? 13/03 Maggie AMPS 377 / +2,45 255 / +5,45 270 / DOSE REVIEW

hellen_maggie

Member Since 2025
11/03 Maggie AMPS 390 / +3 290 / +5.40 235

Hi everyone,
I would really appreciate your thoughts about Maggie’s numbers over the last few days which have not been good. For the last 2 days she doesn’t seem to drop below 250.
Yesterday’s data: AMPS 350, +2.40 251, +5.30 272 / PMPS 366, +3 282, +6 245
After about +3 she doesn’t continue dropping. Instead, the numbers either stay about the same or start rising again.

Nothing has really changed in her routine. The only thing I’ve noticed is that she has again developed some small skin eruptions on her ears and on her face (above the eyes where the fur is thinner). They seem itchy and she scratches them. This usually happens when she has an allergy flare-up. I honestly don’t know what she is allergic to, but I suspect it may be food related (Ι suspect IBD, which is why I am trying to transition her to a novel protein diet with very limited ingredients. I plan to investigate this further at her next vet visit and blood tests.) Following my vet’s instructions, I have been applying a small amount of a topical cortisone ointment on the affected areas. I’ve been doing this for the last 3 days and it seems the allergy is not spreading (at least no new spots or small wounds have appeared). Could this allergy flare be affecting her glucose numbers? Do you think this could explain the higher values? or should I consider increasing the dose?

Thank you in advance for any advice.
 
Last edited:
Hi Hellen, they do say that any inflammation or if something is going on with kitty can affect the BG. So you may very well be correct.
I’d put a question in your title (like “dose review”) and use the question mark prefix to get attention and let others know you need some help.
Perhaps she does need an increase, so let’s get some advice.
I know you had a skipped shot and a lower dose a few days ago, due to an under 90 BG.
😻
 
Hi Hellen, they do say that any inflammation or if something is going on with kitty can affect the BG. So you may very well be correct.
I’d put a question in your title (like “dose review”) and use the question mark prefix to get attention and let others know you need some help.
Perhaps she does need an increase, so let’s get some advice.
I know you had a skipped shot and a lower dose a few days ago, due to an under 90 BG.
😻
Thanks, Staci 🙏 . Let’s hope we get some help later on! (I added the question mark prefix right after posting. Isn’t it visible?)
 
The question mark is indeed visible!

If she's having an allergy flare, I'm pretty sure that could affect her BG, yes - really any change in a cat's health seems to have a potential effect, though it varies widely. I'm also noticing from your spreadsheet that you started a new vial a few days ago. This is pure speculation, not something I've ever encountered before, but I wonder if there's any chance that something has affected the insulin in the new vial so that it's less effective. I hope that's not the case; I'm not entirely sure how you would be able to tell, and it would be frustrating/probably expensive! But I figure everything is worth considering when there's a mystery change.

At worst, if she keeps up with nadirs above 150 for another three days, I believe you could try a dose increase - but I wouldn't take that as authoritative from me, I don't think Gen ever had numbers hovering around that number when we were still following SLGS!

Hopefully one of our veterans will come along with a bit more certainty/insight! Hang in there ... these numbers are a bit higher, but not stratospheric or anything. ❤️ She's mostly in yellow, which isn't bad.
 
The steroid ointment might also be the culprit for higher numbers. When you add new medications, please note that on the Remarks column of the spreadsheet on the day you started it, so we can see if there is anything new and see if the timing means it's impacting anything. I've seen cats with steroid drops also have an increase in numbers. How much longer is she on the ointment?
 
The steroid ointment might also be the culprit for higher numbers. When you add new medications, please note that on the Remarks column of the spreadsheet on the day you started it, so we can see if there is anything new and see if the timing means it's impacting anything. I've seen cats with steroid drops also have an increase in numbers. How much longer is she on the ointment?
For 3 more days. She just had an AMPS of 287!
 
The question mark is indeed visible!

If she's having an allergy flare, I'm pretty sure that could affect her BG, yes - really any change in a cat's health seems to have a potential effect, though it varies widely. I'm also noticing from your spreadsheet that you started a new vial a few days ago. This is pure speculation, not something I've ever encountered before, but I wonder if there's any chance that something has affected the insulin in the new vial so that it's less effective. I hope that's not the case; I'm not entirely sure how you would be able to tell, and it would be frustrating/probably expensive! But I figure everything is worth considering when there's a mystery change.

At worst, if she keeps up with nadirs above 150 for another three days, I believe you could try a dose increase - but I wouldn't take that as authoritative from me, I don't think Gen ever had numbers hovering around that number when we were still following SLGS!

Hopefully one of our veterans will come along with a bit more certainty/insight! Hang in there ... these numbers are a bit higher, but not stratospheric or anything. ❤️ She's mostly in yellow, which isn't bad.
Thank you Allie ❤️ How is Gen doing?
 
Thank you Allie ❤️ How is Gen doing?
He's been eating on his own today! (Naturally, I set out three options before I left for work, and he chose the MC. But seriously, I'll take it.) Otherwise he's been doing what he generally does when I'm at work and sneaking peeks at him through the petcams ... following the sunbeams around the apartment for napping in for as long as there are any. 😅
 
He's been eating on his own today! (Naturally, I set out three options before I left for work, and he chose the MC. But seriously, I'll take it.) Otherwise he's been doing what he generally does when I'm at work and sneaking peeks at him through the petcams ... following the sunbeams around the apartment for napping in for as long as there are any. 😅
That’s such great news! I’m really glad he ate on his own today, that must make you so happy. 😄 I m really glad for both of you, girl!!!
 
Back
Top