13.01. Simba PMPS 106 +1 117 +2 79 +2.5 67 +3 65 +3.5 85 +4.5 92 +5.75 94

@AMPS 75g 6.7% + 2tsp 18%
@+2.5 6g 6.7%
@+3.5 6g 6.7%
@+7 2tsp 6.7% + 1tsp 10%
@+8.5 1/2 tbsp 7.2%
@+9.5 18g 6.7%
@PMPS 50g 12%
@+1&20mins 25g 12%
@+2 20g 18%
@+2.5 25g 18%
@+3 20g 14%
 
Are you trying to beat the record for tests on one day? It is not worth it.... and Butters will get upset! :smuggrin:

Now seriously, well done for managing a whole day like this. It takes nerve of steel!
Simba is very competitive, just like his mama! :p I couldn't do it without the FDMB!
 
Aren’t you glad you didn’t give the 33%? We actually reserve it for under 50. Test again in an hour. If you want you can give a little lc to keep him surfing.
 
Also lc is 10% and under. Mc is 11-24 and hc is usually 25+. Since every cat responds differently we need to determine based upon how carb sensitive a cat is. Cats fed mostly 4% might find 20% to be hc
 
Also lc is 10% and under. Mc is 11-24 and hc is usually 25+. Since every cat responds differently we need to determine based upon how carb sensitive a cat is. Cats fed mostly 4% might find 20% to be hc
From the massive food order I placed most of it was around 7%. I think I might need to stock up on some more MC after tonight! Do you have any recommendations on MC food? The ones I've got now are basically leftovers from before I knew about his diagnosis.

Also, maybe feeding him that 33% diluted with 12-18% for over a year might have made him less carb sensitive? Or the opposite...
 
It’s good to have fancy feast gravy lovers around as the carbs are in the gravy. There’s a food chart link on main. You dint need to test for an hour.
 
It’s good to have fancy feast gravy lovers around as the carbs are in the gravy. There’s a food chart link on main. You dint need to test for an hour.
Sadly we don't have those in Finland. :( I've seen pouches that have the labelling "with sauce" so that might be the equivalent?

I'll be back at +4,5.
 
Last edited:
Probably anything with a sauce will be higher carb. You can look at manufacturers’s sites. Also ask on the main/health. I’ve been feeding only raw since I got my two so don’t know.
 
+4.5 92. Does this mean I could have a little nap and come back at +6? :confused:

Simba is asleep next to me and I can hear his little belly working overtime with all the food I’ve fed him! I hope he doesn’t feel ill.
 
Yes. Stop testing. If you are able test in 2 hours just to make sure he’s up without food. If too tired just leave a little lc out and go to sleep. If he wants it needs to eat he will have food. Good job.
 
Yes. Stop testing. If you are able test in 2 hours just to make sure he’s up without food. If too tired just leave a little lc out and go to sleep. If he wants it needs to eat he will have food. Good job.
I’ll put an alarm on for +7 and go from there. He is greedy so he will eat anything I leave out! Or mums cat will, if Simba is asleep. :D

If Simba continues like this, will I have to repeat this process every night? When would he be eligible for a reduction? :cat:
 
Wow I missed all the excitement tonight! Great job team Simba!!:woot: Elise is an excellent teacher. You followed her instructions well, and being able to do that is so important. You got a beautiful surf out of him.

As Simba is a newly diagnosed diabetic, a reduction is earned with a one time drop below 50 as per the TR protocol.
Or if Simba regularly has his lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.

FWIW, I measure out Butters' food on a scale in grams and record it in her spreadsheet as grams. I also figured that 1 tsp = 7 grams, which = 1/4 ounce. So that's how I maintain consistency.
 
I tested him @+5.75. 94. :)

Can I test two hours from now? To get a +8? I’m trying really hard to get some sleep but I’ve got some kind of nasty throat infection bothering me. :(
 
Wow I missed all the excitement tonight! Great job team Simba!!:woot: Elise is an excellent teacher. You followed her instructions well, and being able to do that is so important. You got a beautiful surf out of him.

As Simba is a newly diagnosed diabetic, a reduction is earned with a one time drop below 50 as per the TR protocol.
Or if Simba regularly has his lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.

FWIW, I measure out Butters' food on a scale in grams and record it in her spreadsheet as grams. I also figured that 1 tsp = 7 grams, which = 1/4 ounce. So that's how I maintain consistency.
I would have been very lost last night without @tiffmaxee :bighug:
Gosh, I'd be scared for him to drop below 50. But I guess that's bound to happen sometime! Do you thing he would've dipped <50 if I hadn't fed him MC throughout the first couple of hours after the evening shot?

I think I will stick to grams too, it's the easiest!
 
Back
Top