeing him this high all the time

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1s4PdQ4-E8IWaiEswvsCr7jXqgzsmo7UDvYIO4jR9riE/edit#gid=5
 
Good Morning Amy,

Try not to feel too horrible about those numbers. Lantus is a depot insulin and it takes time for that depot to build up.
Since you're following the SLGS dosing method, you'll need to wait a few more days - at least 7 days at the same dose - before increasing.

Continue to get mid-cycle tests and lets see if he gets any lower on this current dose.

Any history of ketones with Django?
 
good morning

No history of ketones that I know of, but I only got strips recently and so have no idea if they have been an issue in the past. I haven't used them yet though. I bought the most cst effective ones... does brand make a difference?
 
So you're saying that you've checked his urine for ketones, after having just gotten the ketone testing strips? No presence of higher ketones.

If so, then I think you'll just need to ride out these numbers...it's the low numbers that are more concerning...

I'm happy to see that you're testing more :)

So... I just have to make a request - if you could please update your title - per the stickie here:https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-26-psa-please-read.231511/

Please edit your title and set it up like this: 10/13 Django AMPS 333 - dosing advice please... something like that...

This is a busy forum and your post is going to get lost in the shuffle as more and more people add condos...

Thank you!!
 
Hi no I haven't used the strips yet - it`s still warm out and I haven`t caught him in the litter in a while. Do I read the colours like I would for a human? I will change the title. Do I now remove the question mark since you've answered?
 
Do I read the colours like I would for a human?

Yes, there's a little scale on the side of the bottle, you have to hold it next to the bottle within 15 seconds of getting the urine on the strip.

A blood ketone meter is easier to use/read...but I guess the real question here is when he was diagnosed by the vet, did they say anything about ketones?

Do I now remove the question mark since you've answered?
Yes that's perfect. Thank you.
 
Back
Top