12 May | Girlie | AMPS 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

Girlie's mom

Member Since 2017
Condo

Green start - yay! PMPS last night was 90 as well. Interesting that she was looking really eagerly for food at +11. She did that last night before her PMPS as well - and she is NOT a cat who goes after food with enthusiasm unless she's got Mirtazapine in her or she's just had a big poo. It seems like her body is telling her to eat an hour before her PS. Her body wouldn't be telling her to eat because her numbers are going up though, would it?

I'm making no sense I'm sure. I just find it interesting that giving a snack at +9 or even +10 if her numbers are going up will bring her PS down. I guess I'm not quite sure how or why that works. :confused:
 
Nice green AMPS! I find Maverick sometimes gets up an hour before shot time, and goes to lick his food bowl, but I haven't been feeding at +9 like you have. Sounds like Girlie's pancreas is getting ready to handle things all on its own ;)
 
The small snack is getting her partially working pancreas to work, kicking out some of her own insulin. :D

Thanks, Wendy. Is that why she goes looking for food at +11 as well, then, do you think? Although that's too late to let her have food, of course.
 
Thanks, Wendy. Is that why she goes looking for food at +11 as well, then, do you think? Although that's too late to let her have food, of course.
I remember seeing a post from Jill @Jill & Alex (GA) that the strictness of the idea of not feeding 2 hours before shot really only applies when you don't know how your cat reacts to carbs (I'm paraphrasing, I can't remember exactly what was mentioned). It was my impression though that once you have an idea, it's not necessarily so important to withhold food 2 hours before shot. I'll try and find the post for you.
 
I remember seeing a post from Jill @Jill & Alex (GA) that the strictness of the idea of not feeding 2 hours before shot really only applies when you don't know how your cat reacts to carbs (I'm paraphrasing, I can't remember exactly what was mentioned). It was my impression though that once you have an idea, it's not necessarily so important to withhold food 2 hours before shot. I'll try and find the post for you.

Her reaction to carbs is interesting. Giving her some food at +9 or +10 will bring her down a bit or steady her. I'm not sure how she'd go with +11 feedings, though! I'm loathe to test her as I don't want to jinx the green thing that she's starting to do now. But I'd be curious to see the post - thanks, Christie! :-)
 
The idea is that you don't want a really low preshot to be food influenced, cause then you don't know what the preshot would be if not food influenced, and if it would otherwise be safe to shoot. For new people, it's just easier to suggest they don't feed for 2 hours before preshot, at least until they know how much of a food bump their cat gets.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top