? 12 Nov | Girlie | AMPS 209; +2=185; +3=173; +5=68; PMPS 603 Nauseated?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Girlie's mom

Member Since 2017
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-3-56-3-30-85-alphatrak2.186569/#post-2071746

I hope Lev Day 2 is a little less exciting than yesterday! She earned a reduction last night; it was hard to get her to stay out of shark territory without using 16% gravy/food. Perhaps the Lantus and the Levemir are battling it out right now...

She is a bit cranky, though. Might be the Mirtazapine; she didn't have any yesterday as she was eating so well. Perhaps she's just adjusting to the new body feelings. And she is VERY over me poking her. She very clearly wants a break from that.

Still: it's amazing not to have to battle a huge 100+ point dive at +2 and +3 today! :joyful: But the day is still young... :rolleyes:
 
Wow, that's quite the cycle on your first day! Hope you managed to catch some zzz's . I only have experience with arthritis in dogs, but hope you find something that helps :bighug:
@Christie & Maverick - yes, it was a big day! Still, a great day 1 on Levemir. I got three hours' sleep, but I knew that would probably happen. I'm hoping she has an easier day today so I can fall asleep watching a movie, maybe. The brownies sustained me last night, though...go brownies! :)

So nice to see this! And a reduction already! Go Girlie, go!
Go, Girlie, go is right! :-)
 
:woot:Wow!!! What a first day on Lev. Amazing to see all that green on day 1:D

Hope you find what works for her Arthritis:(. Wendy's suggestion of the bupe sounds like a good idea if supplements and acupuncture alone won't take the edge off.
Hope Girlie finds some real stability on Lev. It would be wonderful to happen soon and that you still get to make your trip to visit mom for the holidays:)

@Beenie - So, so good to see you, Michelle. :bighug:

I'm definitely going to ask the vet about the bupe. And even perhaps Tramadol: I laugh at the number of meds that Girlie has taken that I've also taken. Her doses are much smaller, though, and my meds weren't chicken flavoured. :-)

Her first day was pretty stupendous! And I love that she hasn't deep dived...yet! :rolleyes:

That's one of the reasons I wanted to try Lev now: I was very anxious about leaving her for 9 days at the vet's if she was bouncing and deep diving the way she's been doing: I just know that they wouldn't have been able to monitor her or do what I do for her with small meals throughout the day. I suppose they could, but they charge over $200/day to do a curve, and that would break the bank at this point. But if she gets steadier on Levemir, then I'll be able to breathe a little easier while I'm away. It's early days yet, but I'm hopeful! :p
 
I add water to their food, but I've been wondering if I could make a flavoured water or add some sort of tempting juice to the slurry. Girlie just loves gravy, and she'll eat more if it's got gravy. But we don't want the gravy carbs! Any ideas?
 
Do you have any brownies left... just in case you need them? :smuggrin: Congrats on the reducie, and hope she surfs in gentle blues and greens.

I don't understand people who can eat one brownie or one piece of chocolate at a time: I've never had that much restraint. If it's there, it won't be for long with me.

But I'm prepared: I'm having groceries and household stuff delivered today, and I made sure to order another box of brownie mix. Super bad for the waistline - but super good for the soul. There are few things as comforting as brownies, in my book. :)

I'm a bit shocked at how gently she's surfing so far today: no deep dives, lovely blues. The only problem is she's not a happy camper and she's not that hungry, but she generally isn't that keen on eating unless she's dropping. :rolleyes: It could be the steady numbers that are so unfamiliar to her; the "feel" of the new insulin; arthritis pain; or lingering nausea. I wish I could beam inside her mind telepathically to figure it out...poor Girlie.
 
I add water to their food, but I've been wondering if I could make a flavoured water or add some sort of tempting juice to the slurry. Girlie just loves gravy, and she'll eat more if it's got gravy. But we don't want the gravy carbs! Any ideas?
You could make a bone broth with any meaty bones and joint bones (you want to have enough joint bones to make it gel), simmer with some water and it reduces into a gel that is like gravy but without carbs, I'm sure it's quite flavorful, especially for cats!
 
I was going to suggest bone broth as well. I make it with chicken bones....no added anything else....just water. Then when it is all done, cooled and I have skimmed off the fat, I put it in ice block containers and freeze then bag and take out as needed. I used to use them all the time with Sheba.

