12/9 Webster AMPS=475+5=361+6=413+9=269+10=390

Status
Not open for further replies.

Websterthecat

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

Nice day in the blues yesterday. I'm wondering why he returns so quickly to the 400's-500's after such a nice day in the blues? With such a nice gradual drop off I don't think it was a bounce?

Edit: 2 Tbs 15% given @ +4 to slow down. Slowed too fast. Started to go back down at +8... and back up again at +10
 
Re: 12/9 Webster AMPS=475+2=475+4=344

Good Morning ~O) :cool:

Bounces can be triggered by a number of scenarios (ECID). Keeping in mind that Websters body has become accustomed to high BGs and considers it the 'normal' state, any of the following could be perceived as a threat:

*a fast/steep drop-
*any BG number that has become unfamiliar, for example if a kitty has been consistently in high 300s-low 400s even 200s can be a trigger-
*the length of time spent at lower numbers - like a 6 hour stretch of solid blue.

Although we know Webster was diagnosed 1 month ago, we really don't know when it all started and exactly how long he has been living with high BG levels.
BTW, how old is Webster?

Getting to know your kitty, addressing and improving overall health and ultimately quality of life takes time.
There is a saying around here (there are many actually ;-) ) -
treating FD is not a sprint, it's a marathon.

Trying for remission is well worth the effort however the reality is that there are no guarantees.
For some kitties the change to a proper diet of wet LC food sends them straight to the falls in a matter of weeks.
For some remission isn't in the cards.
And then there are some that in spite of appearing as if remission most definitely isn't in the cards surprise us, 21 months down the road :cool:
 
Re: 12/9 Webster AMPS=475+2=475+4=344

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Good Morning ~O) :cool:

Bounces can be triggered by a number of scenarios (ECID). Keeping in mind that Websters body has become accustomed to high BGs and considers it the 'normal' state, any of the following could be perceived as a threat:

*a fast/steep drop-
*any BG number that has become unfamiliar, for example if a kitty has been consistently in high 300s-low 400s even 200s can be a trigger-
*the length of time spent at lower numbers - like a 6 hour stretch of solid blue.

Although we know Webster was diagnosed 1 month ago, we really don't know when it all started and exactly how long he has been living with high BG levels.
BTW, how old is Webster?

Getting to know your kitty, addressing and improving overall health and ultimately quality of life takes time.
There is a saying around here (there are many actually ;-) ) -
treating FD is not a sprint, it's a marathon.

Trying for remission is well worth the effort however the reality is that there are no guarantees.
For some kitties the change to a proper diet of wet LC food sends them straight to the falls in a matter of weeks.
For some remission isn't in the cards.
And then there are some that in spite of appearing as if remission most definitely isn't in the cards surprise us, 21 months down the road :cool:

Thanks for stopping by Sandy.

If his rise is being cause by one of the mentioned scenarios, I feel as if there is not way to win this battle. The more I try to keep his number down low, the more his body resist and bounces. It seems to be a vicious cycle of fighting his numbers down and keeping them in place only to watch him bounce, and then trying to bring him back down once again. How do I break this cycle?

Webster is 5 years old BTW.
 
Re: 12/9 Webster AMPS=475+2=475+4=344+5=361

Looks like my effort to slow down Webster drop today sent him on a trip to the moon...
 
Re: 12/9 Webster AMPS=475+2=475+5=361+6=413

Trial and error. It could be that or a bounce from the blues yesterday. Next time I'd try a slightly lower mc food, maybe 9 %.
 
Re: 12/9 Webster AMPS=475+2=475+5=361+6=413

tiffmaxee said:
Trial and error. It could be that or a bounce from the blues yesterday. Next time I'd try a slightly lower mc food, maybe 9 %.

Good idea. Thanks. I'll pick some up at the store.
 
Re: 12/9 Webster AMPS=475+2=475+5=361+6=413

Although it's hard, try not to let the bounces get you down. Bounces happens with most newly diabetic kitties. Neko is quite fond of her trampoline - it took a long time (a year) to get her to not bounce as high. I don't know if she'll ever go into remission, because she has acromegaly, a benign tumor that causes her diabetes. I have no control over it. My goal it to get her to spend as much time as possible in good numbers. For all kitties, getting them into regulation should be the first goal. Remission doesn't happen without regulation happening first.

Just try to be relentless in getting Webster to spend as much time in good numbers as possible, by following the protocol. The more time he spends in good numbers, the less he'll bounce. I've seen many kitties that have bounced for most of their time on insulin, then finally it's as if a light bulb goes off and they settle into blue and green.

FD is hard, and a lot of trial and error. You are doing a great job with Webster.
 
Re: 12/9 Webster AMPS=475+2=475+5=361+6=413

Wendy&Neko said:
Although it's hard, try not to let the bounces get you down. Bounces happens with most newly diabetic kitties. Neko is quite fond of her trampoline - it took a long time (a year) to get her to not bounce as high. I don't know if she'll ever go into remission, because she has acromegaly, a benign tumor that causes her diabetes. I have no control over it. My goal it to get her to spend as much time as possible in good numbers. For all kitties, getting them into regulation should be the first goal. Remission doesn't happen without regulation happening first.

Just try to be relentless in getting Webster to spend as much time in good numbers as possible, by following the protocol. The more time he spends in good numbers, the less he'll bounce. I've seen many kitties that have bounced for most of their time on insulin, then finally it's as if a light bulb goes off and they settle into blue and green.

FD is hard, and a lot of trial and error. You are doing a great job with Webster.

Thank you Wendy for sharing.

While my ultimate goal is for Webster to go into remission, I'm willing to take small steps to (hopefully) get there one day. Right now, my goal is to keep him from bouncing and dropping low.

I'm curious, what did it take to keep Neko from bouncing as high?
 
Re: 12/9 Webster AMPS=475+2=475+5=361+6=413

I'm curious, what did it take to keep Neko from bouncing as high?
It was mostly getting her to spend more time surfing good numbers, and I eventually figured out that if she's on a dose that gets her into the 70's as a nadir, she doesn't bounce as much. But ECID. Neko still bounces, and her acro tumor can rev up and cause her to suddenly need a bit more insulin. Or down, and need less. If her needs change, I just follow the protocol until the nadirs end up where I want them.
 
I've been asking these same questions, Mikey. Why can't we get these two reasonably flat and in decent numbers? Other than the conspiracy, that is. :-D
 
Re: 12/9 Webster AMPS=475+2=475+5=361+6=413

Wendy&Neko said:
I'm curious, what did it take to keep Neko from bouncing as high?
It was mostly getting her to spend more time surfing good numbers, and I eventually figured out that if she's on a dose that gets her into the 70's as a nadir, she doesn't bounce as much. But ECID. Neko still bounces, and her acro tumor can rev up and cause her to suddenly need a bit more insulin. Or down, and need less. If her needs change, I just follow the protocol until the nadirs end up where I want them.

Gotcha. This is at least a consideration when trying to figure out whats going on...
 
Marycatmom said:
I've been asking these same questions, Mikey. Why can't we get these two reasonably flat and in decent numbers? Other than the conspiracy, that is. :-D

We are working on it.. Hopefully we will find the answer before losing our sanity.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top