12-Jan:Tyler &M: AMPS=347: +2=203 :+4=131: +6=185: +8=207: +10=187

Status
Not open for further replies.

PussCatPrince - GA

Member Since 2017
Yesterday condo

Date&Time of this post and new condo . New Zealand time 1pm 12th January.

Tyler very much surprised me this morning at 8am by walking down the back garden and then right around the house . This is something he has not done in a very long time it seems to me. What is more he was not too wobbly at all & he must have felt this himself to have undertaken the hike. Our section is on a slope. Downside is that I think he was feeling 'better' because his numbers have been 'higher' which his body will have been used to until of late.

His numbers were up overnight and this morning . This may be what would have happened anyway but when I went to give the shot this morning I realise that there was a teeny weeny drop left in the syringe needle. So he may have had a short shot last night.

I have upped his dose to 1.5 units per the TR ( just hope I can remember and understand enough) and his carb meals of 3 x cans of Iams grain free will be metered out in 6 feeds throughout the 24 hr period. Other foods will be no carb really. Applaws or poached/raw chicken. Maybe a little bit of pumpkin if I feel his rear may gurgle.

He still gets the B12 methyl with citric acid. His pain med for arthritis remains 2 units of metacam until we see the vet and hope to effect a change there. Still on his BP med.
 
Last edited:
New one every 3 days

Ouch, that must hurt for the 6th shot...
upload_2018-1-11_18-45-53.jpeg
 
Ouch, that must hurt for the 6th shot...
View attachment 33574

I'm more than absolutely positive he feels nothing . He lets me know the second anything is remotely, minisculely not OK for him. He is not a placid cat.

I've seen the picture before & I can feel the dull change in the needle without having to count the amount of times it is used. However if I chuck away those syringes after just one use then there will be no syringes.

I appreciate it must be hard for those able to easily and cheaply access all the items they need, to see others being sparing in some way. I've been guided by the vet practice on this. As written, they supply those syringes at the moment.

Me & him are lucky we can manage to fund all this stuff. Most people here couldn't. No idea what you guys all pay. I am paying $2NZD per syringe.
I am trying to source an NZ supplier that will sell to me as a layman who has no diabetes prescription. It takes time just as for the strips , the lancets, the MethyB12. I may get lucky and find cheaper syringes.
 
200 test strips, 200 lancets and 100 syringes cost me $130 at the local pharmacy. That lasts 25 days on the syringes and the strips are pretty close to done when I go to get more syringes. They sometimes run promotions for 10% off on the strips. Every once in awhile the vet will throw me 10 free ones, what ever is in her drawer at the time.

We don't need a prescription here in Canada to get the diabetic supplies (even the insulin) but it is under lock and key at the pharmacy. Jones has his own profile at the pharmacy so I don't need to explain every time who and what it is for.

With the street drug issues here, they can get a little picky. My pharmacy does not like to give/receive the sharp containers unless you do buy your supplies through them.

I am just glad I had insurance on him. It has paid off in spades.

I am paying $2NZD per syringe
That is insane to me. I guess we all have pluses and minuses to access and cost of health products.

ETA: I didn't say it yesterday, but I know you were not doing what you were doing unless he had to. We have all done that at some point.
 
Last edited:
Ditto...no condo but Ty is getting into some nice blues.

I hope there is a way to get the syringes Darrah uses. We highly discourage using a syringe more than once for the reasons given but also because it can increase the chances of infection.
 
deleting again.

Far too flaming well cross.

I will address in a dedicated thread. Not that I should have to. I would have thought I would have been given more credit for knowing & understanding about the total care of my Ty & how to best achieve that but it really seems not.

I will not be responding further into this thread.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top