12/9 - Xander | AMPS 326 🤢, +8 294

Brianna & Xander

Member Since 2024
Previous post: 11/29/25

Sigh. I wish I had a good update. There have been some really bad days since our last post.

Numbers aren't good but I'm not very surprised after the last several weeks with having to skip/half the dose, etc. I gave him a small increase this morning, back to the last one we saw any greens on.

He's now only getting the "sometimes" food for his meals with gabapentin in them because it's the one he'll still eat with meds in it. It's still a full can a day, which I don't love, but everything else is the normal food. He will enthusiastically eat with PureBites crumbled on top and mixed in (thank you, @squeem3 for that suggestion!) I don't think he's ever loved anything more than the PureBites. I also give him a couple as a treat when I clean his ears and reapply Mirataz twice/day. Anyway, I've tried to decrease how much of the PureBites I add to the food but sadly he will simply stop eating the food once the treats are gone and go yell about it in the kitchen lol

He's still getting Mirataz and ondansetron every day. I think the Ondansetron might be making him a bit constipated, but at least he's not nauseated and throwing everything up.

Unfortunately, getting him back to mostly the better food hasn't helped. Some days have even seemed worse. There have been a handful more leaking diarrhea while cuddling with me incidents (no urine again though, so he must've just been really relaxed that day). Everything is covered in a layer of trash bags and towels over the top. Sometimes it's not even that he leaked, it's that he dragged his tail through it in the box and then gets it everywhere. 😩 We actually ordered some disposable long sleeve ponchos because it's usually my arm that he gets to first.

The other day it happened on my desk (longtime forum friends will likely remember that that's one of his favorite cuddle spots) while I was trying to work on an OTJ video and when he stop stood up naturally it got all over my keyboard and everything else. Thankfully my partner happened to be working from home on a day that they usually don't, because I was on the verge of a mental breakdown.

They immediately took the rest of the day off and asked what they could do to help. I don't deserve them, they are my lifeline. 🥺 They helped me clean him (and everything else) up, called an internal medicine specialist I had found to make a first appointment, and then spent hours hanging out with him downstairs so that he wouldn't cry by being locked down there so I could work. (He's genuinely devastated if I keep away from him. He cries at the bathroom door after a few seconds, so imagine being locked on a different floor. I know it sounds kind of silly but we spend all day every day together. He never even used to like to be around people and now he exists only to be with me. Super sweet, but also difficult.)

We did get an appointment with a specialist, but it's not until the 30th. That feels like an awfully long time when you're getting diarrhea'd on so often. 🙃 I'm hoping maybe we can get medication to supplement whatever diet change we land on.

He does have some periods where he doesn't feel well (and some days that are yucky all day), but for the most part he's a happy guy. He cuddles and plays and is talkative and sociable. He's not, like, without any quality of life. It's a treatable thing, we just haven't found the right one yet. And as much as the being pooped on sucks for me, it's not technically that much volume and he doesn't even realize it happened, so really as bad as that sounds, it's a lot worse for me than for him.

@squeem3 (again) was so incredibly kind and sent us a few cans of novel protein for us to try, which is my next step. Just waiting until a day when I can watch him more closely and see how he reacts, so maybe tomorrow.

Meanwhile I've still been dealing with all of my usual health issues, surgery and procedures I had to drive into San Francisco for, and what looks like the return of the awful thing I was dealing with back in July and August. 🙄

4 more days until our first FD anniversary. I was just telling my partner that I hope that at some point the IBD feels as manageable as the FD does, because not that long ago I felt like that would never be any better, and now it feels like the "easy" part.

20251201_133523~2.jpg

20251210_174106.jpg
 
I’m so sorry you’re dealing with this Brianna. That sounds really hard. Good news about the appointment though! Long shot, but any chance they can move you up? Maybe a cancellation?

I feel like we haven’t seen many of pics of Xander. But I love these :bighug:
 
I’m so sorry you’re dealing with this Brianna. That sounds really hard. Good news about the appointment though! Long shot, but any chance they can move you up? Maybe a cancellation?

I feel like we haven’t seen many of pics of Xander. But I love these :bighug:
Thanks, Tim. It's been pretty crappy (no pun intended). I really hope we'll get some answers.

Even when we clarified that he was very much not doing great right now they still said the soonest the specialist was available was the 30th and that we could bring him to their ER if needed before then. But who knows, maybe we'll get lucky.