In answer to your tag yesterday about cosequin.....I used to get it from the US. I couldn't get it here in Oz.
They look as if they have changed the packaging but here is a link to what I used to buy. You might find a cheaper one if you look.
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Cosequi...446241?hash=item2ef0bd7ee1:g:CakAAOxy-gBR~WWF

I used cosequin and tramadol 10 mg twice for Sheba's arthritis and it was very effective. The tramadol did not affect her alertness in any way.

Girlie is looking great on the Lev so far.
 
I don't understand people who can eat one brownie or one piece of chocolate at a time: I've never had that much restraint. If it's there, it won't be for long with me.

But I'm prepared: I'm having groceries and household stuff delivered today, and I made sure to order another box of brownie mix. Super bad for the waistline - but super good for the soul. There are few things as comforting as brownies, in my book. :)

I'm a bit shocked at how gently she's surfing so far today: no deep dives, lovely blues. The only problem is she's not a happy camper and she's not that hungry, but she generally isn't that keen on eating unless she's dropping. :rolleyes: It could be the steady numbers that are so unfamiliar to her; the "feel" of the new insulin; arthritis pain; or lingering nausea. I wish I could beam inside her mind telepathically to figure it out...poor Girlie.
I'm not one of those restrained people either!! :smuggrin: I hope sweet Girlie feels better soon. :bighug:
 
You could make a bone broth with any meaty bones and joint bones (you want to have enough joint bones to make it gel), simmer with some water and it reduces into a gel that is like gravy but without carbs, I'm sure it's quite flavorful, especially for cats!
Thanks for that! Great idea!

I was going to suggest bone broth as well. I make it with chicken bones....no added anything else....just water. Then when it is all done, cooled and I have skimmed off the fat, I put it in ice block containers and freeze then bag and take out as needed. I used to use them all the time with Sheba.

I don't think I've noticed chicken bones at Woollies, or do you just buy the whole chook - or just thighs or something - or go to a butcher? I like the idea of ice cube broth; I think they'd find it tasty as well. And if they didn't, I could use it when I make rice or something else to add extra flavour.

I don't really cook at all, but I dream of cooking one day - and gardening - sigh. But I can make a mean batch of brownies! And great chocolate chip cookies (according to my brother...) :-)
 
I used cosequin and tramadol 10 mg twice for Sheba's arthritis and it was very effective. The tramadol did not affect her alertness in any way.

Girlie is looking great on the Lev so far.

Did you mean that you used the cosequin and tramadol 10 mg twice a day? I'll certainly ask the vet about those and see if I can order the cosequin from overseas. I know we have Joint Guard here and Paw something, but I don't know if they are as good.

I'm just so surprised how good she's doing on just day 2. I so hope this continues. I actually feel so much better now, myself! Less stressed... phew... but I'm prepared for more of the drama train ahead. :-)
 
@Bron and Sheba , she's just gone to 68 at AM+5. With Levemir, I'm not sure yet how to go with this. It's only a 58 point drop from +4, and +5 is late in the day by Lantus standards - but not Levemir? I can try to give her 8% even though she's on the verge of shark territory on the AlphaTrak2, or I can try to stall her. Any thoughts on this? I'd imagine Sheba presented just these types of challenges to you, too.
 
If she goes low again today or tonight, do I do another reduction? I'm not sure how back-to-back reductions work...
 
Give her LC to see if you can get her surfing higher. 8% should be OK. Back to back reductions are more confusing when you are stilll building the Lev depot and reducing the Lantus one. Let's see if you can avoid the issue with a higher surf.

Bone beoth is quite high in phosphorus. I used to boil chicken or turkey meat in plain water to get a meat broth.
 
Give her LC to see if you can get her surfing higher. 8% should be OK. Back to back reductions are more confusing when you are stilll building the Lev depot and reducing the Lantus one. Let's see if you can avoid the issue with a higher surf.

Bone beoth is quite high in phosphorus. I used to boil chicken or turkey meat in plain water to get a meat broth.

If she does go low (today or tonight), would it be okay NOT to reduce? To just give 9 or 10% food - or even just 12% gravy as needed - instead to keep her at 0.5 Units for another cycle or two, at least?

Re: the broth: should the meat be skinless?
 
I don't think I've noticed chicken bones at Woollies, or do you just buy the whole chook - or just thighs or something - or go to a butcher?
Not sure how it works in Oz, but any grocery that has a butcher could give you bones (often for free, just for the asking). Marrow bones have lots of vitamins, but the joint bones have the connective tissue that makes it gel, both kinds together work best.
 
Didn't consider the phosphorous, could be high, I don't know how much leeches out, but since the rest of the good stuff does, it probably does as well.
 
