13/1 Mo - AMPS 347, PMPS 274

katy and mo (GA)

Member Since 2020
Yesterday

Oh Mo.... poor birds...better watch out...got a killer on the loose there. I used to have a civvie that was a killer too...I felt badly for the birds...not so much for the other rodents she used to catch...but there was no controlling her...occasionally I'd catch her in the act and go and take the bird away from her...before...well, you know...before she finished the poor creature off...she never really learned about why I'd do that...:rolleyes:

I do hope Mo finds his purr again soon...and so happy you've got an appointment with the specialist! Hope you get to the root of what's going on with Mr. Mo.

Have a wonderful day from one Tux mom to another!!

Oh yes, he is definitely a killer alright! We found him once sitting under Tim's office desk with a rat about half the size of Mo and he was sitting there very pleased with himself! He was very upset when Tim took the rat away. But not before he had to get a selfie with it...o_O

I'm glad Luci is well behaved in that department ;) Thank you Sue :bighug:

Yay for a short wait for the specialist!! You must be relieved.

I'm sure Mo will get his purrs back once his BGL starts to drop and he starts feeling better. Not long to wait! :bighug:
Thanks Laura! I am so relieved :) I did get some purrs out of Mo today, but I think it because it was nearly lunch time. Either way it's a win! hehe.

So I called the vet to cancel our appointment today because Mo is in a G R U M P Y mood and I didn't want to make him more stressed. I was able to speak with the vet about it and she was fine with it. She hasn't looked into other insulins as she is expecting the specialist to discuss that with me so we will just have to wait a few more weeks for that. However she did say that because 8.5 units is the threshold for where they start looking into insulin resistance for Mo (some arbitrary calculation of 1.5 units per kg or something) she doesn't want me to go any higher until we see the specialist. Does this sound right keeping him at the same dose for a few weeks? Should we keep increasing? I'll be moving him up to 8.5 units tomorrow.
@Wendy&Neko ??

Mo has tried to catch birds today but has been unsuccessful. Let's hope it stays that way! :woot:

Hope you're having a wonderful day :)
 
No, holding the dose does not make sense. :banghead: Just because you've reached their arbitrary threshold, it doesn't mean it's the right dose. So glad you've got the other vet lined up. Holding the dose just builds on glucose toxicity, so up to 8.5 units tomorrow. Once you get settled in with the new vet, who hopefully is on board, you'd actually be increasing every 3 days is all you see is yellow nadirs, provided you have the testing to know that's how low he's getting.

Neko caught a rat once, ugh, fortunately it was dead so it was easier to deal with. No selfies done here!
 
Wow on the big rat!!! I’m not sure how I’d handle that!!

Luci has only had the opportunity to catch a tiny mouse once, a gecko once or twice, she thinks they’re little toys sent for her amusement and sits by the door a lot hoping one will get in to ‘play’...:rolleyes:

But she plays too rough and those darn geckos just aren’t very hardy.... much to her dismay . :arghh:

She’s never been allowed to be outside to learn about hunting...
 
No, holding the dose does not make sense. :banghead: Just because you've reached their arbitrary threshold, it doesn't mean it's the right dose. So glad you've got the other vet lined up. Holding the dose just builds on glucose toxicity, so up to 8.5 units tomorrow. Once you get settled in with the new vet, who hopefully is on board, you'd actually be increasing every 3 days is all you see is yellow nadirs, provided you have the testing to know that's how low he's getting.

Neko caught a rat once, ugh, fortunately it was dead so it was easier to deal with. No selfies done here!
Perfect, I just needed confirmation that it was unnecessary to hold the dose. I'll continue to increase it, thank you :)

Dead rats are easy to deal with. Partners that wish to take selfies with dead rat are not so o_O:woot:
 
Wow on the big rat!!! I’m not sure how I’d handle that!!

Luci has only had the opportunity to catch a tiny mouse once, a gecko once or twice, she thinks they’re little toys sent for her amusement and sits by the door a lot hoping one will get in to ‘play’...:rolleyes:

But she plays too rough and those darn geckos just aren’t very hardy.... much to her dismay . :arghh:

She’s never been allowed to be outside to learn about hunting...
Oh Luci, don't be playing with tiny little creatures! We have little lizards here called Skinks that Mo has caught a few times. Whatever Mo catches, he also likes to bring inside, so that's cute :confused:
I'm glad Luci hasn't been able to learn to hunt! We adopted Mo when he was 7 or 8 so he was already and outdoor cat :( But we love him :)
 
Back
Top