I haven't posted any for a bit! I rarely get any where he's looking at the camera especially so I was happy with that first one! 🥹
 
Nice to meet you Brianna! I am also in NorCal about an hour away from SF. My Indy boy has IBD. He was diagnosed as diabetic because of being on pred for many years. We switched him to a low dose of chlorambucil and he takes it once a week now (it was more often in the beginning) and it seems to help him a lot. I don't know your history, so don't know if that is something that could work for Xander. We also have him on smalls wet food, which his tummy seems to like. *Fingers crossed for your handsome kitty*
 
Nice to meet you Brianna! I am also in NorCal about an hour away from SF. My Indy boy has IBD. He was diagnosed as diabetic because of being on pred for many years. We switched him to a low dose of chlorambucil and he takes it once a week now (it was more often in the beginning) and it seems to help him a lot. I don't know your history, so don't know if that is something that could work for Xander. We also have him on smalls wet food, which his tummy seems to like. *Fingers crossed for your handsome kitty*
Hi Jessica! Nice to meet you too! 😊

We're about an hour away from SF too! I'm curious in what direction (but no worries if you'd rather not say). We're in the North Bay.

Chlorambucil isn't a name I think I've seen before (though I'm still just scratching the surface of IBD). I imagine it doesn't have the negative effects that a steroid would have if Indy's still able to be on it? What form is it in (pill, injection, etc)?

I'll have to look into the Smalls wet food! Budget is definitely a factor so we're gonna have to shop around and hope that something is both good for him and affordable for us! 😅
 
We are in the East Bay. So we make a nice triangle with SF.

We get Chlorambucil compounded into a liquid. It is a chemo drug, so it works by suppressing the immune system slightly so he he doesn't have flare ups. It does not influence blood sugar, that is why our vet had him switch.

There are ways to get free sample boxes of smalls, if that helps you.
 
We are in the East Bay. So we make a nice triangle with SF.

We get Chlorambucil compounded into a liquid. It is a chemo drug, so it works by suppressing the immune system slightly so he he doesn't have flare ups. It does not influence blood sugar, that is why our vet had him switch.

There are ways to get free sample boxes of smalls, if that helps you.
Ah, nice! It's cool to apparently have someone from here so nearby! There was a person who joined briefly who happened to not just be local but share the same vet as us and that was a really cool coincidence.

Okay, interesting! Thanks. How does it seem to make him feel (aside from the IBD being better, which is obviously good)?

That would be awesome!
 
Hi Brianna, I’m so glad to see you and sweet Xander’s beautiful face 😻
I’m so sorry you are still dealing with all of this ibd crap (literally) 😢

I know Wendy has a lot of knowledge about using Chlorambucil.

I wonder if a virtual appointment with Cornell Feline Health Center is an option? Camuti Consultation Service

I’m glad to hear Xander is still his chatty and loving self. He sure loves his mama 😻
And you are so lucky to have such a supportive partner 💖
We are sending love and lots of hugs to both of you. I know you are working so hard to figure out the best way to help him feel better ❤️‍🩹
Hang in there, hopefully you’ll get some answers soon to see some changes 🫂🥰❤️‍🩹💖
 
I’m so sorry, Brianna 🖤 You’ve both really been going through it, separately and together, and you’re doing the absolute most for Xander. So sweet to see those photos 🤗

Like you said, he still has quality of life and there is bound to be a solution here, it’s just about finding the right one. It must be exhausting but you’re pressing on and I’m so glad to hear it! I’m hopeful for you both 🤗

Looking forward to the appointment for you and to hear how the next few things you try go. Sending healing vines for both of you 🍃🍃🍃🍃
 
Oh, Brianna, that all sounds so hard for all of you. ❤️ I'm so glad you're getting good support from your partner. I hope both you and Xander feel better soon; health issues for both cat and parent is such a lot to deal with. And that is a frustratingly long wait for an appointment, too. Does your vet do any remote advice to help you through when you can't go in person?

All the hugs. We're here for you - and it's good to hear from you, though I wish things were better and hope for it soon!
 
That sounds like a lot to deal with, hoping it improves soon. Hang in there! 🤗 I'm glad he doesn't seem to be feeling differently though and is his usual self.
 
I’m super sorry for how rough it has been, Brianna. He loves you so much, don’t think I’ve seen a cat where that is more obvious.
 
Back
Top