It is kinda expensive but have you tried any of the Tiki products? They make a mousse that is like baby food consistancy. I also have a few cans of the Puka Puka on hand in case i need something for appy enticement- It has nice consomme.

https://tikipets.com/product-category/tiki-cat/velvet-mousse/

https://tikipets.com/product/tiki-cat/succulent-chicken/
Looks phenomenal - Girlie and Max would love it - not available in Australia... :( We can't get most of the foods that you all use that are on Dr Pierson's list, unfortunately. We can get Fancy Feast, Holistic Select, Wellness, Cats in the Kitchen, Purina ProPlan, ZiwiPeak...those are the ones I've tried. Maybe someday, though! :-)
 
Let's see what she does the rest of the cycle first. Any updates?
Yes! Sorry - got distracted.

+5= 68 (8% 1 tsp)
+6= 79 (8% 1/2 tsp)
+7= 112 (no food: not interested)

I bought lots of 8% food yesterday - Wellness and Cats in the Kitchen. Of course she doesn't want those! Gotta laugh - cats! :banghead:

She prefers the texture and taste of the 6% and under foods I have, but if I give her those, I'm pretty sure she'll drop. So I'm a bit stuck here. I'd rather go back to the lower cal food as I have more options to give her, but then I'll probably be creating a drama for myself as far as BG levels go. Although the Mirtazapine liquid kicked in today, she just wasn't keen on either a) eating or b) the food choices.

She's also not keen on waiting for her food: when she wants to eat, she wants to eat, and once that window has passed, she's not keen unless she's really dropping. She's also not a big eater: she'll eat ca a tsp or perhaps 2 at a time and then that's done for her. She's used to grazing, and since this whole FD started, she's become used to my bringing her food wherever she is. She's never been a big eater, but could it be her age? She's quite senior at 18: do they start to get less hungry as they get older? Sometimes I have to put the bowl right under her nose before she realises it's food; then she thinks about it; then she tucks into it.

The Mirtazapine capsule made her hungry all day and well into the night last weekend; the compounded liquid doesn't seem to have the same affect at all; it will kick in about 1/2 hour after I give it to her, and then it only seems to last for about an hour or two. The capsule makes her too keen; the liquid, not keen enough. :banghead:

At night, she's okay to eat one meal, but then she really, really just wants me to get in bed so we can cuddle and go to sleep. She's not active at night anymore. She got a bit annoyed last night that I kept waking her up to test her and encourage her to eat. When she went low the second time at PM+5, she really didn't appreciate my efforts to bring her up that much. She does like the gravy from the Cats in the Kitchen pouches, though.

So not sure what to do re: food. I really hope she's a bit less dramatic tonight. I'm afraid I'm going to have trouble staying up tonight again...I'll have to put my phone on the other side of the room so I have no choice but to get out of bed to shut it off. :-)

Someone else shared this a while ago - I think it was Beenie! - but it just fits Girlie so well:
d254f9e5f002ce54163c72798ab6e9780b8f886250c0377857983aab7d64a58c.jpg
 
She looks like a completely different cat on Levemir. Wow. Hoping more beautiful spreadsheet days lie ahead!
Thank you! Although she's bounced, but no surprise with that run of low numbers and three shark dives yesterday, so that's okay. We'll see how she goes, but it's a relief not to have those horrendously deep dives at +2 or +4 in the AM. :-)
 
Sorry about the bounce, but you might be getting that sleep tonight.
I'm not surprised, actually.

My problem is she's just not keen on eating. I gave her 1/2 tablet of Cerenia last night, but I have some Ondansetron wafers. Would it hurt to put 1/2 wafer - is it ON or UNDER her tongue - just in case nausea is playing a role here?
 
Her Spec fPL was 5.7: not sure if that means she actually has or is starting to get pancreatitis or if there's anything I need to do about that. The vet didn't seem to think so, but ... sigh... :-)
 
My problem is she's just not keen on eating. I gave her 1/2 tablet of Cerenia last night, but I have some Ondansetron wafers. Would it hurt to put 1/2 wafer - is it ON or UNDER her tongue - just in case nausea is playing a role here?

Put the 1/2 wafer ON her tongue. It will melt and not fall off. Make sure your hands are perfectly dry when you handle the wafer.
 
Her Spec fPL was 5.7: not sure if that means she actually has or is starting to get pancreatitis or if there's anything I need to do about that. The vet didn't seem to think so, but ... sigh... :)
I think the upper limit of the normal Spec fPL is 5.3 (from memory) so the 5.7 is just over that.
Is she meatloafing? Does she seem her usual self?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top