12 Sept - Cher's PMPS 171; +1=124; +10=286;

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes, continue with the 3.25u. If following SLGS you would reduce if she goes under 90 or under 68 if following TR. She's probably going to bounce from that drop from black to blue during the AM cycle. Nice to see so many hours in blue...call that progress.
 
Yes, continue with the 3.25u. If following SLGS you would reduce if she goes under 90 or under 68 if following TR. She's probably going to bounce from that drop from black to blue during the AM cycle. Nice to see so many hours in blue...call that progress.
Thank you.
Should you always hold off giving food 2 hours before each shot?
 
Should you always hold off giving food 2 hours before each shot
Yes unless they are too low and you have to bring the numbers up. By holding food the AM and PM shots are not food influenced. Could you add the protocol you're following to your signature? Makes it easier to help you both.
 
Just a quick note and it may have been mentioned previously so forgive me in advance. If you're still feeding Z/D it is way too high in carbs for a diabetic kitty. However I'm also wondering if there is a medical reason you are doing so. Just wanted to mention it as we feed wet food under 10% carbs.
 
Just a quick note and it may have been mentioned previously so forgive me in advance. If you're still feeding Z/D it is way too high in carbs for a diabetic kitty. However I'm also wondering if there is a medical reason you are doing so. Just wanted to mention it as we feed wet food under 10% carbs.
I will probably follow the TR protocol.

Z/D is for her IBD . It was the only food she seemed able to tolerate. Trying to gradually get her onto raw and see how she goes.

Yes, I believe her levels will drop dramatically when she gets off Z/D. Just don't want her to end up with vomiting and refusing to eat because of her IBD. She had an e-tube placed previously as she would not eat.

Thanks for your help!
 
Hi Jan,
How is it all going?
Some nice blue numbers yesterday :) with the increase. I see you managed the 0.25 increase OK....well done!
Did I ask you if you had ever used slippery elm bark powder for Cher's tummy?
 
Hi Jan,
How is it all going?
Some nice blue numbers yesterday :) with the increase. I see you managed the 0.25 increase OK....well done!
Did I ask you if you had ever used slippery elm bark powder for Cher's tummy?
Hi Bron

Yes, we will see how she goes with the additional .25u.

No, have never used the slippery elm bark powder but I have had a good read of the information you recommended. I thought I read somewhere (not sure where) that it can affect the absorption of some medications? I will check into it further though. Does that sound right or have I got it back to front?
We bought the kangaroo steaks you recommended but have not given any to Cher yet. I thought I would wait a bit as we have started her on pumpkin (which she loves) but at the moment it is 'tiny steps' to start with. I will offer her the kangaroo next. I have fingers crossed !!

Family has just arrived for dinner so I will sign off, Bron.

Thanks for your help.
 
Last edited:
Hi Sheba

Yes, we will see how she goes with the additional .25u.

No, have never used the slippery elm bark powder but I have had a good read of the information you recommended. I thought I read somewhere (not sure where) that it can affect the absorption of some medications? I will check into it further though. Does that sound right or have I got it back to front?
We bought the kangaroo steaks you recommended but have not given any to Cher yet. I thought I would wait a bit as we have started her on pumpkin (which she loves) but at the moment it is 'tiny steps' to start with. I will offer her the kangaroo next. I have fingers crossed !!
Family has just arrived for dinner so I will sign off, Bron.
Thanks for your help.

Yes the SEB does affect the absorption of meds because it coats the alimentary tract. But you just need to not give meds within 2 hours of giving the SEB. I used to give Sheba the SEB slurry at 3 pm and 3 am (with a little bit of food in an autofeeder).
Making the SEB slurry is super easy ....only takes 5 minutes....and it keeps in a jar in the frig for a week. Sheba ate it no trouble at all.
I'm glad she likes the pumpkin. Sheba did as well.
That's a good idea to just change one thing at a time so you will know what is causing a problem if one appears....hopefully it won't. You can freeze the kangaroo in small amounts to keep it fresh, and just bring it out as needed.
Have you tried chicken hearts? All my cats have loved those.. if she likes them as they agree with her , she could safely have 3 a day.....and they are full of taurine, which all cats need.
 
Yes the SEB does affect the absorption of meds because it coats the alimentary tract. But you just need to not give meds within 2 hours of giving the SEB. I used to give Sheba the SEB slurry at 3 pm and 3 am (with a little bit of food in an autofeeder).
Making the SEB slurry is super easy ....only takes 5 minutes....and it keeps in a jar in the frig for a week. Sheba ate it no trouble at all.
I'm glad she likes the pumpkin. Sheba did as well.
That's a good idea to just change one thing at a time so you will know what is causing a problem if one appears....hopefully it won't. You can freeze the kangaroo in small amounts to keep it fresh, and just bring it out as needed.
Have you tried chicken hearts? All my cats have loved those.. if she likes them as they agree with her , she could safely have 3 a day.....and they are full of taurine, which all cats need.
Hi Bron
Apologies for replying to Sheba instead of you .... my head has gone 'haywire', it doesn't know what it is supposed to be doing anymore!

Thank you for the SEB information. Super handy to be able to make up a batch for the week!

Chicken is one of the proteins Cher is unable to tolerate. What else contains taurine?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top